Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2016, 01:37 AM   #37
07liftback
 
07liftback's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigar_Maverick View Post
...

On an unrelated note, when I took the console out, I saw these unused wires. This car does not have a lot of options, so I was just wondering what these would have been for. Power lock/windows?? see below:
...
Looks like it's for the power locks. My Yaris came with power locks and the master switch is right next to the hand brake and shifter.

I just did my oxygen sensor and although it seemed impossible to reach from the top at first, it was MUCH easier getting at it from the front rather than crawling under the car. The only reason I got under the Yaris was to spray the PB blaster on it since I couldn't see what I was spraying when hovering above it.

Using a 3/8" drive ratchet and a oxygen sensor socket, I wasn't able to get leverage either above the car or below it so I had to attach a "cheater pipe" on the handle. It's basically a metal pipe from an old bedframe that I place over the ratchet and was able to get superb leverage without kicking or hammering the ratchet. I could probably use this cheater pipe without the PB blaster prep and still do okay.

Anywho, does anyone know if it's absolutely necessary to reset the ecu by unplugging the battery or will the car relearn the readings from the new oxygen sensor? I will continue without resetting the ECU to see when my MPG will finally improve.
__________________
Life's too short to dwell on the past, let that turbo spool and never turn back

Squash air fresheners for sale
Keep your ride smelling fresh so your lady won't complain!
07liftback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 03:39 PM   #38
Cigar_Maverick
 
Cigar_Maverick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Iowa
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07liftback View Post
Anywho, does anyone know if it's absolutely necessary to reset the ecu by unplugging the battery or will the car relearn the readings from the new oxygen sensor? I will continue without resetting the ECU to see when my MPG will finally improve.
Honestly, I'm trying to remember if I unhooked the battery or, more likely, went to the local parts store and had them clear the errors. Almost certain I just had the codes cleared. No errors since.
Cigar_Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 02:31 AM   #39
07liftback
 
07liftback's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigar_Maverick View Post
Honestly, I'm trying to remember if I unhooked the battery or, more likely, went to the local parts store and had them clear the errors. Almost certain I just had the codes cleared. No errors since.
Did mpg improve right away?
__________________
Life's too short to dwell on the past, let that turbo spool and never turn back

Squash air fresheners for sale
Keep your ride smelling fresh so your lady won't complain!
07liftback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 09:21 AM   #40
Cigar_Maverick
 
Cigar_Maverick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Iowa
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07liftback View Post
Did mpg improve right away?
Unfortunately, that is hard to say... The weekend I put the new one in, I also switched to Mobil 1 synthetic Advanced Fuel Economy, put a new air filter in and new plugs. I had just bought the car and didn't know the maintenance history. The total gained me 2.5 MPG. Going from 37.5 to 40. I am led to believe that, in my situation, the new sensor has minimal effect. That having been said, as they say, your results may vary. In hindsight I might have done a more controlled experiment, but I just hammered it all out at once. Maybe somebody else can chime in who has more experience with just installing the new sensor.
Cigar_Maverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 10:57 AM   #41
MUSKOKA800
 
MUSKOKA800's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Yaris Sedan, Aero Package
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,720
Any gas mileage improvement found after replacing one or both sensors???
__________________
TRD Upgrades: 18" Wheels wrapped in 215/35/18 PZero's, Sportivo Shocks/Struts, Lowering Springs, Swaybar, Axle-Back Exhaust, Oil Cap, Rad Cap, Signage.

Aftermarket Goodies: Piggies SS, K&N Drop-In, Blitz S/C, DC Header, NST Pulley)

Toyota Options/Accessories: Sport Pedal Covers, Sport Shift Knob, Ipod Interface, Summer Mats, Winter Mats, Cruise Control, Auto-Dim Mirror, Echo steelies with winter boots.
MUSKOKA800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 07:35 PM   #42
07liftback
 
07liftback's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUSKOKA800 View Post
Any gas mileage improvement found after replacing one or both sensors???
Mileage improvement should only increase if replacing the oxygen sensor before the catalytic converter. The second oxygen sensor after the catalytic converter only tells the computer that the catalytic converter is still functioning but will not adjust air or fuel mixture.

That's why the first oxygen sensor is often referred to as the air fuel ratio sensor.
__________________
Life's too short to dwell on the past, let that turbo spool and never turn back

Squash air fresheners for sale
Keep your ride smelling fresh so your lady won't complain!
07liftback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 06:13 PM   #43
CB900F2
 
Drives: 08 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 267
Hey all..

I decided to check out my Air/Fuel sensor and based on the service manual inspection page(EC-18) From terminals 1>>2 it should read approx. 1.8 to 3.4ohms, mine read 2.8 ohms, but when I check terminals 1>>4 it should read approx. 10K or > ohms, but I read open.. No reading.. I am not throwing any engine code, so its seems odd to me..

Does anyone have a spare sensor they are also measure and see what you get on the 1>>4 terminals?..

I get about 490KM on approx. 38 liters of gas.. I drive pretty hard , and that's about 7.7L per 100KM.. which seems OK...

Any thoughts ?

Thanks guys!
CB900F2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 06:05 AM   #44
CB900F2
 
Drives: 08 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 267
Anyone ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CB900F2 View Post
Hey all..

I decided to check out my Air/Fuel sensor and based on the service manual inspection page(EC-18) From terminals 1>>2 it should read approx. 1.8 to 3.4ohms, mine read 2.8 ohms, but when I check terminals 1>>4 it should read approx. 10K or > ohms, but I read open.. No reading.. I am not throwing any engine code, so its seems odd to me..

Does anyone have a spare sensor they can also measure and see what you get on the 1>>4 terminals?..

I get about 490KM on approx. 38 liters of gas.. I drive pretty hard , and that's about 7.7L per 100KM.. which seems OK...

Any thoughts ?

Thanks guys!
CB900F2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 08:29 AM   #45
zerosl
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris S Hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 15
Darn, I got the p0031 error code as well after I replaced my donut gasket.

Did anyone confirm which sensor as corresponded to this code?
zerosl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:13 AM   #46
Teddy Thornell
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Chester, NY
Posts: 1
I have a 2012 Toyota Yaris 5-door and could not for the life of me find the location of the downstream O2 (Bank 1/Sensor 2) wire harness. Remove the center console and pull back the tab of carpeting in the front. The "plug" is located right there (see pic). The harness comes exits the body of the car on the side of the metal that the plug part is mounted on. Hope this saves someone time....

Teddy Thornell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Our 07 Yaris Hatch! Saity Photo-Video-Media Gallery 2 12-12-2009 08:48 PM
First Texas Yaris Yak (Lots of pics :) Slick Photo-Video-Media Gallery 39 10-02-2009 12:25 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.