Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 09:43 PM   #55
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanmadeline View Post
I tried doin it on Sunday but the problem I had was that when I hit the button the light would start flashing the it would come on then I hit the button again and the same thing it would just flash for a few minutes and then stay on again.
I dont know if this makes a difference but i Dont have a brown cable on mine I have a white with a black stripe were that brown one is on your write up. Any suggetions. thanks for all your help.
Can you take a picture of your connector? The part number is the same for 08 and 09 sedans and LBs, so even though the wire colors are different, their functions are identical.

If your connections are in the correct place, try measuring the voltage on the "brown" wire with the switch in both modes. With the TPWS connected (and the sensors not present) you will read ~1 VDC. Withe the TPWS bypassed you should read ~4 VDC. If the voltage is less than 3 VDC, the light will remain on.

If you do measure less than 3 VDC, you will need to change the resistiors to 150 ohm, 1/2 watt ones.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 09:47 PM   #56
ivanmadeline
 
ivanmadeline's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris (Sedan)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Can you take a picture of your connector? The part number is the same for 08 and 09 sedans and LBs, so even though the wire colors are different, their functions are identical.

If your connections are in the correct place, try measuring the voltage on the "brown" wire with the switch in both modes. With the TPWS connected (and the sensors not present) you will read ~1 VDC. Withe the TPWS bypassed you should read ~4 VDC. If the voltage is less than 3 VDC, the light will remain on.

If you do measure less than 3 VDC, you will need to change the resistiors to 150 ohm, 1/2 watt ones.

I'll try again this weekend thanks.
ivanmadeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 07:39 PM   #57
linny
 
Drives: '08 liftback mt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mn
Posts: 39
Installed the 150 Ohm resistor harness yesterday and no more light!! Took a 60 mile drive last night and 3 mile work commute today and all is still great!

Last edited by linny; 12-03-2008 at 10:42 PM.
linny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:34 AM   #58
Pitt Yaris
 
Drives: Flint Mica Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 479
i haven't checked my pressure lately, but everything is stock on mine....the light came on when it got cold out, and hasn't turned off since. car is two months old
Pitt Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 10:41 AM   #59
mikenacarato
SIPNDEW
 
mikenacarato's Avatar
 
Drives: 04 Cooper S
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 2,289
Send a message via AIM to mikenacarato
add some air
mikenacarato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 09:20 PM   #60
ivanmadeline
 
ivanmadeline's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris (Sedan)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Can you take a picture of your connector? The part number is the same for 08 and 09 sedans and LBs, so even though the wire colors are different, their functions are identical.

If your connections are in the correct place, try measuring the voltage on the "brown" wire with the switch in both modes. With the TPWS connected (and the sensors not present) you will read ~1 VDC. Withe the TPWS bypassed you should read ~4 VDC. If the voltage is less than 3 VDC, the light will remain on.

If you do measure less than 3 VDC, you will need to change the resistiors to 150 ohm, 1/2 watt ones.
Hey CTScott thank to you the light is gone. The first time the light came on again but when I got home I change the blue and the yellow cable around and the light was on I click the switch and the light is gone. Thanks for all your hard work.
ivanmadeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:24 PM   #61
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,519
Scott, do you have a picture of that light ?
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 04:42 PM   #62
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
Scott, do you have a picture of that light ?
It is the one that looks like this:

CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 08:08 PM   #63
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,519
thank you.
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:12 PM   #64
Black Yaris
der Zeck
 
Black Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: '05 Audi A4 1.8t quattro
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 5,268
so is this latest fix 100% working, with no problems?
__________________
Black Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:19 PM   #65
ivanmadeline
 
ivanmadeline's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris (Sedan)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Yaris View Post
so is this latest fix 100% working, with no problems?

I can let you know tomorrow I just got done changing the resistior to the 150 omh 1/2 watt. I had the 10 ohm that i install the first time and the light would stay off the first day and it would come back on the next day after the first 15 min ride.
ivanmadeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:39 PM   #66
linny
 
Drives: '08 liftback mt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mn
Posts: 39
Thumbs up

I put in the 150 Ohm resistor mod on Dec 2 and have had no problems in the ~150 miles I have driven since. I did not do the switch procedure as I do not intend to EVER go back to a TPMS. I personally see absolutely no value in TPMS whatsoever for me.
SO, if I ever buy another new car I will do this all over again!
linny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:24 PM   #67
ivanmadeline
 
ivanmadeline's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris (Sedan)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Yaris View Post
so is this latest fix 100% working, with no problems?
Yes it does work the 2nd day in the road no light. With no switch.
ivanmadeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:18 PM   #68
blacksandiegovitz
Your mom goes to college
 
blacksandiegovitz's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vitz
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Just chillin' out brah !
Posts: 1,436
Still working with the 150 ohm resistor modd????
blacksandiegovitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:31 PM   #69
linny
 
Drives: '08 liftback mt
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mn
Posts: 39
It is still working for me!
linny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 09:46 PM   #70
09TRD
 
Drives: 09 Yaris hatch, 09 Z51 'Vette
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: RI
Posts: 100
Just to verify:

If one chooses to do this mod without the switch, the connector remains UNPLUGGED from the TPWS module?
09TRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 09:55 PM   #71
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by 09TRD View Post
Just to verify:

If one chooses to do this mod without the switch, the connector remains UNPLUGGED from the TPWS module?
Correct.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:49 PM   #72
Tiddlygoose
 
Tiddlygoose's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Honda Civic Sedan SI
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 54
OK, so I followed the first mod as CTScott knows... Then I followed the corrected 2nd version of the mod. I Left the first switch in the on position, Added a second push button switch with the 3 150 ohm resistors and it worked right up until the time I got up to highways speed. Then the darned light came back on. No amount of changing either switch changes anything at all.

Question. Can the dealer disable the entire TPMS system, even if it costs me? Has anyone had that done or know anything? I always check my own damed tires. I've never had anything like this to fall back on before and with my tire switching situation I'd just as soon loose TPMS all together at this point.
Tiddlygoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire pressure sensors Tink1 Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack 11 10-21-2008 05:53 PM
Intake Systems Decision Maker.. Blenjar Performance Modifications 25 09-15-2007 10:07 PM
The Tire inflation debate... Tankota General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 20 06-01-2006 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.