Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 08:04 PM   #271
Nicfin
Nic
 
Drives: 2008 3-Door Liftback Manual
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 51
I am still in the process of preparing to install the OEM cruise control on my 08 liftback. I was going to use tap splices for the blue and white wires that attach to the plug under the fuse box, which are for the clutch cancel. I was wondering if it was possible to pull the plug and push out the blue and white wire connectors from underneath? If so, I could solder a wire to the very top of each connector without affecting anything else and then reinstall it.

Does anyone know if the little connectors in the plug have a release mechanism? I figured they are not made to remove, but I thought perhaps Scott or someone else might know.
Nicfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:44 PM   #272
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicfin View Post
I am still in the process of preparing to install the OEM cruise control on my 08 liftback. I was going to use tap splices for the blue and white wires that attach to the plug under the fuse box, which are for the clutch cancel. I was wondering if it was possible to pull the plug and push out the blue and white wire connectors from underneath? If so, I could solder a wire to the very top of each connector without affecting anything else and then reinstall it.

Does anyone know if the little connectors in the plug have a release mechanism? I figured they are not made to remove, but I thought perhaps Scott or someone else might know.
The pins are removable. You have to use a small flat object and slide it along the top edge of the pin to release the plastic locking tab that keeps the pin from sliding out.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:39 PM   #273
Nicfin
Nic
 
Drives: 2008 3-Door Liftback Manual
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 51
Scott, thanks for the quick reply.

That's good to know. Maybe when I can find the time, I can get it installed.
Nicfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:13 PM   #274
DocZ
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 08 HB
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Marinette Wisconsin
Posts: 1
DIY cruise

where can I get the terminals for the ECM and for th spring switch hook ups?
Thanks
DocZ
DocZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 09:18 AM   #275
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
my airbag has only one hole.
i do not know how to take it off.
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 01:38 PM   #276
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
i have turkish 2008 yaris 5 door hatchback.
i cehcked the clutch has switch orijinally.
i think i only need to install the stalk and i need cable for the horn.
the problem that i have is that everyonbe says you gotta take 2 screws off to take off the airbag. but, my car only has one hole and i do not any screws.

help please!
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 08:31 PM   #277
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadir2538 View Post
i have turkish 2008 yaris 5 door hatchback.
i cehcked the clutch has switch orijinally.
i think i only need to install the stalk and i need cable for the horn.
the problem that i have is that everyonbe says you gotta take 2 screws off to take off the airbag. but, my car only has one hole and i do not any screws.

help please!
For 2006-2011 Yaris, only US/Canada Yaris have the cruise control function build into the ECM, so you would need to install a complete aftermarket system to have cruise on yours.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:05 AM   #278
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
but, i checked it has switch of the cluch. can you tell me what it means?

and cen you explain how to take air bag out. cos it has only one hole.
and there is no any screws in that hole.
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:46 AM   #279
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadir2538 View Post
but, i checked it has switch of the cluch. can you tell me what it means?

and cen you explain how to take air bag out. cos it has only one hole.
and there is no any screws in that hole.
On a cruise control equipped one there will be two separate switches on the clutch. The one that is there now, keeps the car from starting unless the clutch is fully depressed.

The definite test to verify if your car can have OEM cruise control is to check the voltage on the ECM pin 40 of connector A21 (my DIY shows the detailed location of that pin). If there is 12 V on that pin with the ignition in the ON position then the ECM supports cruise control. If you do not see 12 V on that pin, then it does not.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:05 PM   #280
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
MY CLUTCH has two switch one is down the other one is up.
and can you tell me where the ecm is?
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:45 PM   #281
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadir2538 View Post
MY CLUTCH has two switch one is down the other one is up.
and can you tell me where the ecm is?
Under the hood against the firewall. My DIY in the link below shows where it is, what it looks like, and where the pin is to check:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33750


Does your Yaris have steering wheel audio controls?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:50 PM   #282
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
my ecu is different.
small socket has 36 pin and big one has more than 60.
and my ecm 2line of pins. yours has 3 line pin.
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:51 PM   #283
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
yes it has audio control.
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:54 PM   #284
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
that is photo of my steering wheels
as you see it on the picture the socket for the cruise control is empty.
and it has just one cable for the airbag.
(would add a pic. but i donot no how to add.)
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:56 PM   #285
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
turkish yaris 2008 cruise control installl

here is the pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0203.jpg (162.4 KB, 166 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0204.jpg (133.9 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0205.jpg (134.5 KB, 160 views)
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:57 PM   #286
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadir2538 View Post
that is photo of my steering wheels
as you see it on the picture the socket for the cruise control is empty.
and it has just one cable for the airbag.
(would add a pic. but i donot no how to add.)
If you do not have the 1NZ-FE 1.5L engine, then your ECM will be different. Also, only the 1NZ-FE ECM has the built in cruise control function.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 01:05 PM   #287
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
my car is d4d
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:31 AM   #288
kadir2538
 
Drives: yrais 2008 hatchback
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Turkey
Posts: 12
there is no place to install stalk on steering wheel.
kadir2538 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.