Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Murtaza_murti
 
Drives: Toyota Belta
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Karachi,Pakistan
Posts: 83
DIY - Cabin air filter location (Belta, Vios, Yaris sedan)

So, yesterday I was busy with the Belta. Got the engine oil, engine oil filter and air filter replaced. I always wondered where the cabin air filter in the Belta was located?

I didn't bother taking out the glove box before because I thought I would either break something or I won't be able to fix it back properly. Then I thought I should find it now or never.

I kept my fear aside and started to locate the filter. I did not get a new cabin air filter because no one has the OEM one. However, the Malaysian one is but I don't want any non-OEM part to go into my car.

Now here you go with the picture tutorial:

The glove box, the filter is located right behind it. To access it we will have to take the glove box out.



Now, there are two clips at the bottom of the glove box one on the right side and one on the left. The glove box slides into them, you will have to tug a little to move them out of place.



On your left side there is a plastic nose clip which holds a black plastic arm which is controlled by a small hydraulic shock which opens up the glove box itself once you lift the lever up, just pinch the nose in order release the arm from the clip. You will have to open the door as the space is not enough to fit your hand unless you are really skinny.



There you go, the arm is out of the clip.



Move the glove box a little to both sides, it'll loosen up take it out and put it aside.



Voila! This is what it looks like behind the glove box.



The housing of the cabin air filter.



You will have to pinch this clip too in order for the flap to open. Once you have pinched it it'll open up like so.



Now that the flap is open you could see the very dirty cabin air filter sitting inside it's housing.



This is what is looks like when you take the cabin air filter out of it's housing, notice the small fan that sends air into the cabin.



And here we have the cabin air filter, very dirty. The material is quite flexible, too bad I couldn't find an OEM filter.



Another view of the cabin air filter.

Murtaza_murti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 02:21 PM   #2
MUSKOKA800
 
MUSKOKA800's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Yaris Sedan, Aero Package
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,722
Yours looks impeccable when compared to mine, after 3 years of neglect.
__________________
TRD Upgrades: 18" Wheels wrapped in 215/35/18 PZero's, Sportivo Shocks/Struts, Lowering Springs, Swaybar, Axle-Back Exhaust, Oil Cap, Rad Cap, Signage.

Aftermarket Goodies: Piggies SS, K&N Drop-In, Blitz S/C, DC Header, NST Pulley)

Toyota Options/Accessories: Sport Pedal Covers, Sport Shift Knob, Ipod Interface, Summer Mats, Winter Mats, Cruise Control, Auto-Dim Mirror, Echo steelies with winter boots.
MUSKOKA800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 05:05 PM   #3
Betrivent
Not quite a noob
 
Betrivent's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 325
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: edmonton
Posts: 1,412
I change mine whenever it looks dirty.. I also make my own out of house HVAC filters.. :P
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 05:32 PM   #4
RedRide
 
RedRide's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Yaris carmine red 2d HB
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 1,460
I used to make my own for my Celica as it had a sperate filter holder you slid out. This enabed an easy custon fit for the piece of furnace filter and all four sides were seald.

However, the Yaris just has a door that you open which makes it very difficult to seal all around without reducing airflow, etc. So, now I just buy one for a few $.
RedRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:23 PM   #5
ricepower
 
ricepower's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Y Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 669
Send a message via MSN to ricepower Send a message via Yahoo to ricepower
excellent writeup/procedure!
__________________
ricepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:03 AM   #6
syed-shoaib
I've made a post!
 
Drives: Toyota Vitz 2006
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 1
Great work Murtaza bro !!!!! Thumbs up... :)

Still I will not do it myself. I dont know why but I always feel I will break something while opening things :)

regards,
syed-shoaib is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
1.3 Ltr Yaris Air Filter mods aucorium Performance Modifications 9 08-18-2006 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.