Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 12-05-2010, 02:27 AM   #1
JerseyJeff84

Drives: 2010 Yaris Sedan
What's the best air filter to use?

Was just curious what air filter you guys think would be good. I'd like to add a little extra pep to the car and heard those K & N filters though expensive, are really good.
JerseyJeff84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:48 AM   #2
RedRide

Drives: '09 Yaris carmine red 2d HB
Yes, K&N filters are good. I always run one with a stock air box on my cars.

Don't listen to those who would say a K&N filter will somehow affect a MAFS etc.. That is complete BS. I have been running them for over 10 years without a single problem.
In fact a Toyota TRD filter is made exactly like a K&N but, it is much more expensive.

BTW, don't expect a dramatic difference with a K&N. It will just open up the top end slightly but, it's worth it IMO.
RedRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:23 PM   #3
MUSKOKA800

Drives: '08 Yaris Sedan, Aero Package
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseyJeff84 View Post
Was just curious what air filter you guys think would be good. I'd like to add a little extra pep to the car and heard those K & N filters though expensive, are really good.
Pick up a K&N drop-in when on sale at your local parts supplier. It'll cost only about two to three times what the OEM disposible will set you back and last you the life of the car. MUCH cheaper in the long run (if you keep the car past three years).
Oh, and save the OEM filter to use while putting the K&N through it's cleaning process thereby having zero downtime for your car.

Aftermarket Goodies: Piggies SS, K&N Drop-In, Blitz S/C, DC Header, NST Pulley)