Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 05-06-2010, 11:41 AM   #1
crk06c

Drives: 1995 Nissan 240sx
Towing with Your Yaris

Before I get flamed, allow me to state my credentials.

I am a student of Physics, hence I understand the basic mechanics involved in automotive systems. I am intently focused on a Master’s in Mechanical Design. Having a 15 year old car, I have performed nearly every task a mechanic is trained for. But most importantly, I have towed with the AT Yaris LB!

Not only did I tow, but I towed a 4x8 U-Haul trailer from Florida to California, and the trailer was completely filled. A few things need to be considered when realistically evaluating the impact towing will have on a car.
First of all, the force resisting the motion of your vehicle is proportional to the trailer weight, but not equal to it. The weight of the trailer will cause friction in the wheel bearings, but this friction is much less than the weight of the trailer.

Second, your car is strong. These engines are designed to schlep you and your crap around the city, up and down hills, in what are often very unhealthy conditions for your engine.

So here’s the story:
My girlfriend of 5 ½ years graduates and moves to L.A. She owns a cute little Yaris, and wants to know how to get her car, her puppy, and all her stuff to L.A. So I bought a hitch and rented a trailer, and now I’m writing this from L.A.!