Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Old 03-22-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
tamo300

Drives: Toyota Yaris
Car wont start - help!

Hello,
I've been a Yaris driver for three years - ive never had a problem with my car - and it has been so very reliable - however, on Saturday I tried to start my car and it wouldn't start whihc I thought was very odd given that nothing was left on -...so i left it and after an hour I tried to start again and bingo it started as per normal - i thought very odd given that an hour ago it wouldn't start - anyway, being not so car savy I thought it was now working and so after 2 minutes switched it off (should I have left the engine running for at leat 10 mins?) and left the car until Sunday morning - sunday morning i go to the car to do my shopping and it was completely dead - nothing - no sound, not even a choke - just completely dead - like there is now connection - not even a sound of it trying to turn over

I am a bit baffled as to why it would first not start, then after 1 hour start then after a day not start -

The radio is still working as are the lights (all lights) so could it still be a flat or dead battery or something to do with a fuse or immobiliser (ive no idea about fuses or immobilisers)..oh and the wipers are working fine too......

..i have no idea what to do - should i go an buy a power charge battery pack to charge the battery?......I can't jump start it as it's not parked on a hill.....any ideas would be greatly apprecited....thank you
tamo300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 02:39 PM   #2
Betrivent
Not quite a noob

Drives: e46 325
I think immobiliser. What you might have to do is sit in the car for about 10 minutes with the key in the ignition.
Betrivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 02:39 PM   #3
bobolinko
Bob