Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2018, 11:46 PM   #1
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 931
New Tachometer

i just got another tachometer. this one is too nice to build a pod on, so i'm going to build a gauge cluster and install it properly.

SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 07:27 AM   #2
Runethecursed
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris S
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Socal
Posts: 312
Doesn't go high enough... #aboutthatrotarylife
Runethecursed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 04:29 PM   #3
ern-diz
 
ern-diz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA all day
Posts: 3,114
I wouldn't mind having a tach again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runethecursed View Post
Doesn't go high enough... #aboutthatrotarylife
Ha.
ern-diz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 06:27 PM   #4
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runethecursed View Post
Doesn't go high enough... #aboutthatrotarylife
rev limiter is at like 6500...
it has a 1NZ-FE. a 20b would be nice, but correcting mazda's mistakes are expensive. the car modification would be expensive. maybe someday....
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:43 AM   #5
Dliverance
 
Drives: 2012 Black sand pearl <3
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Elma Washington
Posts: 131
Where are you planning to put the gauge cluster? I’ve been thinking about putting one above my steering wheel in the removable compartment on mine. It would be nice to have a bezel for it though
Dliverance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:03 PM   #6
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 931
right now i built a pod on the back of a little cheap-o and mounted it in the glove box.


i think i'm going to get a thick piece of plexiglass and bend it into an "L" shape and frame in some side pieces. then i'm going to cut a square out of the glove box to mount. behind the door, i am going to mount a power strip and a ground strip to make powering gauges and other things up there easier.
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 12:12 PM   #7
Runethecursed
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris S
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Socal
Posts: 312
I made a backing plate for mine and removed teh glovebox in full. i need to spend more time on it as i want to redesign how it looks and works,
Runethecursed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:12 PM   #8
B.B._07
 
Drives: 07 5dr
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: YYC
Posts: 157
I think a much cleaner solution is to get a OE Canadian instrument cluster which includes a tachometer. The only drawback is the speedometer is in km/hr with miles/hr shown below in a smaller font.
B.B._07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 09:24 PM   #9
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 931
yeah, but the Canadian one still does not have a water or oil gauge. the main concern is water temp. i did not want to goop filler on the nice water gauge ether, so the best option is to build a cluster onto the glove box. plus, it's way more fun to build stuff than to plug stuff in...
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gauge, racetech, tach, tachometer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tachometer install 07YarisUS Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 02-22-2016 01:44 PM
Tachometer 09BoostedVitz Performance Modifications 12 07-21-2011 09:48 PM
Manual with no tachometer tips maineyaris General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 10 02-01-2011 05:42 PM
No speedometer or tachometer lights during day cdavidhess DIY / Maintenance / Service 20 06-30-2009 10:38 AM
Source code for Yaris Tachometer metalshark DIY / Maintenance / Service 27 04-06-2009 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.