PDA

View Full Version : 3rd gen indicator relay - is that built into the instrument cluster?

eeeeeh
09-07-2017, 11:22 PM
Hi all, newbie here, with a 2013 RHD Yaris (3rd gen) manual from Down Under.

I'm looking to replace the indicator bulbs (4 corners, not the side repeater) with LED, but so far digging through various forums only the 1st and 2nd gen Yaris has the turn indicator relay hiding on the left near the knee area. Saw another thread here that says in order to eliminate the hyper flash scenario after changing to LED, you must install resistor to each side of the car.

Can anyone second that? Is that my only option? thanks in advance.

kevinj93
09-08-2017, 03:34 AM
Yes, you either need to replace the flasher unit with one designed for LEDs, or you need to add a suitable resistor to each side of the car to simulate the load of the standard turn signal globes.

The flasher unit is designed to flash quickly if there is not a sufficient current draw when the lights operate. The idea is that the fast flashing will alert the driver that a globe is not working.

The standard globes are 21 watts each, so there needs to be about a 3.5 amp current drain to simulate the globes. You would need a very hefty resistor of about 3.5 ohms to simulate the correct current drain. It also needs to be able to handle the intermittent 40+ watts of power dissipation.

I'm not sure where the relay is located. Hopefully someone else can answer.

NYC-SE
09-08-2017, 06:26 AM
There is no relay. The turn signals are driven from the instrument panel in the 3rd gen cars.

DarkShadowFox
09-08-2017, 08:46 AM
you cant every light in that panel is sodered on and stuck to the board with a giant piece of plastic behind it.

here if you need an entirely new assembly go here;

https://parts.camelbacktoyota.com/parts/?action=&siteid=214329&make=Toyota&model=

kevinj93
09-08-2017, 05:32 PM
Yes, I have to agree with NYC-SE.