Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2017, 09:15 AM   #1
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
ABS and SKID CONTROL lights on in my dash

Anyone with these lights on?
Remove the front wheels and remove the sensors from the hubs with a 10mm ratchet. Clean the sensors with a rag and W/D 40 and reinstall.
I had a dealer try to convince me that they had to be replaced. But they were fine.
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 12:18 PM   #2
froger
 
Drives: 08 yaris 1.8 dual vvti 5sp
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 37
Did you scan for codes ?,what were they?
froger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 10:39 PM   #3
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 772
it's usually the rear hubs. you got lucky if it was the fronts. you can't clean the rears unless you have a disk conversion...
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 12:08 PM   #4
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by froger View Post
Did you scan for codes ?,what were they?
I didn't scan it.
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 12:10 PM   #5
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDigby View Post
it's usually the rear hubs. you got lucky if it was the fronts. you can't clean the rears unless you have a disk conversion...
It's been about 200 miles now. Seems to be good.
I cleaned them and then drove about 50 yards and the lights both went out.
I wasn't aware that the rear wheels had sensors, but it does make sense with the anti lock.
Do the rears have rears have to be replaced or is it part of an assembly?
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 09:08 PM   #6
froger
 
Drives: 08 yaris 1.8 dual vvti 5sp
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 37
Toyota use to sell sensor seperate but now I think they only sell the rear wheel bearing as a whole.You should also get the updated speed sensor harnesses from Toyota but this stuff is irrelevant if you don't scan the car to see what the problem is .The code will tell you what area of the vehicle you are having issues with.
When you went to the dealership did they write down the codes in the invoice.?
froger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 09:45 AM   #7
Bluevitz-rs
1NZ-6spd Turbo
 
Bluevitz-rs's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 6-Spd Vitz RS Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,880
it's usually the connectors on the rear sensors that corrode and fail.
Bluevitz-rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 11:59 AM   #8
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
I found the rear and both front replacement sensors on Ebay. Cheap.
I'm going to replace all four for about $80 (for all 4)next weekend. Those suckers are like $350 each from Toyota.
After all of the water from hurricane Irma, the lights came back on.
The fronts are very easy to swap out. The rears will take some disassembly.
This is the "shotgun approach". But I'll bet it works!
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 04:58 PM   #9
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
Question
Can I replace the rear sensors from under the car?
Or is wheel and hub removal needed?
I haven't peeked yet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171004_170114-1-1-1-1.jpg (284.9 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by Kawiman; 10-04-2017 at 05:10 PM.
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:38 AM   #10
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
Update.
I bought an OBD 2 with ABS code reader/scanner from Harbor freight.
I'll wait until the lights come back on and I'll catch the code(s)
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 05:00 PM   #11
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
The code is 1401. Front right sensor failure.
So I won't be messing with the rears right now.
That scanner was the best $112 I ever spent!
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:02 AM   #12
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
I replaced the sensor and reset the codes.
It's kinda a pain to replace the sensor. Lots of wiring clips and two bolts just on the wire part. Inner fender must come out, etc.
Sorry no pictures. I took a bunch, but each one is way "TOO LARGE" when I try to attach them.
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 06:48 PM   #13
hotracer_05
Hmm, I see...
 
hotracer_05's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Tundra and Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Rowlett, TX
Posts: 111
I have the opposite problem with mine, they never come on lol. Whats weird is that the traction button by the e brake doesn't do anything either
__________________
"Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes that reason is you're and idiot"
hotracer_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:25 AM   #14
Kawiman
 
Drives: 2010 hatch
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: South Florida
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotracer_05 View Post
I have the opposite problem with mine, they never come on lol. Whats weird is that the traction button by the e brake doesn't do anything either
Too bad you don't live closer to me. I'd loan you my scanner.
Apparently the codes remain in the computer until they are cleared.
Kawiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 09:13 AM   #15
hotracer_05
Hmm, I see...
 
hotracer_05's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Toyota Tundra and Yaris
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Rowlett, TX
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawiman View Post
Too bad you don't live closer to me. I'd loan you my scanner.
Apparently the codes remain in the computer until they are cleared.
Ill have to check to see if there is one. maybe my bluetooth obd2 will pick it up
__________________
"Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes that reason is you're and idiot"
hotracer_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS and "!" lights are ON again! onizuka Canada 444 10-04-2017 12:31 PM
Yaris ABS and Brake warning lights stay on vinny121 DIY / Maintenance / Service 2 01-31-2011 01:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.