Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 07-25-2019, 06:51 AM   #1
AnaKara

Drives: Toyota Yaris 1.3 2012
Smooth gear transmission

Hi to all,

new to the forum, new driver in general!

I bought a second hand Toyota Yaris 1.3 2012 in November 2018 (approx.9 months ago) with 44k km at that time.

I am a new driver, so limited skills. My observations for which you might can share your thoughts below are:

*. for the first few km after i start driving the car my gear switch is pretty bad. I found it very difficult to get from 2nd to 3rd smoothly, and from 3rd to 4rth. I am attempting a gear change when the rpm is 3000. when i press the clutch in the revs drop very quickly and as a result i engage the 3rd gear well below (?) its ideal rpm and car makes this sudden move/kick. In general it feels like an idiot! This improves as the car continues driving...

*.I tried to adapt my driving skills by 2 ways.
1) was by changing gear when have 3200-3300 rpm but god... this car is noisy! never liked this solution.
2) by not releasing my foot from the acceleration for more than a tiny little second if not less...

Is that common? Is it my yaris? Is it me not being a skilled river? I hate that this car did not give me any confidence as a new driver but kept on reminding me that I suck! I learned how to drive on a Suzuki Swift... i dont remember me having this bad experience nor i recall such a noisy cabin.

In 2 weeks time i have the 15k planned service and i am planning to discuss that with Toyota. But before saying anything that might inspire them for any unnecessary replacements... I would like to hear your feedback.