Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 02-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #1
trevor1980
I've made a post!

Drives: Toyota Yaris 2005 (old spec)
Help with oil change

Hi guys, newbie here so please be gentle with me :-)

I'm finally going to take the plunge and do an oil change service myself on my Yaris. I've seen the instructions and it seems fairly straightforward but I'm really confused about what oil spec to use.

I've looked in the owners manual and it says I can use either 20w-50, 15w-40, 10w-30 or 5w-30 but when I go on the halfords website it gives me a different spec to choose from.

I've heard people say that exon mobil 1 is the best to use??? Also heard people say that synthetic oil is better than mineral oil?

Also have heard people say that it's better to do an oil change every 5k miles and 6 months rather than 10k miles and 12 months!

Any help greatly appreciated!

Trevor

Ps:- I have a 2005 (old spec) Yaris 1.4 d4d T3
trevor1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
detroiter

Drives: 2008 Polar White LB Auto
It's hard for me to suggest any help because I don't know if your 1.4 is different from our U.S. 1.5 litre engine.

I for mine, I run 5w-30 because that's what is suggested in the manual. And with synthetic, that's a never ending battle. Almost like Mac or Windows, both will do the trick, it just comes down to personal preference and one is more expensive than the other. I ran Mobil 1 for a while but my car didn't seem to "like" it as compared to some others like Castrol GTX mineral oil. With the Castrol, it just seemed to run smoother and such.

I run synthetic right now but I might just go back to using normal mineral oil