Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2015, 10:14 PM   #253
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmontague View Post
I'll be looking at it again tomorrow.

So if I take a wire like say a paperclip and stick it into the back of the module connector to connect the white wire to a white/black (ground) wire I should see the parking lights switch on correct? I just want to clarify before I go about troubleshooting it tomorrow

Fwiw, the power shut off during start up was due to my not tightening the negative terminal when trying to start it. This caused no issue during light power load but during heav load such as the starter it caused a short and powered everything off.

Same issue is seen with the corroded negative terminal or wire.
Correct.

That makes sense on the power-off.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:52 PM   #254
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,623
I disconnected the white connector from the module and stuck a paper clip in the H1/10 and the H1/3 which is a ground for the dome light. Sure enough the parking lights (front and rear) went on.

So I'm assuming that this means that my wiring and taps are obviously fine but there is an issue with the viper module not grounding the parking lights? I'm going to read the instructions and see if I only need a new module that I can then program my fob's to or if that is not possible and I need a module with new fob's as well.

Any other possibilities or things that I could do to fix this? I'm hoping the ebay seller will send me a module free of charge but if this is something that I can fix fairly easy myself to get the module to ground properly then I'd rather just do it myself and save waiting for a new module.

CTScott do you know of a way to fix the module to properly ground?
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 04:05 PM   #255
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmontague View Post
I disconnected the white connector from the module and stuck a paper clip in the H1/10 and the H1/3 which is a ground for the dome light. Sure enough the parking lights (front and rear) went on.

So I'm assuming that this means that my wiring and taps are obviously fine but there is an issue with the viper module not grounding the parking lights? I'm going to read the instructions and see if I only need a new module that I can then program my fob's to or if that is not possible and I need a module with new fob's as well.

Any other possibilities or things that I could do to fix this? I'm hoping the ebay seller will send me a module free of charge but if this is something that I can fix fairly easy myself to get the module to ground properly then I'd rather just do it myself and save waiting for a new module.

CTScott do you know of a way to fix the module to properly ground?
Viper's quality has seriously gone down hill (in my opinion). I installed a Viper 2 way system last year for my sister and it took three units before everything worked.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 04:41 PM   #256
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,623
Wow, that's pretty brutal. I just heard back from the seller and he is sending me a whole unit free of charge.

The only down side is the long drive to the border to pick it up. Fingers crossed that everything works okay and it is fully functional.

I plan on making a diy for the keyless entry with some of the info you posted if you're okay with that?

I just figured it's easier for others if all the info is piled in one post versus a fe different sources.
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 02:28 PM   #257
advmedic
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4
So this is weird... I just got my remote keyless Valet 712t and looking at the main 18 pin connector, the labels on the plastic connector, and the colors of the wires is reversed. In other words: where it's labeled as pin 1, I have a red/white wire. Pin 10 is the violet and pin 18 is the red (hot) wire. So is the connector mislabeled or are the wires in the wrong places? Looking at the connector with the clip UP, I have pin 1 in lower right hand and wire is red/white. pin 18 in upper left and wire is red and pin 9 in lower left with white wire. Please help :)
advmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:17 PM   #258
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,623
*EDIT*

Just solved the problem. I somehow missed the small note in the instructions to move the light flash jumper (15A fuse in the module) to the other position. I caught on to this when I dissected the old module and noticed that the connectors on the motherboard from the parking light flash led to that fuse. Something so simple. I'll add it to my DIY

Just received my new module that was sent to me after wasting 3 hrs driving to the border to get it.

It also has the same problem with not grounding the parking lights. I re checked my wiring by jumping it to a negative and the parking lights go on.

CTScott do you have any ideas before I email the seller and rip him a new one for sending me 2 defective modules and wasting my time?
Is it possible that I need to connect to the positive wire for the parking lights as the module is not meant to ground but to supply power?

I just took a look at the module and there are 3 female prongs ofr the 15A fuse that is in the module. Meaning that it has 2 positions that the fuse can be in. I took apart my old module and I'm wondering if I should move the fuse on the module and see if that fixes it?
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35

Last edited by tmontague; 01-05-2016 at 06:01 PM.
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2016, 11:08 AM   #259
maral01
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2
Hi everyone,

Got a bit of a remote starter mystery here. I have just installed a Viper 5501 2 way remote start system in my 2009 Yaris hb. Alongside, I installed a Fortin EVO-ALL bypass module. My car is a manual and the "brain" haa been programmed accordingly. I've also connected a relay as a bypass for the clutch (bypass activated when the remote starter engages).

Here is the problem: I successfully do the MTS procedure prior to exiting the car and no issues, the vehicle remains on until I shut it off with the remote. When I go to start it back up, all it does is crank the starter but the engine won't start. I tried unplugging the immobilizer bypass module and leaving the key in the ignition to remote start it but no success. I doubled, even triple checked all connections and everything is fine. I also checked all my heavy gauge wires to ensure that all of them had voltage during the startup sequence and I confirmed that everything is fine there.

Has anyone else experienced this kind of issue before? I am really scratching my head on this one....

Update @ 2130hrs: The vehicle will start when I put the key at the "on" position after I pressed on the remote starter button.... If I just leave the key at the off position while trying to remote start, the starter will still crank only, can't get the engine to fire up. Almost sure it must be something with the heavy gauge wiring.... Any ideas?

Last edited by maral01; 10-25-2016 at 09:31 PM.
maral01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 10:47 PM   #260
Daemynz
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 2
First of all, sorry for reviving this thread. Was looking into getting a keyless entry system for my base 2010 automatic sedan along with power locks and trunk, as I really miss the power locks from my previous car. Tried Best Buy but they said they could not do it.

Don't really care for remote start, so was looking at the A1 AVI-2101 keyless entry system (https://www.a1electric.com/Merchant2...Code=W02C-712T).

So a few questions regarding this system, sorry if they're dumb:
1) Would the remotes have a trunk button? I've seen the Viper 4105V system has an auxillary button where I'm assuming a trunk unlock can be used.

2) When ordering the Trunk Release Solenoid Kit from A1, what is the accessory relay? Also, do I need it?

3) Are there any DIY's involving installing power locks? I'm not really mechanically inclined (did put in a radio, except for the wiring, lol)

4) Unrelated, but: For the cruise control, were there any tricks to getting the #30 torx screws of the steering wheel out? Have had absolutely no luck with them

Cheers :) and thanks for any answers
Daemynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Northeast DIY Remote Start / Keyless Entry Workshop - Sunday, October 26 CTScott General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 56 11-10-2012 02:32 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
yaris sedan remote trunk relase question pls help soon fantabulousbaby New YARIS Purchase Forum 4 08-05-2006 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.