Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2007, 11:57 PM   #55
KSIbucky
 
KSIbucky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris manual dark silver
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to KSIbucky Send a message via MSN to KSIbucky
where did you hook up the illumination wire and HOW did you do

im new to the hole wiring thing and a step by step diy for just hook the two wires would be cool
__________________
7 Color Tach
Fujita Intake
Momo pedals Shift knob and boot. Full TRD SSK.
Blitz exhaust
Megan Lowering Springs
(Next is DC Header)
KSIbucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 08:21 AM   #56
joey1320
 
joey1320's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSIbucky View Post
where did you hook up the illumination wire and HOW did you do

im new to the hole wiring thing and a step by step diy for just hook the two wires would be cool

Attach the tachometer "Illumination" (yellow wire) to the other add a fuse circuit. Install this add a circuit at terminal 8 or 9 (the red 10amp circuit across from #24 location). This will ensure that the tachometer "remembers" what color it was last on after you shut the car off.
joey1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 10:49 PM   #57
KSIbucky
 
KSIbucky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris manual dark silver
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to KSIbucky Send a message via MSN to KSIbucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by joey1320 View Post
Attach the tachometer "Illumination" (yellow wire) to the other add a fuse circuit. Install this add a circuit at terminal 8 or 9 (the red 10amp circuit across from #24 location). This will ensure that the tachometer "remembers" what color it was last on after you shut the car off.
how do you find a terminal # and how do you add a number go to page 11
__________________
7 Color Tach
Fujita Intake
Momo pedals Shift knob and boot. Full TRD SSK.
Blitz exhaust
Megan Lowering Springs
(Next is DC Header)
KSIbucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 04:20 PM   #58
yariSB86
 
yariSB86's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Bayou Blue Yaris LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OH
Posts: 211
Thanks for the DIY!
just installed my glowshift 7 color tach.
gotta love wire testers :)
posting pics after i make the wires invisible.


woot woot
yariSB86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 07:35 AM   #59
Ran Kizama
That Anime Guy
 
Ran Kizama's Avatar
 
Drives: 5-Speed Liftback
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 545
Send a message via AIM to Ran Kizama Send a message via MSN to Ran Kizama
I installed my Speedhut gauge this weekend with the help of this DIY. However, my gauge has two Illumination wires and two grounds. I guess one for the gauge and one for the shift LED. The LED's light up fine and so does the needle, but the backlight is very very dim. Any advice?
__________________
Ran Kizama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 04:56 PM   #60
Ran Kizama
That Anime Guy
 
Ran Kizama's Avatar
 
Drives: 5-Speed Liftback
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 545
Send a message via AIM to Ran Kizama Send a message via MSN to Ran Kizama
Bumpity Help Me!
__________________
Ran Kizama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 09:36 PM   #61
drifto
 
drifto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 5spd Yaris LB
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 251
Send a message via MSN to drifto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ran Kizama View Post
Bumpity Help Me!
i just got my speedhut guage in the mail today im installing it tomorrow. ill let you know what i find
__________________
Going from drift to grip...

07 Yaris LB 5spd
AE86 Corolla GTS 5spd
http://microimage.ning.com/
http://www.microimageonline.com/store.html
drifto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:07 AM   #62
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
glowshift coming next week, will post install pics also. I want mine on the other side of the steering wheel if possible though, that's where I'm used to looking on my other cars.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 07:40 AM   #63
Sway84
 
Sway84's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 309
Send a message via MSN to Sway84
you know i was just thinking that and i had a thread posted for it under cosmetics and in the a-pillar guages thread
__________________
Rice on, Rice Off

Ron Cabading
Sway84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:15 PM   #64
rwseattle
Rwseattle
 
rwseattle's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris (BASE)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
Yes, post pic. I'm interested in the speedhut tach.
rwseattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 06:46 PM   #65
kapo
Argentina Presente!
 
Drives: 07 White LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 111
one small question.. how do you guys attached the green tach wire? I know where it goes, but how is the best way to attach it? cut the blue-green wire from the ECU, then attaching all 3 ends together?

thanks!
kapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 07:43 PM   #66
drifto
 
drifto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 5spd Yaris LB
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 251
Send a message via MSN to drifto
best way is to soldier it/ shrink wrap together, but they also sell 3-way t-type crimp connectors that will work good too. whatever you prefer. just dont twist it and elec. tape it
__________________
Going from drift to grip...

07 Yaris LB 5spd
AE86 Corolla GTS 5spd
http://microimage.ning.com/
http://www.microimageonline.com/store.html
drifto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 12:24 PM   #67
kapo
Argentina Presente!
 
Drives: 07 White LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 111
well.. i followed the instructions and the tach is not working.. one stupid question, the fuse (#24) i took from the box i need to attach it to the "add a fuse".. right? (i did it), is any special direction the fuse goes?

another question.. for the ground I needed to add some wire... but the wire is thicker that the tach black wire... that is a problem?

I tried everything... and nothing, the needle doesnt move, and no ilumination also.. Im using the glowshift. Any has this problem?
kapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 01:01 PM   #68
cali yaris
ULTIMATE
 
cali yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Turbo
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to cali yaris
I've sent one glowshift back already, but yours is probably not the unit. Shouldn't be a problem with your ground wire size.

Have you hooked up 12v to the tach to make sure it lights up?

Do you have a way of testing a wire to see if there's juice in it?
__________________
Micro Image forums, online store and shop are now closed. It was a great eight year run, but it was time to focus on other things. I'm still selling parts on eBay under micro*image seller ID and customers can still make requests for anything specific.
cali yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 01:11 PM   #69
kapo
Argentina Presente!
 
Drives: 07 White LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 111
Red wire in #24.. with the 7.5 amp.
Yellow wire in #9 with the 10 amp.

* what happen if i do a wire jump in the "add a fuse" instead of puting the fuse?

i guess i will need to buy a tester to see what is going on..
kapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 02:24 PM   #70
kapo
Argentina Presente!
 
Drives: 07 White LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 111
finally! is working! My mistakes, I didn't put the fuse in the slot B of the "add a fuse".. and then, I had to turn 180 the "add a fuse"..

It looks great!!!! I will post pictures later..
kapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 03:05 PM   #71
kapo
Argentina Presente!
 
Drives: 07 White LB
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 111
well.. the radio now is not working.. ggrrr.. i need to read the other thread about the radio.. :/
kapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 12:01 PM   #72
meteoriteyaris
 
meteoriteyaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Meteorite metallic
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 21
Those Grote add-a-fuse things are $22 each here at NAPA. I'd need two and I didn't pay that much for the tach. Anybody know of any place to buy them for a reasonable amount?
meteoriteyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Liftback Spoiler Installation Toddhata Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 25 08-09-2009 01:26 AM
US Yaris: Adding a tach? Thirty-Nine General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 159 04-05-2007 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.