Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 10-22-2014, 05:26 PM   #1
alex22808

Drives: 04 3dr Yaris
Intermitent Clutch (i think) Squeal

Hi all.

I am a complete novice with cars, my 04 yaris being my first one so please excuse the vagueness of my description.

I am currently having a strange issue. 99% of the time the car runs fine, but every now and then it produces a horrifying squeal/whine. I thought it was the clutch at first so went and had that looked at a mechanic who then replaced the worn parts (again, sorry for the vagueness).

However, this didnt fix the problem. it still has the occasional squeal. What i find odd about it is that it does not seem linked to anything i do i.e. it will squeal when in neutral as well as when in gear and it will squeal whether i depress the clutch or not. It will also squeal even after i pull off and go up the gears. The squeal eventually stops, but it usually lasts a good 5 minutes or so. It also tends to happen after the car has been left out in the cold/damp.

I am sorry this is so vague. Any help would be much appreciated. If there is anything else that i omitted that would be useful to know, just ask.

Many thanks
alex22808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 07:00 PM   #2
andulong

Drives: 2008 Hatch Red
Often a squeal is caused by a worn or loose belt.
andulong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 11:57 PM   #3
SilverBack
Joey

Drives: '14 Scion xD 5-speed
Send a message via AIM to SilverBack
^This. Also, a loose pulley can wear down the belt faster.

A forum post should be like a skirt: Long enough to cover the subject but short enough to keep things interesting.

"I don't have an anger problem. I have an idiot problem." -Hank Hill
SilverBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:07 AM   #4
alex22808