Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2017, 06:51 AM   #1
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
Disable transponder?

Hello, I have a 2008 5 door RS, and the transponder / immobilizer is giving me grief. At random, it won't recognize the key, or fight with the Hyundai key on the same ring. It will turn over, start, and then die after 2 seconds. Try a different key, like the valet key, same thing. Take all other keys out of the car to eliminate interference from other chips, it will still do it until it decides to let me drive it. Turn key, fail, take key out, put it back in, fail... When I'm trying to leave for work sometimes it will take 20 - 30 attempts. It's aggravating to say the least, and I won't let my wife drive it right now, lest she get stranded at the mall.

I've searched and can't find anything on disabling or over riding the transponder. I don't need it, I live and work in the sticks, very low car theft area, and have also consulted the insurance company, and they said it didn't matter for a car of this age to turf the transponder.

How do I remove / disable / bypass and still have the car play nice when the key is turned?
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 12:58 PM   #2
SirDigby
 
Drives: 2007 yaris 3 door
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 622
you would have to change the ECU from a vehicle that is exactly the same as yours minus immoblizer.
SirDigby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 03:10 PM   #3
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
There has to be a simpler way. How do you trick the immobilizer when you have a remote starter?
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 03:44 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinfevrr View Post
There has to be a simpler way. How do you trick the immobilizer when you have a remote starter?
You use a transponder key bypass module, which either requires surrendering a key into a little box that gets hidden under the dash or programming the module by reading an existing key.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 04:07 PM   #5
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
You use a transponder key bypass module, which either requires surrendering a key into a little box that gets hidden under the dash or programming the module by reading an existing key.
Do you think that could solve my problem, or do you think there are bigger issues in play?
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 10:07 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinfevrr View Post
Do you think that could solve my problem, or do you think there are bigger issues in play?
Do you have a second key, as that will tell you if the issue is the key or the transponder key amplifier?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 10:11 PM   #7
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Do you have a second key, as that will tell you if the issue is the key or the transponder key amplifier?
If the immobilozer isn't reading the key, it would simply not start the car right? It wouldn't start and die within 2 sec. Once the key has been read and car started, it doesn't need the transponder anymore.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 06:48 AM   #8
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
Do you have a second key, as that will tell you if the issue is the key or the transponder key amplifier?
I have all 3 factory keys - one with remote, black one and grey valet key. This behaviour is not key specific, it will do this with all 3 keys.
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 06:50 AM   #9
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
If the immobilozer isn't reading the key, it would simply not start the car right? It wouldn't start and die within 2 sec. Once the key has been read and car started, it doesn't need the transponder anymore.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
I have a dummy key I got cut just for the doors, and if you try to start the car with it, it will start but after a second or two it will die.
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 07:47 PM   #10
cabinfevrr
 
Drives: 2008 yaris 5door RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lunenberg County, Nova Scotia
Posts: 29
So other than find an Ecu without the transponder (doesn't exist), and maybe a bypass module would work, no ideas? I can't be the only one to experience this.
cabinfevrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 08:29 PM   #11
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,555
An ecu from an American yaris will work fine as they didn't have an immobilizer on them. You would have to put that ecu in and then disconnect the communication (wires) from the key transponder to the ecu and it would run fine,

Its not an issue I've ever heard of before. If the above is too much work for you then go get it diagnosed at the dealer and they should be able to let you know what is faulty and what needs replacing plus the cost

The reason it isn't easy to by pass is because it is an anti theft device. If it was easy to by pass then it would defeat the purpose of it being there. Unfortunately this men's you have more of a headache to deal with now
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35

Last edited by tmontague; 02-14-2017 at 09:02 PM.
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 02:25 PM   #12
jra
 
Drives: 2015 yaris L
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Indiana
Posts: 57
More of a make money for dealers device than anything else.
jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 04:15 PM   #13
B.B._07
 
Drives: 07 5dr
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: YYC
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinfevrr View Post
So other than find an Ecu without the transponder (doesn't exist), and maybe a bypass module would work, no ideas? I can't be the only one to experience this.
In Canada the pre 2008 Yaris did not come with an immobilizer, so you could in theory swap in an 07 or 06 ecu and your key reading problems would go away. Since the 06 & 07 don't have an immobilizer than I would think there would be no need to reprogram the ecu to the car but I could be wrong here. Another possibility is that your car "forgot" the keys and they need to be reprogrammed to the car. Not sure if it's an issue with Toyota's but Honda's of that vintage it's a fairy common issue. A dealer level scan tool is needed to reprogram the keys so you need to take it to a independent shop, locksmith or the dealer. It could also be an issue with the receiver around the ignition or the wiring back to the ECU.
B.B._07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transponder key programming teddy DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 04-28-2015 06:32 PM
Where is the transponder chip? rcvmini In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 3 03-04-2014 10:36 PM
Lost key (transponder and remote lock/unlock) shyeoh DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 07-11-2013 05:04 AM
Dashboard display and transponder AlanSilberlight General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 0 04-13-2012 07:24 PM
Yaris transponder key: do we ALL get one?? auxmike DIY / Maintenance / Service 10 12-01-2008 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.