Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2017, 09:01 PM   #19
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,723
They should at least tell you if it's the immobilizer or just an issue with the key. Tough part is they overcharge quite a bit to do something that only takes a few clicks on a computer. Albeit a computer program that costs a lot of money
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35, Hawk HPS pads
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 10:47 PM   #20
nate0
 
Drives: 2013 hatchback Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London On
Posts: 18
How much does dealership usually charges to reprogram key? Never done it so just wondering in advance. Or is it better to just order a new key?

What happens if it's the immobiliser itself? It needs to be swab out?
nate0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 02:47 AM   #21
Dodge Aries K
My Yaris is a taxi
 
Drives: 5 Yaris Hatchbacks
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 279
Well, the dealer will have to add a new key if your current key isn't working after the car gets towed in unfortunately. Last I checked here (for a Prius) it was $110 USD to program a new key.

If the immobilizer is bad they'll have to most likely diagnose what part failed (probably the receiver near the ignition) and replace it.
__________________
-Karl the Uber/Lyft Driver
Dodge Aries K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 09:47 AM   #22
nate0
 
Drives: 2013 hatchback Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London On
Posts: 18
I am just wondering if the key had lost programming would the security blinking light keep blinking with the key in the ignition ?

Because when I had the key in the ignition, the security light goes away as it should be but just the car will not stay running.
nate0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 12:07 PM   #23
Dodge Aries K
My Yaris is a taxi
 
Drives: 5 Yaris Hatchbacks
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Machesney Park, IL
Posts: 279
Wow, that's odd. The light should go off with the correct key inserted so that seems to be working right. I'll go check on my car to see if the light stops flashing when you insert a different key into the ignition.
__________________
-Karl the Uber/Lyft Driver
Dodge Aries K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 12:12 PM   #24
nate0
 
Drives: 2013 hatchback Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London On
Posts: 18
I have not try and don't have another car key on hand.

Please check it for me. Thank you
nate0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 12:37 PM   #25
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,723
I'll post in a couple hours what my immo light does.

Mind you it isn't hooked up to my ecu but it should still act the same as the immo controls the light
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35, Hawk HPS pads
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 02:36 PM   #26
nate0
 
Drives: 2013 hatchback Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London On
Posts: 18
Does anyone know how to get the techstream past the registration? V10.30.029
I was able to borrow a Mongoose MFC cable from a mechanic. He lives 2 1/2hr away so I cannot borrow his laptop. So I was able to download v10.30.029 but could not register as the download does not include the driver or activation files and key.
nate0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 03:11 PM   #27
tmontague
2zr-fe dream team
 
tmontague's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vios M/T, 05 4wd Vibe
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hamilton Ont.
Posts: 1,723
I'm not too sure. the one of ordered came with the key I needed.

Keep in mind that the current driver version you downloaded will only work on a 32 bit OS (windows 7 32 bit and older) so if you have it on a newer computer it will not communicate with the car. To get a techstream to work on a 64 bit OS you have to buy a newer one on ebay and the cost goes up a little bit.
__________________
2zr swapped Vios, oil catch can, TRD rear sway bar, MI lowering springs, In cabin+under hood SSK, TRD shift knob, HID projector/Halo lights, 10mm rear axle spacers, custom header back exhaust, Front splitter, Sickspeed dual horns, Tokiko Blue's in rear, triple gauges, Whiteline bushings, Sparco pedal covers, Viper Keyless entry, DC Sports CAI, NST u/d crank pulley, solid poly engine mounts, MR Racing Flywheel, Konig Dial Ins 15x7 +35, Hawk HPS pads
tmontague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 06:48 PM   #28
nate0
 
Drives: 2013 hatchback Yaris
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: London On
Posts: 18
Yeah I have 64bit and having trouble getting the driver install correctly. Tried a few workaround for 64bit but no luck. Will have to use VMware to run an older OS and see how it goes.

I was able to activate the software but it forces me to update if I am connected to the net.
I don't know if your is doing the same? What version do you have?
nate0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting problem on 2008 d4d yaris georgeg General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 15 06-13-2016 10:26 AM
Yaris 2013 engine braking problem? pikador DIY / Maintenance / Service 5 01-05-2014 05:12 AM
2014 Mazda 3 Kal-El Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 32 11-08-2013 01:51 PM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.