Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2019, 05:20 AM   #19
Bugeye
 
Drives: Black Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by stidnam View Post
Why not come join in the fun instead ;) 2zr's are cheap as chips in Straya.
Yeah I been doing my research. I have an 07 but wasn’t keen on chasing the XD parts.
But am contemplating getting a 2012 and going the same route as you.
Bugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 06:09 AM   #20
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Shouldn't make a difference if it's 2007 or 2012. You'll have to chase the exact same parts.

The parts we don't have readily available to us are
- Axles
- Shifter cables (For C50/C54 in the slight forward and left mounted 2ZR setup)
- Airbox

You should be able to procure those through US Ebay sellers if keen enough.

The Toyota IST and the NZ market is always another source of parts. The 3rd Generation Toyota IST is the same car as the Scion XD. It just never came out as a manual in Japan, but the driveshafts in the 2zr version are the same as the manual Scion XD, and in theory the airbox should fit as well. Just be aware that the IST came out with a 1nz as well and you aren't going to want the parts from that variant.
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 07:08 AM   #21
Bugeye
 
Drives: Black Yaris
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Ok cool.
Might start pricing parts up.
I really wanted to keep the corolla box over the Yaris 5 speed due to my daily m7 run.

Still in the back of my mind I’m concerned with keys/immobilizes also,
5 stud and disc brake rear would be awesome also
Bugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 07:19 AM   #22
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Yeah fair enough. Being up front about costs, you're looking at the best part of $1000 for all the required brackets and isolators. Or you can go down the route that others have and only swap the engine side bracket over and keep your C54 (assuming the AU version bolts up).

The immobilser concerns me as well, but I take some solace in what Adam did to register his ECU to the immobiliser ECU. There's clear instructions on how to do it, and it sounds fairly logical.

Disc brake rear end is never happening I'm sorry unless you import the rear end from Japan at an unearthly cost :( We never got any Yaris or equiv chassis with a disc brake rear end I'm afraid.
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 08:54 AM   #23
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 191
Not sure about your market. But 2 months ago I found a 2012 Yaris se with rear disks in the u-pull yard. Don't ask me why it was there. 2012 was about 6 years newer than any other car there. $50 got me an axle that essentially had to be stripped and rebuilt (wheel bearings, calipers and brackets, ebrake cables) even though I have to replace all that, I'm still looking at a rear disk conversion for $700cad with all new parts. Not bad...

I think its just one of those things.... Some will have avenues of making it happen... Some won't.
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 02:00 PM   #24
NYC-SE
 
NYC-SE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Yaris SE
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 855
Quote:
Originally Posted by stidnam View Post
Disc brake rear end is never happening I'm sorry unless you import the rear end from Japan at an unearthly cost :( We never got any Yaris or equiv chassis with a disc brake rear end I'm afraid.
So you're telling me that your Yaris ZR, which looks exactly like our Yaris SE, has drum brakes? Interesting as our SE has discs.
NYC-SE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 04:33 PM   #25
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC-SE View Post
So you're telling me that your Yaris ZR, which looks exactly like our Yaris SE, has drum brakes? Interesting as our SE has discs.
Yup! The bean counters here in Aus Toyota must have decided it wasn't worth it :(. The ZR has been the top of the line model since the first Gen 3 came out, and it's never had a disc brake rear end.
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 03:36 AM   #26
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Airbox has been purchased and is coming from a Toyota IST in Japan. Lucky enough to have all the pipe work and even an airflow meter (getting swapped out anyway).



Pretty much just the drive shafts left now to source, and a few odds and ends from Toyota.

Last edited by stidnam; 01-25-2019 at 07:33 AM.
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 06:54 AM   #27
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Well after a full days work on Friday, the donor Corolla is now stripped and engine is out. The engine pull was rather easy - no engine lifter needed. Just jacked the car up, then lowered the front back down just enough to rest the engine on a dolly, unbolted the mounts and wheeled it out :).

I've had a better look at the EC60 gearbox. The casing is a lot shorter than that of the C60, and based on what I can see, all the Yaris mounts I've purchased should bolt up. I actually need to check if the factory ZRE152 corolla side mount already fits. Doubt it, but I'll do a side by side comparison.



I'd love to be able to run that front mount as well on the Yaris. Ashame there's no provision for it.

I also checked the spline count on the drive shaft. I can confirm that it has 20 splines, further adding to my confidence that XD shafts will work with this gearbox. I'm now going to take a punt and just buy a set out of the US.

I don't expect anyone to believe that all of this will bolt straight in and clear everything until it's done. Regarding that point, I'm now contemplating the purchase of a written off Yaris to strip as well as test fit everything and get the exhaust and wiring all sorted for a full plug and play experience.
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:08 PM   #28
CrankyOldMan
2ZR swap. DO IT! Ask how!
 
CrankyOldMan's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Meteoric Metallic HB
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,919
Looks like the clutch lines fit as well? Or is that still in the donor?
CrankyOldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:37 PM   #29
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Nah that's still in the donor before I dropped it out
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 06:18 AM   #30
stidnam
 
Drives: Starlet
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 37
Small update and just a confirmation of previous assumptions

I can confirm the lower gearbox bracket for the Scion XD bolts to the bottom of the EC60 gearbox and all mounting holes are threaded on my EC60.

The GRMN side gearbox bracket also bolts to the EC60. This bracket is significantly different to the one for the ZRE152 chassis, as expected. Unfortunately though, it would seem that this bracket comes with small tab on the side that looks like it's used to clip a wiring loom on, and this fouls with the counter weight (?) on the shifter assembly. Guess I'll either bend it or chop it off all together pending actual installation. There's already a bracket on the gearbox to support the wiring loom that goes to the speed sensor.





Just needs LSD now ;)
stidnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd Gen Gauge Cluster Swap :D KenTK808 Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 22 10-21-2017 07:58 AM
3rd gen header? KenTK808 Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 2 01-16-2017 03:25 PM
Asking a quick favour from 3rd Gen Owners kuveris Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 9 03-16-2016 12:08 AM
How to clean dash instrument panel? 3rd gen Tgawe DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 10-11-2015 05:09 PM
3rd gen 1zz tb swap mr_miles DIY / Maintenance / Service 26 05-01-2013 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.