Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2009, 10:19 PM   #19
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNet0 View Post
well it looks like 4 of us have ordered it in the last few minutes HAHA so one of us should be able to say yay or nay
Yeah I was looking at one of the stalks on eBay and refreshed the page, and it says "This item has been bought using Buy it Now" LOL so one of you guys most likely stole that one away from me haha.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:25 PM   #20
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by jess View Post
I'm hoping it works too!

What else might be pre-wired?

My Y was barebones from the dealership.
fogs are prewired for sure , just need the fog relay and stalk (if you really want to go OEM) otherwise just use the supplied switch. I wouldn't be surprised if ABS is also pre-wired but don't quote me on that lol, not entirely sure.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:40 PM   #21
Kal-El
 
Kal-El's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris S Sedan 5-Speed
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,197
If it's that cheap and easy, why doesn't Toyota just make Cruise standard on the Yaris? We're talking like $15 a Yaris? Seems like the expensive part is already installed (wiring/cruise mechanics).

Kal-El is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 10:43 PM   #22
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal-El View Post
If it's that cheap and easy, why doesn't Toyota just make Cruise standard on the Yaris? We're talking like $15 a Yaris? Seems like the expensive part is already installed (wiring/cruise mechanics).

cause not everyone wants/needs it. and also why ask 15$ if you can ask 500$. anyways right now its 50-50.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:03 PM   #23
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal-El View Post
If it's that cheap and easy, why doesn't Toyota just make Cruise standard on the Yaris? We're talking like $15 a Yaris? Seems like the expensive part is already installed (wiring/cruise mechanics).

And if it doesn't work then we are out $15 bucks, not a big deal.
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:20 PM   #24
kenkyd
kanye
 
Drives: 11 Corolla S
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to kenkyd
oh this is tense
kenkyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:27 PM   #25
Kal-El
 
Kal-El's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris S Sedan 5-Speed
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
cause not everyone wants/needs it. and also why ask 15$ if you can ask 500$. anyways right now its 50-50.
Well, I mean from the factory unless Toyota wants dealers to rip off it's customers? And there's lot's of things included in cars that some people may not use. The point is, is that if every component of cruise control is present except for a $15 stock, it seems wastful not to include it and be an extra selling point for the Yaris - "standard cruise control". It would benefit Toyota.
Kal-El is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 12:25 AM   #26
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 961
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
^ it would certainly benefit Toyota from a sales standpoint, but Toyota is just like any other major business: cost conscious. This is why we have a LOT of hard plastic inside, and why power windows and locks are still an option. The Yaris was meant to be a cheap, fuel efficient car. By that philosophy, it wouldn't make sense for Toyota to put a $98 control stalk (that's the MSRP for this part) in every Yaris. There's millions of Yarii in the world, so it would add up real quick.
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:18 AM   #27
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,715
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
I'm moving this to the DIY forum where it would be more appropriate.

Not to rain on your parade guys, but I have not seen anywhere in the technical manuals that there is any kind of built-in programming/circuitry for cruise control. I may very well be wrong of course
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:27 AM   #28
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by eTiMaGo View Post
I'm moving this to the DIY forum where it would be more appropriate.

Not to rain on your parade guys, but I have not seen anywhere in the technical manuals that there is any kind of built-in programming/circuitry for cruise control. I may very well be wrong of course
Say it isn't so!! lol
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:43 AM   #29
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Taken from the cruise control system manual for an '07 sedan:
Quote:
The
ECM controls the throttle opening angle based on
signals from switches and sensors.
The microcomputer which controls the cruise control
system is built into the ECM, and uses is the throttle
position sensor and motor as the actuator.
Constant speed control gets ready when the cruise
control main switch ON-OFF button is pushed (the
CRUISE MAIN indicator light comes on).
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:51 AM   #30
eTiMaGo
vroom vroom
 
eTiMaGo's Avatar
 
Drives: lil red 5-door
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 7,715
Send a message via AIM to eTiMaGo Send a message via MSN to eTiMaGo Send a message via Yahoo to eTiMaGo Send a message via Skype™ to eTiMaGo
well whaddaya know... like the man with one short leg says after an operation, I stand corrected!
__________________
The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a good deal of rubbish.
- Robert Jackson


Bye bye 1NZ...
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 01:56 AM   #31
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by eTiMaGo View Post
well whaddaya know... like the man with one short leg says after an operation, I stand corrected!
After reading the manual it seems the only thing you need to 'activate' the cruise is the stalk, as it serves as the main 'switch' to tell the ECU to turn cruise on... now, the only problem I see is any yarii who do not have the CRUISE light on the dash (mine doesn't). Not sure how that is going to work? I guess you will just have to make sure you know when it's on or off, lol.

BTW, here is the manual if you want to take a look. It's for a sedan but I'm assuming it will be the same for the hatch.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 10880563.pdf (1.28 MB, 335 views)
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:07 AM   #32
mrbond
 
mrbond's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 meteorite hatchback
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 961
Send a message via AIM to mrbond
Quote:
Originally Posted by eTiMaGo View Post
well whaddaya know... like the man with one short leg says after an operation, I stand corrected!
lol reminds me of Seamus from Family guy.
__________________
- HOOOEY! That's one tahny little cawr! What the heck kinda toy is that?
- A Toyota Yaris
- A whut Yaris?
mrbond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:16 AM   #33
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
Well after reading a bit more, it would seem the ECU has to have the cruise programming in it for it to function. Now I am confused, time for sleep LOL
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 04:46 AM   #34
goku87
 
goku87's Avatar
 
Drives: Black HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AK
Posts: 544
Wow.

If this works I will totally do it.
goku87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:46 AM   #35
Shroomster
'07 to '12:2 wipers to 1?
 
Shroomster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 5-door LE & '14 5-door LE
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 2,047
lol just to let Pk know, you need the abs valve assembly for the abs to work.
__________________
MicroImageonline forums - Shroomster
Xda Forums - Shroomster
Androidforums - Shroomster
I'm noticing a pattern......
Shroomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:50 AM   #36
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by devinlamothe View Post
Well after reading a bit more, it would seem the ECU has to have the cruise programming in it for it to function. Now I am confused, time for sleep LOL
i think it already has the programming into it, just needs the inputs to enable it. well stalks should be arriving soon enough and we will know, i also ordered one so if i get it first ill let you guys know what's what.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - 2009 Cruise Control for $10, without pulling the steering wheel and airbag CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 303 04-03-2017 07:34 PM
DIY Cruise Control on 07-08 Yaris (step by step) Vince87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 424 05-10-2015 04:37 PM
Cruise Control - Again! CB900F2 DIY / Maintenance / Service 47 06-17-2010 06:29 PM
Cruise control vs MPG YarisOwnersDad Fuel Economy Forum 15 05-29-2009 03:55 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.