Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 06-07-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
Howster

Drives: 2007 Yaris 4-door
Car shuts off when A/C turned on...

Hi,

My fiance owns a 2007 Yaris 4-door. It has been a perfect car since she purchased it new at the end of 2006. However recently she purchased a Mini Cooper and the Yaris was being driven part-time by her 17 year old son.

The car stopped running one day a month or so ago. We had the car towed to our home and I began troubleshooting as I am an avionics and European car technician by trade. What I found first was the fuel gauge said it had two dashes left, however when I removed the fuel pump, the fuel tank was absolutely dry. I ordered a new sending unit and that was corrected. However it seemed the fuel pump was intermittent. I used my fluke meter, but found the fuel pump seemed to be fine.

I did find out she had not replaced plugs, or had a tune-up pretty much since new. I replaced plugs, oil, air filter, PCV valve, fuel injector o-rings and caps.
I cleaned the MAF with cleaner and checked or leaks in the vacuum system. I sprayed the throttle body and removed as much carbon as i could. After replacing all of these parts and doing the cleaning steps mentioned below, the car would drive ok for a number of miles, but then start running rough at low rpm or at idle. When the A/C is turned on, it pretty much dies. Then the car is very difficult to start unless I spray starting fluid into the air intake. Then it starts fine and idles perfectly. But when I give it a little throttle, it hesitates and wants to shut off. Once I get it past this point it will run fine. But this is all null and void when the A/C is turned on. Then all bets are off. I am stumped here.