Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-06-2013, 08:45 PM   #1
Chwbcca

Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris Sedan Manual
iPhone or iPod outside of the glovebox, a possibility?

So I love using my stereo to control my iphone, however, I love to fiddle with it whilst I'm driving, nothing dangerous mostly the GPS and such since I'm a delivery driver.

I wanted to know if the glovebox is the only place where the USB cable connects... I've seen factory cables for the iPhone but I don't know if they'll fit my 2012 HB and also whether or not they'll allow my phone to be outside of the glovebox.... Thanks!
Chwbcca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:59 AM   #2
why?
Only Happy When it Rains

Drives: Yaris LB
it really depends on how much effort you want to put into it. you could do the simple thing and buy a longer cable, or you could do it the hard way and put the usb imput anywhere you want to in the car, the choice is really up to you.
Old 01-08-2013, 06:18 PM   #3
Chwbcca

Quote:
Originally Posted by why? View Post
it really depends on how much effort you want to put into it. you could do the simple thing and buy a longer cable, or you could do it the hard way and put the usb imput anywhere you want to in the car, the choice is really up to you.
Well I was quite curious to know whether or not there is another port somewhere where the iPod can be hooked up...
Old 01-08-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
dragoonmc

Drives: 07 hatchback
I ran my cord through the center and out next to the cigarette light socket.
There is a rectangle that pops back into the panel
dragoonmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:51 PM   #5
why?
Only Happy When it Rains

Drives: Yaris LB
i doubt there is another port, I'd almost guarantee that is the only one. But with some effort you could relocate it yourself.