Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2009, 11:02 AM   #37
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
I guess I should have read the other thread first :) You said it will over rev if you hit the clutch while jumping the switch in cruise control. Why would you need to use the clutch while in cruise anyway. If some $hit goes down you just have to hit the break to turn off the cruise then cluth after it turns off right? It's not gunna mess anything up mechanically just by jumping the clutch switch is what I'm getting at I guess.
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:18 AM   #38
jambo101
 
jambo101's Avatar
 
Drives: yaris 08 sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 1,297
Thats what an auto forum is all about,thanks CTScott
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:55 AM   #39
RagnaCaT
HacKers WanTed!
 
RagnaCaT's Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris S HB & Yaris S SD
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Villalba, Puerto Rico
Posts: 434
learning
__________________
R-CaT
Project Yar 2ZR
RagnaCaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 12:02 PM   #40
momerath
I've made a post!
 
Drives: '09 Yaris 2 door liftback
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 1
Hello. I'm eager to try this out next week. I just have a couple of questions.

Question #1:

You stated in step 6: "Connect wires from switch assembly to wires on connector D3. Red wire from switches connects to blue wire of D3 Pin 1. Black wire from switches connects to brown wire of D3 Pin 3."

It's unclear whether or not I connect the switch assembly wires to the blue/brown wires themselves or to the connectors. The picture isn't clear because I'm not seeing the added black and red switch assembly wires. Is the picture under step 6 a before or after? It is exactly the same as the picture under step 3.

Question #2:

How do you remove the "push button start" cover? I tried playing with it to see if I could snap it off but I had no luck. It seems pretty firmly in place. I didn't want to force it too much for fear of breaking it off.

Question #3:

How easy is it to run the wire from that cover to the steering wheel assembly? Is there a direct path from the cover into the assembly?

thanks!
momerath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 12:35 PM   #41
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
TDB-1, to jump the switch connector, you simply put a wire from one terminal to the other (the switch plug only has 2 terminals right)? You didn't put a fuse or anything in there just in case?
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:34 PM   #42
TDB-1
 
Drives: 09 3-door 5speed
Join Date: May 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 6
Correct, I actually used a small spade terminal and just pushed it into the connector. Just don't step on the clutch when using cruise!!!! I have not hit the clutch but think if you did it would rev the motor till the computer or rev limiter figures out what is happening.
TDB-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:29 PM   #43
nickhjort
My R1 eats my Vitz!!
 
nickhjort's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Vitz Lifty, Stick Shift
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oneida, NY
Posts: 131
Gotcha. Thanks again man! And of course thanks to all the smart people who know how to do this stuff and make it easier for us dumb people to DIY :) I'm going outside right now to set this push-button system up. I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
My Car Rules!
nickhjort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:59 PM   #44
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Answers in red below:


Quote:
Originally Posted by momerath View Post
Hello. I'm eager to try this out next week. I just have a couple of questions.

Question #1:

You stated in step 6: "Connect wires from switch assembly to wires on connector D3. Red wire from switches connects to blue wire of D3 Pin 1. Black wire from switches connects to brown wire of D3 Pin 3."

It's unclear whether or not I connect the switch assembly wires to the blue/brown wires themselves or to the connectors. The picture isn't clear because I'm not seeing the added black and red switch assembly wires. Is the picture under step 6 a before or after? It is exactly the same as the picture under step 3.

Picture 3 and 6 are actually the same "after picture". The red tap-splices are how I connected my red and black wires to the brown and blue wires.


Question #2:

How do you remove the "push button start" cover? I tried playing with it to see if I could snap it off but I had no luck. It seems pretty firmly in place. I didn't want to force it too much for fear of breaking it off.



You have to pull the black vertical trim along side of the AC controls / radio (just get your fingers under the edge and pull it out). Once that is removed the cover pulls right off.





Question #3:

How easy is it to run the wire from that cover to the steering wheel assembly? Is there a direct path from the cover into the assembly?



Very easy - When you come through the back of that hole you loop to the left and right up along the wiring harness for the steering column.


thanks!
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 06:47 PM   #45
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dagobah
Posts: 4,367
Wow... this is really really cool. I'm pretty sure I don't have the LEDs on the dash, but I don't mind adding some in the same panel as the buttons.

Excellent job, Scott and Pavel!
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 08:12 PM   #46
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
i haven't done much yet lol, most of the credit goes to Scott.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:46 PM   #47
d1nzfe
 
Drives: 1NZ-FE
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: asia
Posts: 55
anyone tried on the sedan yet?
d1nzfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:26 PM   #48
mariann
 
Drives: yaris 2007
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: israel
Posts: 39
any one knows if the 2007 model come ready to install cruise controll? (its the same model as 2009)
mariann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 09:27 PM   #49
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariann View Post
any one knows if the 2007 model come ready to install cruise controll? (its the same model as 2009)
did you read the Can we do this thread
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 10:41 PM   #50
mariann
 
Drives: yaris 2007
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: israel
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
did you read the Can we do this thread
ofcorse. but i go tired on page 4. and skipped to the last pages.
havent found any info about it.
by the way. just now i looked in the 2007 manual - cruise controll. and its exactly as described. also has the plugs as shown. the same wires. and need the same resistors.
i think it will work the same as my dealer said: "its exactly the same vehicle. 2007 2008 2009 no changes what so ever" he was right.

the post is for AT and MT... but here we have only Robotic Transmission... so i think i'll consider robotic transmission as an automatic transmission... hope it will work.

any advice guys?
mariann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:05 PM   #51
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariann View Post
ofcorse. but i go tired on page 4. and skipped to the last pages.
havent found any info about it.
by the way. just now i looked in the 2007 manual - cruise controll. and its exactly as described. also has the plugs as shown. the same wires. and need the same resistors.
i think it will work the same as my dealer said: "its exactly the same vehicle. 2007 2008 2009 no changes what so ever" he was right.

the post is for AT and MT... but here we have only Robotic Transmission... so i think i'll consider robotic transmission as an automatic transmission... hope it will work.

any advice guys?
Does your 07 have the brown and blue wires in the D3 connector?

Also, does it have the cruise indicator on the combination meter?

If it doesn't have the D3 wires, then it will require the work that nickhjort did on page 16 of the other thread. Once all of the trial and error is sorted out in the other thread we'll put together a DIY for Yaris which need the additional work.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 04:26 AM   #52
regal
 
Drives: 09 Yaris 3 Dr White LB
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 432
very cool, but is there a tutorial for thos of us who want to you the OEM stock to keep it stock looking? Sounds a much better way to go that the $220 aftermarket option.
regal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 06:39 AM   #53
suiller
 
Drives: Yaris Sol 1.3 dual VVTi 101hp
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Turin - Piedmont - italy
Posts: 48
above all can we do on 2009 model??
__________________
Yaris Sol 1.33 dual VVTi model 09 - 5dr

1. full ZX1 additive treatment: oil + cooler + fuel
2. NB treatment: motor oil
3. K&N panel air filter (part num. 33-2211)
4. Fuchs Silkolene Pro SRG 75 gear oil (the best!)
5. UltraRacing 19mm rear sway bar
suiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:00 AM   #54
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by regal View Post
very cool, but is there a tutorial for thos of us who want to you the OEM stock to keep it stock looking? Sounds a much better way to go that the $220 aftermarket option.
A couple of people have purchased OEM stalks and will be installing them. Hopefully one will document the process for those interested.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM foglight switch and leather wrap steering wheel 808yarisLB Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 8 03-11-2009 12:05 AM
SCION SPORT STEERING WHEEL, RED, XA AND XB, 03 TO 06 justoneyaris Items for Sale by private party 3 12-04-2008 07:30 PM
steering wheel setup aucorium Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 0 07-24-2007 01:05 AM
How do you take off steering wheel mrrock Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 3 12-05-2006 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.