Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > New YARIS Purchase Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 09-02-2012, 12:54 AM   #1
chriswf

Drives: Scion tC and Saturn SL1
Possibly purchasing a Yaris, how many miles do you go without major repairs?

I am a foreclosure inspector, and I currently have a Saturn SL that's... Ugh, I've had some times with that car.

I live in Plano Texas, and do inspections in Fort Worth. I drive ALL way long a couple weeks out of the month.
250 miles a day isn't hard for me.

I want an automatic car, fuel efficient (the yaris has to be MPG godly), and dependable.

Dependability is probably the biggest thing.
I looked at Fits, but they're really only obtaining around 29mpg. I also looked at 1st gen Scion xBs, but they're all WAY over Kelly Blue Book value at dealership. 10,000$ for a 217,000 mile xB at Holt Fiat? No thanks.

I do own a tC, it is very dependable, but I (and my wife) maintain the living crap out of that car. The #1 problem with it is the a/c compressors keep going out. I read a lot about this on the xB forums too. (I live in Texas...).

How many miles, do most Yaris' go without any major repairs?
chriswf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 01:42 AM   #2
Chuck G

Drives: 2010 Yaris Sedan
Many, many, miles!!
Sounds to me like the Yaris might just be the perfect car for you.
Chuck G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:30 AM   #3
chriswf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck G View Post
Many, many, miles!!
You think so?
Old 09-02-2012, 02:47 AM   #4
nookandcrannycar

Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck G View Post
Many, many, miles!!