Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2007, 12:06 PM   #73
meteoriteyaris
 
meteoriteyaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Meteorite metallic
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 21
Glowshift tach, too many wires

Still gotta mount and wire the Tach yet (Glowshift white-faced 7-color 3 3/4" one). The instructions say "Red wire to Battery, Black to ground, Green to tach wire and white to lighting" But my tach has 3 long wires in a harness (Red,Black,Green) and 3 short (6" long) wires, Red, Black, and Yellow. Trying to find out where they all go, but Glowshift isn't answering their email. Why in heck would the short lighting wires need a separate hot and ground, and if they do, why not just tie them into the long red and black? Anyone got a clue? Please PM me.

US Model 2007 Yaris Meteorite Metallic
Fogs, Tach, Altezza black tail lights, side graphics, tinted windows, shorty antenna, sport shifter, short-throw shifter, hood gas strut, pedal covers, woodgrained dash, outside temp gauge, cruise control, chrome spoke hubcaps, rear spoiler, clear grill bra/rockshield, mud flaps, TRD muffler, K&N and re-routed air intake, retracting windshield sunshade, sirius radio, GPS, trailer hitch, Rocky Mountain Radar detector.
meteoriteyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 04:25 PM   #74
rwseattle
Rwseattle
 
rwseattle's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris (BASE)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 130
pix

Drifto do you have a side view picture of your speedhut gauge. Thx.
rwseattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 07:05 PM   #75
drifto
 
drifto's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 5spd Yaris LB
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 251
Send a message via MSN to drifto
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwseattle View Post
Drifto do you have a side view picture of your speedhut gauge. Thx.
ill try to post it up tomorrow
__________________
Going from drift to grip...

07 Yaris LB 5spd
AE86 Corolla GTS 5spd
http://microimage.ning.com/
http://www.microimageonline.com/store.html
drifto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 03:56 PM   #76
Meteorite Man
Passin' The Gas...Station
 
Meteorite Man's Avatar
 
Drives: Same As You But Different
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Taunton, Mass
Posts: 266
Send a message via Yahoo to Meteorite Man
Finally put the tach in. First I want to thank everyone for their imputs and help. Man oh man that was a big help. The installation was a piece of cake but do not use the owner's manual to reference the fuse slot numbers. Use the diagram on the fuse panel door/panel. If you go with the numbers as reference from the owner's manual the neighborhood kids will be learning a whole new language by the time you are done. #24 in the book is totally different than on the panel. Good thing for wireless internet, I took the laptop outside and kept referring back to this thread for details, photos and imput.

I used a Sun Super II Tach 3 3/8" WhiteFace. Looks good and should be easy to see in any light. As for the Add-A-Fuse. Don't pay big cash for the Grote's. AutoZone has the LittleFuse brand for $6.00 and it comes with spare fuses. Green and black package. Can't miss them.

I mounted it on the little air-vent hump on the driver's side just inboard of the A-pillar. I used a stainless steel self-tapping screw (figured with temp.changes and condensation could be a rust-bleed issue). I stayed far enough back to keep the screw from interfering with the twist action of the vent. (need that vent to defog the inside of the window).
Maybe an hour total time of install. Make it two with parts gathering and rereads of the instructions and the YarisWorld thread.

I used the #8 slot on the fuse panel and the light works just fine. The ground was perfect, thanks for the suggestion there. I ended up twisting and bending the metal tach mount a bit inboard to bring it into a favorable view for me. Mounted straight away on the hump made it appear that the tach was too much of a line of site at my left shoulder. Now I have it perfect in my peripheral.

Tach 4.jpg

Tach 2.jpg

Tach 1.jpg

Tach 3.jpg

I ran the wires between the pillar panel and the dash. I used a rat-tail file and filed a nice half circle to allow the wires to route without pinching them. As someone here had mentioned, take your time popping off the panels. The clips will break if you have goriila fingers.
__________________
MY Gas Station Attendant Misses Me...

Chuck
Meteorite Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 07:33 PM   #77
uncleyaris
 
Drives: 2007 Bayou Blue!!!!!!!
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,531
great job.
uncleyaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 10:01 PM   #78
KSIbucky
 
KSIbucky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris manual dark silver
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to KSIbucky Send a message via MSN to KSIbucky
pictures coming either today or tomorrow
__________________
7 Color Tach
Fujita Intake
Momo pedals Shift knob and boot. Full TRD SSK.
Blitz exhaust
Megan Lowering Springs
(Next is DC Header)
KSIbucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 11:30 PM   #79
KSIbucky
 
KSIbucky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris manual dark silver
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to KSIbucky Send a message via MSN to KSIbucky
here it is your going to have to wait for in the day sorry

the car under want to race me


um ya this car also broke a record in utah
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tach.jpg (6.3 KB, 909 views)
File Type: jpg avantie.jpg (9.3 KB, 901 views)
__________________
7 Color Tach
Fujita Intake
Momo pedals Shift knob and boot. Full TRD SSK.
Blitz exhaust
Megan Lowering Springs
(Next is DC Header)
KSIbucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 10:45 AM   #80
lgcharlot
'07 YARIS HB 5-SPEED
 
Drives: '07 yaris 3-door hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: california, usa
Posts: 4
I don't usually need a tach for just driving around town, but I want one in the mountains to avoid over-revving on long steep downgrades. Gas engines don't have much compression braking ability compared to the Cummins diesel in my truck, so it's pretty easy to exceed redline in second or third gear on a 7% downgrade in a 5-speed Yaris or Scion.

I like the look of the AutoMeter model 2306 - it's a 2.5" pedestal mount, 6000rpm tach. I want to install one, but I have not been able to determine if it is compatible with the Yaris tach signal. I have tried emailing the manufacturer for tech support but no response after 10 days. Datcon also makes 4000 and 6000 rpm tachs with the plain black housing style that I want, but again I have not been able to determine if they are compatible.
lgcharlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 08:51 PM   #81
tomm9050
 
Drives: Yaris 2008 HB
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 43
does anyone have or know of any more detailed install instructions?
same sunpro II

with photos


THanks!!
tomm9050 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:44 PM   #82
GrassrootsMS
 
GrassrootsMS's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to GrassrootsMS
Sorry, this might be a bit unrelated, but can the instrument panel from a Yaris sedan be swapped into a Liftback?
GrassrootsMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 10:39 PM   #83
KSIbucky
 
KSIbucky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris manual dark silver
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fond du Lac, WI
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to KSIbucky Send a message via MSN to KSIbucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassrootsMS View Post
Sorry, this might be a bit unrelated, but can the instrument panel from a Yaris sedan be swapped into a Liftback?
I would start a new thread on this one I think so
__________________
7 Color Tach
Fujita Intake
Momo pedals Shift knob and boot. Full TRD SSK.
Blitz exhaust
Megan Lowering Springs
(Next is DC Header)
KSIbucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:47 PM   #84
sanityassassinv2
The poison in your poison
 
sanityassassinv2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Liftback MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 75
I recently installed a Sunpro Powerline Tach (CP2010/2012 type) and installed it on the steering wheel column. I also put in a blue LED to match my blue A/C controls. I am very happy with it, but these tachs are getting hard to find. Found mine on clearance for $20 at Pep Boys.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0002.jpg (370.0 KB, 1033 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0003.jpg (361.0 KB, 1030 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0001.jpg (317.7 KB, 924 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0013.jpg (201.9 KB, 913 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0016.jpg (232.4 KB, 919 views)
sanityassassinv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 11:33 PM   #85
sportin83
 
Drives: 2008 blazing blue yaris LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: central IL
Posts: 131
thats a nice looking sunpro. can u find more of these?
__________________
http://cardomain.com/ride/3151056

mods: custom sub box, i hit 141.4 db, new speakers, double-din nav, foglights, cruise, CAI, strut brace, under car braces, short antenna, remote start, alarm, actuators in doors and hatch

coming soon: window tint, custom sub grills, tach and........
sportin83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 08:11 AM   #86
sanityassassinv2
The poison in your poison
 
sanityassassinv2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Liftback MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportin83 View Post
thats a nice looking sunpro. can u find more of these?
You can still find them on Ebay and Amazon, and maybe at a local auto parts store on the clearance shelf. The one I have is the CP2010, they also a have a white face model called the CP2012.

http://www.amazon.com/Sunpro-1-Perfo.../dp/B000CS98MQ
sanityassassinv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 01:36 AM   #87
yarisugi
やりすぎだ~
 
yarisugi's Avatar
 
Drives: Me: Nuts:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ハワイ
Posts: 2,050
Sorry, replying to an old thread.
How is the reliability on these GlowShift gauges?
I see them pop up every time I enter "yaris" and "gauge" in Google.
yarisugi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 03:34 PM   #88
sanityassassinv2
The poison in your poison
 
sanityassassinv2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Liftback MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by yarisugi View Post
Sorry, replying to an old thread.
How is the reliability on these GlowShift gauges?
I see them pop up every time I enter "yaris" and "gauge" in Google.
I think the general concensus is that "they look pretty cool." Personaly, I found the Tach needle response time barely acceptable--that's why I went with the Sunpro. I don't have any personal experience with any of the other Glowshift guages (water temp, oil press, etc.), but I have heard that they work just fine.
sanityassassinv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 11:19 PM   #89
Revsson
 
Drives: 2009 Meteorite Metallic LB MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanityassassinv2 View Post
I recently installed a Sunpro Powerline Tach (CP2010/2012 type) and installed it on the steering wheel column. I also put in a blue LED to match my blue A/C controls. I am very happy with it, but these tachs are getting hard to find. Found mine on clearance for $20 at Pep Boys.
I bought one of these in 2004, but with the white face. I was going to
install it in my Geo Metro, but never did. Only used it to check the idle
settings, but temporarily hooking it up under the hood. It was great, and
I bought it mostly because it was compatible with the 3 cyl engine.
I paid $40 for it back then.

I do like that it is flat in the back, allowing you to open the driver's glovebox.
Not sure the white face would look good in the Yaris
plus my 2009 has the amber lit speedometer.

Did you mount it with sticky tape or drill through the steering column cover?

Last edited by Revsson; 11-08-2008 at 11:22 PM. Reason: added question on mounting
Revsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:59 AM   #90
sanityassassinv2
The poison in your poison
 
sanityassassinv2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Black Liftback MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revsson View Post
I bought one of these in 2004, but with the white face. I was going to
install it in my Geo Metro, but never did. Only used it to check the idle
settings, but temporarily hooking it up under the hood. It was great, and
I bought it mostly because it was compatible with the 3 cyl engine.
I paid $40 for it back then.

I do like that it is flat in the back, allowing you to open the driver's glovebox.
Not sure the white face would look good in the Yaris
plus my 2009 has the amber lit speedometer.

Did you mount it with sticky tape or drill through the steering column cover?

Drilled through the cover.
sanityassassinv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Liftback Spoiler Installation Toddhata Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 25 08-09-2009 01:26 AM
US Yaris: Adding a tach? Thirty-Nine General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 159 04-05-2007 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.