Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Old 06-16-2023, 09:46 PM   #1
mirageman

Drives: 2009 yaris
Do THIS for NO MESS oil filter change

I've been changing my oil for 30+ years and I don't know how this idea has never occurred to me before. I hate splashing oil down my sleeve and arm and I don't like the idea of popping it before removal, which no doubt will be difficult and still oil up your tools. The idea popped into my head on the way home since I'm due for a change and I did it, and wanted to share it with you. First, drain the oil pan in your usual way. Personally, I do quick snapping turns of the plug and quickly pull my arm away. That works 99% of the time. NOW, after almost all of it is done dripping, with the old filter still in place, start the car. No worries, everything inside is still coated in oil and the oil pump is still primed. I let it run until the oil pressure light lit up, which took like 7-10 seconds and shut it down. I smiled broadly when I heard another strong splash of oil in my drain container. I was hoping for that audible confirmation that the pump would blow air through the oil filter and push that oil excess up into the engine. Now go and remove the now much cooler than usual oil filter and enjoy no oil splattering everywhere. I was able to turn my filter practically sideways before anything came out.
mirageman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2023, 10:00 PM   #2
remcafee

Drives: 2007 Toyota Yaris 3 door
i have never made a mess changing oil on a yaris, it is probably the easiest car to change oil on and i dont know how you always get a mess
remcafee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2023, 10:07 PM   #3
sh0rtlife

Drives: 2007 5dr canadian import