Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2009, 06:46 AM   #1
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,681
So Your Radio Isnt Working...I May Know Why!

My sons 2000 ECHOs radio went out but I fixed it. (the Yaris is probably similiar) On these radios if just ONE of the speakers becomes disconnected the radio WILL NOT PLAY! Even though there are SIX speakers. They are computer controlled. STUPID! It automatically gives itself a lobotomy should a speaker wire become unattached. The wires and speakers in the trunk are vulnerable to getting hit by things in the trunk. (at least in the ECHO prolly so in the Yaris too) So if you smash something into the wires or the speakers and dammage a connection the radion will still turn on, the CD will spin, and you can change the numbers on the tuner and all, but it sound wont come out. I also imagine if someone takes the doors panels off or had the dash off (like the PO) and disturbs the speaker connections that also will lobotomize your radio. Just an FYI.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:14 PM   #2
Yaris Hilton
Half a Bubble Off Plumb
 
Yaris Hilton's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,610
Smile

My daughter's 2001 Echo had the speakers on one side cut out but the thing kept playing. Did it off and on all the time, most annoying.
Yaris Hilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:24 PM   #3
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,681
You can bring up an error code menu on the radio (on the ECHO, prolly the Yaris too) You hold 1 and 6 simultanously. Then you press CD button twice. Scroll thru the codes by pressing TRACK.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:42 AM   #4
TheSilkySmooth
 
TheSilkySmooth's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 3DR 5M Bayou Blue; 09 Fos
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 625
Good to know, thanks bronsin.
TheSilkySmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:25 PM   #5
talnlnky
Audio Junky
 
talnlnky's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 1,425
Send a message via AIM to talnlnky
Quote:
Originally Posted by bronsin View Post
My sons 2000 ECHOs radio went out but I fixed it. (the Yaris is probably similiar) On these radios if just ONE of the speakers becomes disconnected the radio WILL NOT PLAY! Even though there are SIX speakers. They are computer controlled. STUPID! It automatically gives itself a lobotomy should a speaker wire become unattached. The wires and speakers in the trunk are vulnerable to getting hit by things in the trunk. (at least in the ECHO prolly so in the Yaris too) So if you smash something into the wires or the speakers and dammage a connection the radion will still turn on, the CD will spin, and you can change the numbers on the tuner and all, but it sound wont come out. I also imagine if someone takes the doors panels off or had the dash off (like the PO) and disturbs the speaker connections that also will lobotomize your radio. Just an FYI.
i've got 4 speaker wires (two speakers) not hooked up to my oem radio and it works fine....
I find this hard to believe... What would make sense if there was some kind of short protection circuit... which some of your ideas would in fact trigger a short protection circuit.
__________________
talnlnky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 06:51 PM   #6
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,681
I got this from the ECHO (2001) service manual. Maybe if you have a PAIR of speakers disconnected its OK but not if you have ONE speaker in a pair disconnected. And his sound system didnt work at all until we reconnected the one speaker in the trunk back up.
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:34 PM   #7
talnlnky
Audio Junky
 
talnlnky's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 liftback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 1,425
Send a message via AIM to talnlnky
it might also have something to do with only 1 wire being connected vs both wires disconnected.... Tho that'd be hard for a circuit to detect i'd think.

it might also have something to do with differences between when the deck was powered on... example, car has 4 speakers on when the deck turns on... I disconnect one speaker while the deck is on... then deck shuts off.

I know with my install the deck & car were both off when I disconnected my rears....
__________________
talnlnky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:41 PM   #8
Wattz
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris Hatch
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 36
It's because each set is wired as a complete circuit. If one is not connected then the circuit is not complete and no signal passes through the circuit at all, which means that no signal reaches the speaker(s).

So if you manage to break one of the wires or one of the connections comes loose, you'll get intermittent or no sound at all. The only way to fix it is to secure the connection or fix the wire, both are really simple fixes.
Wattz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 04:17 PM   #9
RTR
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 2010 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1
My radio comes on and plays when you first crank it for a minute then it stops playing....Any Ideas??

Last edited by RTR; 02-15-2016 at 05:05 PM.
RTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 11:00 PM   #10
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,681
Unfortunately I don't.
__________________
Synthetic Oil: Its All In Your Head
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 07:41 AM   #11
CoolLuna
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris D4D
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTR View Post
My radio comes on and plays when you first crank it for a minute then it stops playing....Any Ideas??
I know what problem you have. You must completely take apart radio until only main circuit board is left, than locate transistors which are screwed to the metal side part. This transistors have for sure broken solder around pins because on this metal side part is also screwed main radio holder and vibrations ended at this transistor and solder broke. It also helps a little bump on the right bottom corner at main radio panel but only for few minutes
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P_20170217_202324.jpg (343.4 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg P_20170217_203630.jpg (283.0 KB, 27 views)
CoolLuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
radio wire colors & alarm wire color reference guide battleversiontc In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 42 05-29-2014 04:24 PM
Garbled radio display - radio working hubbyaris In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 2 10-09-2009 09:27 AM
ATL, I want to trade my Upgraded built in radio... matthewallanstill Southeast 2 03-28-2009 06:29 PM
Mounting a CB radio somewhere Sodium Duck Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 1 03-06-2009 02:50 AM
I want to trade my Upgraded built in radio... matthewallanstill Items for Sale by private party 0 09-03-2007 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.