Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior)
  The Tire Rack

Old 10-16-2010, 10:14 PM   #1
Slick

Drives: '09 3-Dr
Send a message via MSN to Slick
Smile RED Carbon Fiber wrapping :)

Before I begin, I would like to give a BIG thanks to Brian for pointing me in the right direction and for the awesome advice he has given me. He has literally taught me all there is to know about wet-laying CF.

Anyway, I'm going to use this as my progress thread. I have never used real CF before, so I am taking my time :)

EDIT: High res pics of some of the completed pieces are on page 3, post 40

So I bought some Red CF from soller composites. Here is a close up of the weave.
100_1917.jpg

Since I am new to working with CF I decided to start with something flat that also had a gentle curve. I chose the middle armrest trim piece from the liftback. Here is a picture of it with two light coats of flat black, painted in case the grey somehow managed to show through on accident.
photo (6).jpg

Here is the CF square I cut out
photo (5).jpg

I applied the CF using 3M super 77 because of its quick tack time. After learning how to use the 3M without getting covered in it, here is the final result.
photo (2).jpg

Overall, the weave is straight, and that is what is important.
photo (4).jpg

Here is the piece with the first coat of epoxy on. Dry times vary, but I'll end up putting about 3 more coats after this.
res2.jpg

So far so good, no problems encountered yet. But all this work spanned about 5 hours, so i'm working slowly and taking my time so I dont have to redo anything.
res.jpg

I still have 3 coats to do and the lots and lots of prep work and sanding.

Thanks for looking. I'll keep updating the thread as I accomplish more. Sorry for the pic quality, gotta love the iphone.

Last edited by Slick; 10-30-2010 at 12:09 AM.
Slick is offline   Reply With Quote