Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 01-24-2007, 08:04 AM   #1
Violin

Drives: 2007 Yaris LB Auto
DIY - HID Retrofit

It is not my intent to reinvent the wheel here. There is a great deal of information on retrofitting HID projectors available online. One very good source is the forums at HIDPlanet.com. Visit them and study the University section. Ask questions.

Moreover, this is not a “how to” thread. If you screw something up, get hurt, get a ticket, etc., don’t look at me, it’s your fault. I’m just giving some basic guidance here because I’ve performed one single retrofit and that was on a Yaris liftback. I am not an expert, just some idiot with an internet connection.

It is very important that you remember at all times that the ballasts for an HID system put out enough juice to maim or kill you. Gasses inside bulbs are at high pressure. Bulbs are made of glass. Working with a Dremel tool is inherently dangerous. Pieces of the material you are working on have a tendency to fly off at high speeds at odd angles. It is not uncommon for cutting wheels to break into pieces while rotating at high RPMs. Wear safety glasses and whatever other protection you determine sufficient. There are numerous other hazards. Be careful!

The way I set up my system was with single xenon projectors inside the headlight housing as the low beams and modified fog lamps as the high beams. I wanted to be able to flash the high beams even with the lights off and HID is not great with that. You could go with a bi-xenon projector to have both low and high beam HID, figure a way to cram both high and low inside the housing or just do without high beams if you always travel on well lit roadways. If you do go with separate high beams inside the housing, I’d suggest the 90mm Hella modules. They’re excellent from what I’ve read.