Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Marketplace > Items for Sale by private party
  The Tire Rack

View Poll Results: Would you buy one?
No 5 5.10%
Yes (for $75) 46 46.94%
Yes (but it would have to be less than $75) 7 7.14%
Yes (but I still want it to also display the time) 40 40.82%
Voters: 98. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 12:37 PM   #1
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Question GI: "YarGauge" replacement clock module (Digital Tach, etc.)

A while back there was a discussion about converting the clock on the cluster to a digital tach. I have been exploring this a bit more and am looking at creating a replacement module for the clock that would have an 8 character display and would allow you to switch between the following functions (using the same push button that is used currently to set the clock):

1. Tachometer (RPM 9999)

2. Diagnostic trouble code read/reset (DTC 9999) (If more than one code is present it would scroll between the stored codes). Holding the button for 5 seconds would clear the stored code(s).

3. Water Temp (WT 999F) or (WT 999C)

4. Battery Voltage (VOLT 99.9)


And, probably a few more. Maybe even MPG (instant and average), if I can figure out how to calculate those from the available data.

It would remember the last display choice and F or C for temp.

Installation would require popping the cluster out, removing the clock module (a separate chuck held to the back of the cluster with some tabs), disconnecting the clock connector, replacing the clock's circuit board with mine (pop a couple of tabs and remove two screws), reconnect the clock connector to my module, and tap four wires onto the other cables going to the cluster.

Target price would be $75. The question is at that price, would there be enough interest to make it worth my time?




Note: Jump to post 512 of page 29 to see how this has evolved:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...=21909&page=29

The original price estimate was based on using an very inexpensive display. Through my development testing I found that the cheap display (and a couple of other more expensive displays) just wouldn't work well with sun glare on the cluster. In my quest for a better display to combat this issue, I settled on a high-end, full color OLED display. The chosen display unfortunately costs $79, which is more than the original target price, so the current target has moved to $150-$200. This additional cost did bring about some great features that were not possible with the cheaper displays...

Last edited by CTScott; 09-16-2010 at 11:55 AM.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:20 PM   #2
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,463
Wow what a great idea would be very oem. I was just expecting it to be tach but if it has all those features 75 isn't bad all.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:35 PM   #3
Altitude
 
Altitude's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 LB MT Bayou
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,700
I think $75 is very reasonable. You might consider adding an automatic function to switch between the different readings every few seconds.

As for calculating MPG from available data, I found some sites on the net that discuss it only I can't remember the site name. It may have been from MP3Car.com or some OBDII developer site, but it is out there. If I can find the link (I think I have it bookmarked on my laptop) I'll post it.
Altitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:36 PM   #4
contraband831
El Huevo
 
contraband831's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Liftback
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CEN*CAL
Posts: 963
that sounds awesome! ***I voted on the poll and it sent me to another thread***
__________________


contraband831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:43 PM   #5
talcum
 
talcum's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 2008 3 dr 5 spd
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 16
Me too!

$75 sounds great. I've been contemplating how to do exactly what you're talking about.

Bob
talcum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 01:57 PM   #6
ChinoCharles
Banned
 
Drives: LB
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OH
Posts: 7,833
Ummmm yes.
ChinoCharles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:00 PM   #7
TinyGiant
Tiny Giant Clothing
 
TinyGiant's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Blazing Blue Yaris 3D LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 3,416
i'd certianly save up for one of these. i could sell my voltage meter to it :)
__________________
Sold the yaris... rocking an 89 vw cabriolet now :)
TinyGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:11 PM   #8
POORSHA
 
POORSHA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 LB
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NE CT
Posts: 419
I am in
POORSHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:30 PM   #9
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
I'll take 25. Whatever guarantees you'll make this, it's the coolest mod I've heard about in a long while (and I can't even use it for myself )
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #10
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,463
how bout see if you can get (miles to empty) im curious to what other features you can implement, would be better than a SGII just cuz its oem looking.

And as we know that you are very well educated in electronics and stuff, we wont just get our hopes up. Man im excited.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:10 PM   #11
IsLNdbOi
 
IsLNdbOi's Avatar
 
Drives: Polar White - 5 Door '09 LB
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,291
Would the clock function be preserved and be one of the functions you could cycle through?
IsLNdbOi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:11 PM   #12
kustom play
pink wheels are cool
 
kustom play's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,421
i would be down for one
__________________


http://www.4055design.com
kustom play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:22 PM   #13
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsLNdbOi View Post
Would the clock function be preserved and be one of the functions you could cycle through?
Possibly. That's why I put the "I still want the clock" option on the poll. Adding the clock is not a huge deal, I just wasn't sure if people would still want it.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:30 PM   #14
GMKing
 
Drives: 2007 toyota Yaris sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portsmouth VA
Posts: 10
at 75 dollars i'd buy that right now
GMKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 04:50 PM   #15
1NZYaris1
 
1NZYaris1's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,598
Doh me bad i voted in the wrong box , i would take one .
1NZYaris1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 04:55 PM   #16
lilredrocket
Slowy getting there
 
lilredrocket's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,471
Do it!!!!!!!!
__________________
lilredrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 05:59 PM   #17
ezhacker1
 
ezhacker1's Avatar
 
Drives: Decepticon - Ravage
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,463
question: would this interfere with say my Ecometer? seeing im guessing that your module whatever would take signals from the obd2. Im not all that knowledge about the matter, but i read on other forums when searching, that 2 devices getting signals from same source would show errors on one of the devices. Now to me i just thought that splice the obd2 connector, have 2 female ends = 2 devices.

I just dont want to give up my ecometer.
__________________


Check out my Build thread:
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52274
ezhacker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 06:14 PM   #18
arunto
 
arunto's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indy
Posts: 89
i'm in for one!!
arunto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
in dash clock as tach? Cosmonaut In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 10 07-12-2010 11:27 AM
digital tach, 52mm, preferably blue leds severous01 Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 5 05-15-2009 10:58 AM
Digital Tach nqd Performance Modifications 4 05-17-2007 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.