Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 11-06-2011, 03:26 PM   #1
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!

Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Transmission teardown

Well, I suppose I should share some of the lessons that I've learned from tearing down a transmission in preparation for a final drive and 5th gear swap. I haven't gotten to the point of rebuilding it yet, so for now it's just some tips and tricks for the spots where the manual claims you need a $500 specialty tool. I'm not going over all of the basic steps from the manual: you can read that on your own.

Of course, all of this comes with the standard American "do this at your own risk, I am not an expert, I do not guarantee the results of any modifications you do, etc."

My overall plan is to combine the first four gears and final drive of a C56 (Celica/Yaris TS) with the 5th gear of a 1st gen Matrix. As of now, I have the C56 disassembled and the Matrix 5th gear, but I don't have a Yaris compatible gear casing to put them in.

Here's a brief listing of some semi-specialized tools that will be useful and/or essential for tearing it down. I get my stuff from Harbor Freight since it's cheap, and I don't use it daily.
  • Bearing separator and gear puller set
  • Bolt puller set
  • 3/8" breaker bar
  • metric socket set: at least the 10, 12, 14, 17 & 19 mm sockets
  • metric allen wrench set: at least a 6mm, allen socket is also useful
  • impact gun: I use a pneumatic 1/2" driver because I already have a large compressor. If you don't have a compressor that can drive one (15+ gal, 30+ cfm@90 psi) then consider buying an electric driver instead.
  • Gasket/paint scraper with a sharp edge
  • large adjustable/crescent wrench
  • deadblow and/or plastic mallet, ball peen hammer
  • brass bar
  • misc screwdrivers, pliers, etc.