Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > Fuel Economy Forum
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-22-2009, 11:59 PM   #1
texkid
The one with cheese on it

Drives: '10 Corolla S
Fun with a Lincoln Towncar

Some of ya'll may know that I am a limo driver. Of course, I haven't driven in a while because I am focusing more on school but every once a blue moon I drive whenever the boss needs extra drivers. So, I took a client to Austin and the car has a cool feature that tells you the MPG and the miles until empty. Well, on the way to Austin, I had the A/C on and averaging 70mph, so the gauge was reading 18mpg. After I dropped him off, I was feeling like cruising and yet still save on gas since it was running a bit low and i didn't want to spend money of filling it back up. Yes, the owner would reimburse me, but I didn't have that much on me to begin with.

So, on the way back to Houston, I cruised down to 55-60mph, kept the A/C off, and lift off the gas when going down hill. I was averaging 26mpg! Not bad for a lincoln towncar. By the time I was I reached the warehouse, I barely touched a quarter of a tank. Whereas when I picked up the client and took him to Austin, it took two quarters of a tank. The other drivers couldn't believe it. They kept telling that they had to refuel on the way back from Austin and were in awe that I didn't. Woohoo!

BTW, one thing you have to remember. These vehicles are not in the best shapes. This particular vehicle is a 2007 with over 160000 miles on it. Been in two accidents and rebuilt. Its only savior is that they go in for maintenance very regularly because I can guarantee you that other drivers don't treat these vehicles nicely. Think about it, you have V6 luxury vehicle that can haul ass, turn on a dime, and still ride like boat, AND you're not making payments on it! Of course you would have fun with it!!