Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 05-25-2009, 08:52 PM   #1
yarismaris
Banned

Drives: yaris
"Lube Job?"

These quick oil change place salways claim they "lube" your car. I thought lube nipples and lube points went away in the 1970s? Does anything on our Yaris need lube, or is it a ripoff?
yarismaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 08:58 PM   #2
AlexNet0

Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
I haven't seen one yet, but I am not a mechanic
Old 05-25-2009, 10:42 PM   #3
The little red pill
Taking care of Bubbles

Drives: 2009 Yaris LB "Bubbles"
Sometimes they lube your parking brake cable. I like it when they lube my parking brake cable!
Old 05-26-2009, 08:33 AM   #4
MUSKOKA800

Drives: '08 Yaris Sedan, Aero Package
Yes, rather misleading. Like those shops that offer seasonal maintenance packages which include a tune-up (parts extra charge). WHAT'S TO 'TUNE-UP' SINCE ELECTRONIC IGNITION AND EFI CAME ABOUT DECADES AGO?
Thanks, but keep your greasy fingers off!

Aftermarket Goodies: Piggies SS, K&N Drop-In, Blitz S/C, DC Header, NST Pulley)

Toyota Options/Accessories: Sport Pedal Covers, Sport Shift Knob, Ipod Interface, Summer Mats, Winter Mats, Cruise Control, Auto-Dim Mirror, Echo steelies with winter boots.
MUSKOKA800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:06 AM   #5
MadMax

Drives: 2008 Yaris Liftback (Sprocket)
They are called zerk fittings and some vehicles, such as my 2005 Jeep, still have them. However, I have yet to see any on my Yaris and even if they did exist; I wouldn't want some hamfisted bozo at these quick lube places to overfill them as that makes quite a mess (this from experience).
MadMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:21 AM   #6
jambo101