Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2007, 02:05 AM   #1
YogiYaris
 
Drives: Blue 2007 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 37
Yaris has a learning ecu?

I have heard that the yaris has some sort of learning ecu that makes it very hard to tune. Can someone send me a link to read about this or something; I don't understand. I will have a TRD intake, NST pulley, Header back exhaust no cats, ported heads, and a huge intake manifold. I was thinking I would need to get the ecu flashed after these mods to get the best out of them but is this a waste of money seeing as how the ecu will correct itself anyway?
YogiYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 09:03 AM   #2
Moose
Resident Redneck
 
Moose's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Polar White Yaris Sedan 5M
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by YogiYaris View Post
ported heads
You have a V8? ..........JFWY
__________________
My other rides:
2003 Honda Civic LX Coupe 5M- S/C K24 w/ LSD coming soon!
1999 Honda Civic EX Coupe 5M w/ B18 powaa
1985 Toyota Celica GTS Coupe 5M- track whip
http://www.importlounge.com
Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2007, 06:35 PM   #3
YogiYaris
 
Drives: Blue 2007 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 37
Lol *head ( no S)
YogiYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 01:35 AM   #4
forpinks
 
forpinks's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 Toyota Corolla S modded,
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
Posts: 222
Sorry to say this but, The Yaris has VVT-i thus its ECU is a fixed type that only runs on OEM stuff when you don't get Emanage...

The only mods you can do without emanage are:

1."SHOW" Mods
2.exhaust mods
3.your air filter or make an Intake using OEM sized tubing. lightened pulleys work too...
4.your tires,suspension and brakes... (this will be useful on any Yaris!)
5.the seats, sound system, and the ever needed shift knob and short shifter!
6 yes, you can change your transmission and stuff that is inside it...

I experienced this with my Corolla, because the car turned sluggish when I installed an Injen intake...
__________________
THE YARIS: TINY BUT PRICEY!

BUT YOU JUST GOTTA LOVE IT....
forpinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 01:02 AM   #5
YogiYaris
 
Drives: Blue 2007 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 37
Yeah I will be tuning with e manage and watching A/F with an AEM wideband.
YogiYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 10:48 AM   #6
Vic-2NZFE
 
Vic-2NZFE's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 2NZFE
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Panama
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by YogiYaris View Post
Yeah I will be tuning with e manage and watching A/F with an AEM wideband.
Why dont you just get an SAFC?? same function as Emange and not as expensive
__________________

It's a Vitz!
Vic-2NZFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 06:42 PM   #7
WRBlue
 
Drives: Yaris 3 Door, 04 WRX, 69 Lotus
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: norcal
Posts: 128
Pretty much every MPI car made in the last 15 years have a leaning ECU. Thats why cars have O2 sensors. The car adapts to the weather, gas, user, etc. Even a piggyback computer (emanage/SAFC/etc) don't change the fact that the ECU learns, they just change the info from the AFM to fool the ECU to work a little better than it does without.


A "Huge" intake manifold will really screwup the car without tuning. The air volume within the manifold is know as a constant to the ECU. When you change it, the ECU doesn't know the size anymore and gets confused. Many aftermarket manifolds don't use the factory TB anymore, so the computer gets confused there too, esp if the Throttle position sensor isn't the OEM one. Even if it is, and the diameter changes, the computer gets confused because it thinks x amount of air is going in when its really y. The computer will try to fix the problem because it will see that your running lean from the O2 sensor, but Toyota only programs so much latitude into the computer
WRBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 12:55 AM   #8
Black Yaris
der Zeck
 
Black Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 Audi A4 1.8t quattro
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 5,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moose View Post
You have a V8? ..........JFWY
I find it interesting people on here have racing headerS as well
__________________
Black Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 09:01 AM   #9
Katana
 
Katana's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB 1.3lt 06
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under the hood!
Posts: 1,124
Send a message via MSN to Katana Send a message via Yahoo to Katana
Yeap, it has a learning ECU.
Katana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 07:03 PM   #10
n0ts0intellig3nt
 
Drives: Yaris S LOL!
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beautiful Hawaii
Posts: 14
hmm, i just found what i could try to work on. i love computers =]

EDIT!

well, it seems its already found out. you could always just remap everytime you want to drive really fast

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=302047

or you can get an aftermarket one.

damit google, making my life easier =]

Last edited by n0ts0intellig3nt; 05-30-2007 at 07:14 PM.
n0ts0intellig3nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
MAD TV skit: Learning Stickshift (TOYOTA Yaris) Yaris TTE JWRC General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 26 02-15-2007 06:41 PM
ECU for the 1NZ-FE in the Yaris DJ_SpaRky Performance Modifications 16 08-09-2006 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.