Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 08-20-2011, 08:34 PM   #1
jpmck03

Drives: 2018 Volkswagen GTI
Arrow Micro Image Short Shift Kit DIY

The following posts contain my DIY for installing the new MI SSK.

Attached is the actual DIY in PDF format for easy printing and use.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf DIY.pdf (834.9 KB, 566 views)

Last edited by jpmck03; 08-20-2011 at 09:04 PM. Reason: spelling, duh!
jpmck03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:37 PM   #2
jpmck03

Arrow Introduction

Disclaimer
These instructions are merely a guide. I’m not a mechanic, so please use this as guide at your own risk.

Suggested Tools
I used the following tools during my install. You may find that other tools my work better for your situation, so feel free to use what is best for you.
  • ½-in. drive teardrop ratchet
  • ¼-in. drive teardrop ratchet
  • sockets in ½-in. and/or ¼-in. drive:
  • 10mm socket
  • 12mm socket
  • 14mm socket
  • 7WR locking pliers
  • needle-nose pliers
  • WD-40
  • work gloves (optional)

Last edited by jpmck03; 08-20-2011 at 08:53 PM.
Old 08-20-2011, 08:41 PM   #3
jpmck03

Arrow Part One: Short Shifter

Time Required
2 – 5 minutes.

Tools Needed
  • needle-nose pliers (optional)
Parts Needed
  • MI short shifter
  • MI-supplied cotter pin
Installation

The portion of the MI SSK that is the easiest to do is the short shifter. Armed with nothing but the short shifter itself, pop open the hood and identify what needs to be done:
  • Pull the cotter pin out of the end of the shifter cable. Needle-nosed pliers may be of assistance in removing the cotter pin.
  • Pull the shifter cable off the peg it was on, minding to not lose the washer on top of the shifter cable bushing.
  • Slip the short shifter onto the peg.
  • Reattach the OEM cotter pin to the short shifter, and