PDA

View Full Version : The last bar of petrol

signs
03-25-2009, 04:09 AM
How far can you drive when you reach the last bar when it starts to blink? I'm a paranoid driver and the most I've gone when it starts to blink is 10kms, and then I fill up.

I was wondering - can the last bar take you as far as the other bars (which, averages to about 70-80kms per bar for me).

Altitude
03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
When the last bar flashes slowly you have 1.6 US gals. left - when it starts flashing faster you have 1.1 US gals. left.

talnlnky
03-25-2009, 08:27 PM
i've done 50miles after blinking started.... if it ACTUALLY goes off at 1.6g then I should be able to do 60ish miles. I try to get gas though within ten miles of the blinker starting as I don't care to put more stress on the pump/filter and any other parts that supply the gas to the engine... Plus... humidity is high over here.... more air in the tank = more water in the tank.

SilverBack
03-25-2009, 09:46 PM
I'll usually see how far I can go before the blinking speeds up, after which I keep a sharp eye out for the next station

mryaris
03-26-2009, 01:37 AM
Why not fill up when it starts blinking, find out how many gallons (liters?) of fuel it takes to fill up then subtract that from 11.1 gallons (42 liters?). Then figure out your fuel economy and extraopolate how far (at least theoretically) you could have gone on the remaining gas that was in the tank when you filled up.

Example: last bar starts blinking and you immediately fill up. You put in 9.5 gallons and drove 350 miles.

11.1-9.5= 1.6 gallons

350/9.5= 36.84 MPG

1.6 * 36.84= 58.94 miles

You could have (theoretically) driven another 50-60 miles before running completely dry. This assumes that you can eek out every last drop of gas from the tank.....not sure how low the Yaris will go.