Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm)
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 10:55 PM   #1
AutoXBot
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 38
No Sound Rear Speakers Help

I've recently bought a 4 channel amp (Hifonics HFI 55) and tried hooking my Polk Audio db651s speakers to it. Front left/right speakers emit sound okay, but the rear left/right speakers only have a low sounding base coming from them.

My head unit is a Pioneer Avic U310BT. The amp kit I'm using is Monster cable. I have speaker wires running from each speaker to the amp directly. Two RCA cables (one set of two for the front and back, total of four) running from amp to the back of the head unit.

What am I doing wrong? Should I disconnect the speaker wires from the head unit's wiring harness, since they're not connected to the speakers anymore?

I'm also planning on adding a amplified Bazooka tube. I was going to wire this to the rear speaker wires from the head unit, since all four RCA inputs are taken by the amp. I have yet to do this, 'cause I'm trying to get all four speakers to work first.

Please help.
AutoXBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Sounds like LPF (low pass filter) is engaged somewhere: either at the head unit or at the aplifier that "cancells" everything above the cross-over point (usually 40-120 Hz)

Check the crossover panel at your amp .. if no cause is found, check HU settings | correct RCA pair at the HU back

Re hi-level speaker cables from the HU to the speaker - why would you connect them if you have amp? No need to disconnect , but make sure the internal amps of te HU are switched off (if your HU allows it, check seetings) to save power and prevent HU "heating"
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 12:52 PM   #3
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Re extra RCa pair - you could use RCA Y-type splitters which are sold pretty much everywhere

Congrats on your choice of amp and speakers - decent stuff
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 02:23 PM   #4
AutoXBot
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOLMACH View Post
Sounds like LPF (low pass filter) is engaged somewhere: either at the head unit or at the aplifier that "cancells" everything above the cross-over point (usually 40-120 Hz)

Check the crossover panel at your amp .. if no cause is found, check HU settings | correct RCA pair at the HU back

Re hi-level speaker cables from the HU to the speaker - why would you connect them if you have amp? No need to disconnect , but make sure the internal amps of te HU are switched off (if your HU allows it, check seetings) to save power and prevent HU "heating"
Hi thanks for the info/reply. Unfortunately none of it worked. I did however manage to get sound on the rear speakers, but not the way I wanted to.

I basically hooked up only one set of RCA cables to the front L/R inputs of the head unit to the amp, and switched my amplifier from 4 channel mode to 2 channel mode. Now there's full range sound in all four speakers. I'm leaving the other RCA inputs for my amplified Bazooka sub (BTA6100). Can I leave it at this setup, or will it break something?

Thanks for all the help.
AutoXBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 02:37 PM   #5
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Your connection scheme looks OK
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
AutoXBot
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 38
But I really wanted to use the 4 channel mode to drive all four speakers. My current setting is set at 2 channel mode for all four speakers. I guess if it works, it works right?
AutoXBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:07 PM   #7
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
But each speaker is connected to its own channel at the amplifier, right?
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:11 PM   #8
AutoXBot
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOLMACH View Post
But each speaker is connected to its own channel at the amplifier, right?
Yes. But I really wanted to run the amp in 4 channel mode to run all 4 speakers. Instead I have to run the amp in 2 channel mode to have all 4 speakers having full range sound.

This is my setup:

-4 speakers connected directly to 4 channel amp
-One pair of RCA cables connected from amp to back of head unit
-Amp in 2 channel mode.
AutoXBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 03:44 PM   #9
TOLMACH
 
Drives: soarer
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoXBot View Post
Yes. But I really wanted to run the amp in 4 channel mode to run all 4 speakers. Instead I have to run the amp in 2 channel mode to have all 4 speakers having full range sound.

This is my setup:

-4 speakers connected directly to 4 channel amp
-One pair of RCA cables connected from amp to back of head unit
-Amp in 2 channel mode.
http://www.maxxsonics.net/manuals/hi...r%20Manual.pdf

Page 2 explicitly allows what you've done

Everything looks OK. You will use gains (for front ans rear channels) at the amp to adjust levels of front and rear speakers.
TOLMACH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:02 PM   #10
RawrDaddy
 
Drives: 2007
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 61
You would need those two RCA plugs if you got the Bazooka tube btw.

so I may suggest to keep it in the 2-Channel mode if it seems to be working.
..just to keep the installing of the bazooka a little less messy when you get it.
RawrDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 03:41 AM   #11
AutoXBot
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris HB
Join Date: May 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 38
Problem solved - my Pioneer headunit's preout setting was set as "sub" for subwoofer, changed it to "rear" and now all four speakers get full range sound on 4 channel mode in the amp.

Thanks for all the help.
AutoXBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When will the Yaris hit the showrooms at dealers? Petrolhead New YARIS Purchase Forum 181 11-28-2011 08:03 AM
Speakers in rear panels - 3dr BurningSky In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 1 09-07-2010 03:33 AM
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
New Sound System - Sound Issues click.mine In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 11 03-20-2009 03:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.