Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2020, 12:00 PM   #1
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 603
Exclamation High Voltage

So I thought id share a small intermittent electrical problem I've been having for the past year or so.

As I was driving down the hiway last year in the rain, I noticed my windshield wipers were in turbo mode. I've never seen wipers move that fast. So I pulled over and opened the torque app on my phone. To my amazement the app was showing 18 volts at control module and 18.2 at the obd port.

So I risked it and made my way to the next exit where I called my buddy to go to my place and grab a spare alternator I had, figuring that was the issue. I replaced the alternator on the off ramp with some basic tools and I was on my way with normal voltage again.

I had decided to install a small volt gauge above my stereo so I could easily keep an eye on the situation.

All was well for about 4 months. Then again while driving in the rain the windshield wipers went turbo on me. A quick glance at the gauge and yep.... same issue. 18something volts. Faak!

I got out, wiggled the 4-wire connector and tried again. Back to normal. So at this point I figured I had a bad connection in the connector. I didnt do much about it because I was only having the issue every couple months and it seemed that a quick wiggle of the connector would fix the issue.

Well last week it happened again. And again 5 days later. The frequency was escalating. I got out to give the connector a wiggle and that's when the white wire completely broke about an inch back from the connector. I grabbed my trusty bag of goodies (fuses, crimp connectors, etc, and some basic hand tools). I used a butt connector to connect the wire back together and the voltage has been perfect for 2 days now. Today I'll properly solder and shrink wrap the connection.

Just wanted to share this experience so if anyone has this over-voltage issue, they dont do what I did and replace the alternator first and spend unnecessary money. Check your wires going to your alternator!
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 09:25 AM   #2
Leegamer
 
Leegamer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris HB 5-Speed
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ashland, VA
Posts: 510
Wow, haven't heard of this issue happening on the yaris, so good to know! Nice troubleshooting!
__________________
I'm a hermit named Lee
Leegamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 12:09 PM   #3
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 603
I'll add the wire was broken inside the protective sleeve of the harness. Probably why I never noticed it the first few times I fiddled around. It's an odd spot for a wire to break. The harness never really moves.
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 03:05 PM   #4
zoidberg444
 
zoidberg444's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris 06 - 5dr hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 359
Yikes. The voltage regulator in my alternator went bad but in that case it was undercharging not going turbo. Hopefully these incidents haven't damaged anything in the cars electrics.

At first i was going to suggest using an oscilloscope to monitor the control signal from the ECM to the voltage regulator in the alternator and see if you could catch it acting up but i guess you solved it with finding the broken wire.
__________________
- Yaris 2006, 1.0, 5 door hatchback "Betty" - 180,000 miles
UK to Nordkapp in a Yaris
zoidberg444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:42 PM   #5
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 603
Yea, 18 volts had me worried the first time it happened. But I haven't noticed any ill effects of the high voltage as of yet. Everything seems to run as intended. Not only is the engine in a yaris bullet proof, but would seem the electronics are too!
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 08:27 PM   #6
tmontague
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Caledonia Ont.
Posts: 2,855
You should've left it and figured out a way to convert those 18 volts into a hybrid system for MOAR POWAH

All kidding aside, thanks for the heads up, haven't heard of this hallening before, especially not in a yaris
__________________
No one ever wants to give a Yaris the point by...
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 07:09 PM   #7
myfirstyota
3 Yaris and counting..
 
Drives: 07 Yaris rs 3 door 2zr swaped
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmontague View Post
You should've left it and figured out a way to convert those 18 volts into a hybrid system for MOAR POWAH

All kidding aside, thanks for the heads up, haven't heard of this hallening before, especially not in a yaris
Couple dewalt drill motors on the rear wheels.... hahaha
__________________
No one suspects the Yaris.

Xd/2zr-fe Swap/Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61427

Bolt-in 3.75" Suspension Lift Build Thread
http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61577
myfirstyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 03:23 PM   #8
06YarisRS
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris RS
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Beaver Harbour, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leegamer View Post
Wow, haven't heard of this issue happening on the yaris, so good to know! Nice troubleshooting!
Agreed. Great find! Nicely done.
__________________


2006 Yaris 5 Door RS 2ZR-FE (2011 Corolla 1.8L) Swapped, Automatic, T-28 Turbocharged (8 psi), custom 3" cold air intake, custom 2.5" exhaust, TRD rear sway bar, Penguin Garage 13mm spacers (rear), custom Civic front lip, full repaint, Android 6.0 7" touchscreen, Rockford Fosgate speakers, tweeters, NVX underseat subwoofer https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Edvs_TSGkY
2008 Yaris LE H&R 10mm spacers (rear), RS rear spoiler
06YarisRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical System Upgrade Advice sqcomp In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 6 03-23-2016 01:15 AM
Ohm's Law and Setting Amp Gain _S7V7N_ In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 24 03-13-2012 09:34 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 06:38 PM
High voltage -m- DIY / Maintenance / Service 7 08-01-2007 09:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.