Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2014, 10:33 AM   #397
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockysa View Post
Hi is there any information anywhere on these installs?

I've acquired a second hand AP800 and want to install it on my Yaris and have figured out the wiring except for the accelerator pedal.
Like I asked on your other thread - What year is your Yaris, as that makes a difference in the wiring?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:43 AM   #398
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Like I asked on your other thread - What year is your Yaris, as that makes a difference in the wiring?
oh sorry didn't see a reply

it's a 2007 Yaris
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:02 AM   #399
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockysa View Post
oh sorry didn't see a reply

it's a 2007 Yaris
OK. The accelerator pedal has a 6 pin connector.

1 - White: VCP2 (Sensor 2 power)
2 - Brown: EPA2 (Sensor 2 ground)
3 - Light blue: VPA2 (Sensor 2 output)
4 - Black: VCPA (Sensor 1 power)
5 - Green: EPA (Sensor 1 ground)
6 - Red: VPA (Sensor 1 output)


I haven't seen the install manual for the AP800 for the Yaris, but looking at the pinout of the AP800 it has a high and low throttle position sensor connections.

On the Yaris the VPA signal would be the low one (2.6 to 4.5 V at full throttle) and VPA2 would be the high one (3.4 to 5.0 V at full throttle).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 11:23 AM   #400
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Awesome that's perfect
thanks!

you don't also happen to have the same thing for a 2006 Corolla do you?
It's also a 6pin plug but different configuration

*edit*
also where did you find it?
because I've been searching for hours and got nothing

*edit edit*
just googled corolla VCP2 and found it :S

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
OK. The accelerator pedal has a 6 pin connector.

1 - White: VCP2 (Sensor 2 power)
2 - Brown: EPA2 (Sensor 2 ground)
3 - Light blue: VPA2 (Sensor 2 output)
4 - Black: VCPA (Sensor 1 power)
5 - Green: EPA (Sensor 1 ground)
6 - Red: VPA (Sensor 1 output)


I haven't seen the install manual for the AP800 for the Yaris, but looking at the pinout of the AP800 it has a high and low throttle position sensor connections.

On the Yaris the VPA signal would be the low one (2.6 to 4.5 V at full throttle) and VPA2 would be the high one (3.4 to 5.0 V at full throttle).

Last edited by hockysa; 03-06-2014 at 11:49 AM.
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 12:07 PM   #401
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockysa View Post
Awesome that's perfect
thanks!

you don't also happen to have the same thing for a 2006 Corolla do you?
It's also a 6pin plug but different configuration

*edit*
also where did you find it?
because I've been searching for hours and got nothing

*edit edit*
just googled corolla VCP2 and found it :S
I don't have the info for the Corolla, but the pinout order is likely the same with just the wire colors being different. You can verify that by measuring the voltage on the pins where the "power" pins should have 5 volts on them and the grounds zero.

I found a manual for the aftermarket cruise online, but it was not for a Yaris.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:38 PM   #402
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
I don't have the info for the Corolla, but the pinout order is likely the same with just the wire colors being different. You can verify that by measuring the voltage on the pins where the "power" pins should have 5 volts on them and the grounds zero.

I found a manual for the aftermarket cruise online, but it was not for a Yaris.
Yeah I thought the same too but the order is different

yeah? could you link it to me anyway please?
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:50 PM   #403
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockysa View Post
Yeah I thought the same too but the order is different

yeah? could you link it to me anyway please?
http://nicolas.bct.free.fr/Regulateu...rateur_HDi.pdf

I ran into the diagram for the 05 Corolla and it shows:

1. Yellow - EPA2
2. White - VPA2
3. Yellow - EPA
4. Black - VCP2
5. Green - VPA
6. Black - VCPA
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 03:45 AM   #404
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Awesome got it installed and working. Just need to calibrate it now

Thanks for all your help
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 09:22 AM   #405
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
omfg so lame... followed instructions to calibrate and now it doesn't work fml

linked the manual I was using
http://www.lupo3lklub.dk/pdf/AP900C_...ion_Manual.pdf

my unit is actually an AP800 but the seemed to have replaced that with a 2 in 1 type unit the AP900c
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:00 AM   #406
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockysa View Post
omfg so lame... followed instructions to calibrate and now it doesn't work fml

linked the manual I was using
http://www.lupo3lklub.dk/pdf/AP900C_...ion_Manual.pdf

my unit is actually an AP800 but the seemed to have replaced that with a 2 in 1 type unit the AP900c
Will it respond to the "Diagnostics mode" listed in the manual?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 10:37 PM   #407
hockysa
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Will it respond to the "Diagnostics mode" listed in the manual?
ok found an AP800 manual from a supplier the setup modes are slightly different got it working again but still want to smooth out the cruise control

It seems fine but at 80 km/h it's kind of "jerky" and takes awhile to settle, like its trying to maintain speed by tapping the accelerator instead of gradual pedal control.

There's instructions to manually adjust the INIT, GAIN and PPM but I don't exactly understand what that is yet. Doing some reading on it now
hockysa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:31 PM   #408
The_Ghostrider
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Yaris TS 1.8
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Since the car is built with a spiral cable that does not have enough wires to support cruise control, it is unlikely that the ECM is programmed for it.

In doing a bit more research on the Axio Fielder, the ones with the same engine as the Yaris (1NZ-FE) do not support cruise control, but the ones with the 2ZR-FE engine do.
Hey CTScott,

maybe it is again a stupid question about the cruise control in the european Yaris XP9.
I read that you have not found any model in the EWDs which has CC built in.

Pointing to the above quote I post it to clarify for myself. Because all my trials on the net gave only answers for the smaler engine types.

In my case it is the TS 1.8 (2ZR-FE engine) with the ECM 89661-52F30. So far as I could investigate built only for Europe and Japan.
Additional: This car was only built in Japan, so maybe this is a chance to have CC programmed.

If it won't be in I am going probably with the ROSTRA 250-1873. The European solution will be more than double priced (waeco magicspeed ms-880).

Thanks for your work here it is an outstanding platform with a lot of useful stuff.

from Germany
The_Ghostrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 03:22 AM   #409
Gitaniio
 
Drives: 14 sedan
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johnston
Posts: 4
Hello CTScott, I know you said that only cars with US/Canada specs support CC, but I need to know if my 2014 yaris with mexican specs supports it since the car appears to be fully wired (the d3 has the black wire for the horn, the blue and brown for the CC and aparently 3 more wires for audio controls). It also appears to have the CC indicator on the instrument panel along with the vsc/trac which is not an option for sedans in mexico. Is there any option for me in case OEM CC can't be installed? I take highways a lot and it's not fun for my leg.
Gitaniio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 06:24 AM   #410
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitaniio View Post
Hello CTScott, I know you said that only cars with US/Canada specs support CC, but I need to know if my 2014 yaris with mexican specs supports it since the car appears to be fully wired (the d3 has the black wire for the horn, the blue and brown for the CC and aparently 3 more wires for audio controls). It also appears to have the CC indicator on the instrument panel along with the vsc/trac which is not an option for sedans in mexico. Is there any option for me in case OEM CC can't be installed? I take highways a lot and it's not fun for my leg.
Yes. Mexico spec cars are the same as US spec ones, so it will work for you.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 11:29 AM   #411
Gitaniio
 
Drives: 14 sedan
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johnston
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Yes. Mexico spec cars are the same as US spec ones, so it will work for you.
I tried to test the CC with a two switch set from one of your tutorials but nothing happened, then I tried to bridge the blue and brown cables and nothing. I did the tests because I don't want to buy the stalk and the wire without knowing for sure if the car's CC is enabled. Am I doing something wrong? Is there any other way to find out?

Thanks for answering!
Gitaniio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 04:27 PM   #412
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Check for the presence of the blue wire on the ECM connector. The ones from the steering column may only run to the junction block under the dash top.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 04:51 AM   #413
Gitaniio
 
Drives: 14 sedan
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Johnston
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Check for the presence of the blue wire on the ECM connector. The ones from the steering column may only run to the junction block under the dash top.
There's nothing in the 40 pin, should I test it with a voltimeter? If so, please tell me the right steps to do it because I don't want to set the car on fire
Gitaniio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 06:20 AM   #414
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
If you pull the rubber plug you can stick a small piece of wire in the hole to take the voltage measurement. Turn the key to the on position and take the measurement with the red on that wire and the black lead on a ground.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.