Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Performance Modifications
  The Tire Rack

Old 02-05-2011, 11:49 PM   #1
pasapaca

Drives: 2008 Yaris Hatchback
HELP! Have I killed some sensor? NO POWER AFTER Headers and Cold Air Intake

This is my first time posting here. Sorry if this issue has been covered before.
After installing headers and C.A Intake. Revs went to near ZERO! actually the engine stopped 2 times. I guess ECU just experimented some strange modification. After 2 days revs went a little bit higher, just enough to keep engine running on idle. BUT ACCELERACION AND RESPONSE ITS MUCH WORST with the modifications. Above all, this orange light indicating some kind of trouble in the gas emission system was turned on for like 4 days. Te guy told me it was because he had to unplug some kind of O2 or emissions sensor when installing headers. In first gear, at not to heavy climbs I need to rev the engine to 4 o 5K just to be able to initiate movement (is it something wrong with the clutch now?) 0 to 60 in about 26 secs!
Anyway, I´m lost here. Just bought and installed new set of pulleys (Microimage) and...well nothing better. Is this usual?
Is it the clutch?, some damaged sensor? Feels like the engine is running with 3 cylinders! Perhaps a damaged spark plug? but why?. Any Help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks a lot guys!
pasapaca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:08 AM   #2
Freedan

Drives: 2010 Yaris Bayou Blue 3DR Lift
Here is a link to someone that had problems after installing a 3" CAI.
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...&highlight=MAF

You didn't say how big your CAI at the MAF was, so I'm just taking a guess that it's 3" and that is why you are having problems. The guy that installed your exhaust header, did he installed the sensor into your new header or did he just left the sensor dangling in your engine bay?

Hope that helps.