Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Forced Induction Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 04-05-2009, 01:54 AM   #1
PETERPOOP

Drives: 08 white liftback
Mechanical vs Electric Gauges?

I was wondering what is the difference between manual and electronic gauges. Especially for Boost/vac gauges.

I know that for an oil pressure gauge, you need to run a line from the engine bay to inside your car. I was planning on using a steel braided hose and won't have to worry about it busting. My dad did that with his mustang and it's been fine.

The question is of accuracy. I heard that electric gauges are more accurate. What are you guys opinions on this?

Wanting to know because I am going to be purchasing my gauges soon, and electric gauges are more than double the price of mechanical ones.

Sorry, I'm a newb. I searched google, but they referenced muscle cars and what not.
PETERPOOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:12 AM   #2
LtNoogie

Drives: '08 Bayou Blue LB AT
Mechanical gauges are generally less expensive. You just need to make sure that your vacuum line is long enough to go through the firewall and reach the final location of your gauge.
LtNoogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:21 AM   #3
PETERPOOP

Thanks. Do you know about the accuracy quality about both?
Old 04-05-2009, 02:29 AM   #4
LtNoogie

I did a Google search with these keywords. I'm new to this myself so you'll just have to read the opinions and come to your own conclusion.

mechanical vs. electrical gauges
Old 04-05-2009, 02:36 AM   #5
PETERPOOP

Ok thanks. I did something like that and all I got were muscle car forums. Strange. Ill check it out. But was hoping for people with the yaris and first hand accounts. ok then
Old 04-05-2009, 04:55 AM   #6
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom

Drives: lil red 5-door