Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site

Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > Wheels, Tires and Suspension Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Old 12-03-2015, 06:05 PM   #1
autoproteach
I've made a post!

Drives: 2008 Yaris Sedan
Exclamation front lower control arm bolts breaking

I am an ASE certified tech and a retired auto shop teacher {28 years}

I own a 2008 Yaris and recently had the passenger side front lower control arm bolt break off, leaving a piece of bolt inside the vehicle body. There are 2 Toyota TSB's on this problem, and many complaints on the net.

I have called Toyota Customer Relations and they were no help, telling me the mileage is too high for them to help repair this. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL, IT CAN BECOME DANGEROUS QUICKLY!

My recommendation is that if you have had this problem, go on the NHTSA website and fill out an incident report. It is very easy.

Many times I recommended to people to buy Toyotas because of the quality and reliability. I will never do so again. They should replace these substandard bolts on every Yaris on the road.
autoproteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 06:29 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE

Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
That is a known common issue with a Toyota Warranty extension TSB. Here is a thread with a ton of info about it and copies of the TSBs:

www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27658
Old 12-03-2015, 06:31 PM   #3
NYC-SE

Drives: 2014 Yaris SE
This is a known issue:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27658

Oops, looks like CTScott beat me to it.
NYC-SE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 06:40 PM   #4
tmontague

Drives: '08 2zr swapped Vios M/T
Agreed it's an issue Toyota should be properly dealing with and they aren't. That being said every car manufacturer has a history of this and Toyota is not alone.