Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2009, 03:28 PM   #55
Danish Yaris
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris 1,8 TS 5dr. 2007
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 166
Hi

If it works on your Toyota Yarises, does anybody then know if it will be the same for an European model Toyota Yaris?
If I should buy the Cruise Control kit in Denmark the price is about $600 plus install, but itīs a kit with some extra. I know on the Toyota Avensis from 2004 or so untill 2008 you only need the stalk, two screws and two wires.

Regards Steven.
Danish Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:42 PM   #56
devinlamothe
 
devinlamothe's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris HB
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sudbury, Canada
Posts: 521
For the plastic piece ... do you mean where the stalk comes out of? Couldn't you just dremel/drill a hole?
devinlamothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:46 PM   #57
anexrx7
 
Drives: 08 MM HB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 31
Alright guys, I got one for you in the mean time while you're waiting for your parts. Does anyone have a junker switch available? Or any sort of electronic experience? The reason I ask is you could possibly "build" one to experiment. I would jump on it on my car, but I'm only on vacation for 9 more months 7000 miles from my car... Let me know if you guys are interested because I can still help, I do that stuff for a living.
anexrx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 04:03 PM   #58
tk-421
Super Moderator
 
tk-421's Avatar
 
Drives: 5D-07-LB
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: EpVIII film set
Posts: 4,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by anexrx7 View Post
Alright guys, I got one for you in the mean time while you're waiting for your parts. Does anyone have a junker switch available? Or any sort of electronic experience? The reason I ask is you could possibly "build" one to experiment. I would jump on it on my car, but I'm only on vacation for 9 more months 7000 miles from my car... Let me know if you guys are interested because I can still help, I do that stuff for a living.
PK, this has your name written all over it.
__________________
tk-421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 04:33 PM   #59
IllusionX
It's the illusion you see
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan Aero
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 3,467
since this is DBW, im pretty sure toyota has removed one of the units that control the cruise control.

PK, if you have time, could you look at the complete wiring of the cruise control ? does it end at some place where there should be a box, but it isn't there??


also, the last thing i know, that if i got the cruise control from Toyota (back in late 06), i would not have gotten the OEM cruise control system...
IllusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 05:23 PM   #60
Uncle Yaris
 
Drives: 2008 Yaris 5-door
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: White Rock, BC CANADA
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
since this is DBW, im pretty sure toyota has removed one of the units that control the cruise control.

PK, if you have time, could you look at the complete wiring of the cruise control ? does it end at some place where there should be a box, but it isn't there??


also, the last thing i know, that if i got the cruise control from Toyota (back in late 06), i would not have gotten the OEM cruise control system...
I've been wading through the various Toyota PDF documentation that people have posted here. The circuit for the CC seems to be very simple - two wires from the switch, one of which is a ground, go through the spiral cable back of the steering wheel. The "hot" wire goes to the ECM. The only other units involved are the things that should be there already, like brake light switch and throttle control. Unless they have embedded some "gotcha" in the ECM coding, I don't see why this wouldn't work.
Uncle Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:12 PM   #61
firebob
 
Drives: 09 yaris
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: on the road
Posts: 237
Just form the reading that I found all the wiring is there and the ECM dose the rest if you have the switches.
__________________
09, 3 door lift back, auto. I live on the road with my wife. We travel as needed for our work and drive up to 4,500 miles in a bad week.
firebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:15 PM   #62
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllusionX View Post
since this is DBW, im pretty sure toyota has removed one of the units that control the cruise control.

PK, if you have time, could you look at the complete wiring of the cruise control ? does it end at some place where there should be a box, but it isn't there??


also, the last thing i know, that if i got the cruise control from Toyota (back in late 06), i would not have gotten the OEM cruise control system...
from what i saw in both the EWD and the Cruise Control diagram is that everything is there. The stalk enables the inputs of the ECM that in turn tell the ECM cruise control is enabled. Now does it mean that option is always available or does it have to be enabled at the dealer we will know when we get the stalks. The diagram says the ECM already has the programming necessary for cruise control the stalk seems to be missing for a complete circuit.

As for the steering column trim , there is an outline for the placement of the stalk
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:28 PM   #63
MGargano
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
from what i saw in both the EWD and the Cruise Control diagram is that everything is there. The stalk enables the inputs of the ECM that in turn tell the ECM cruise control is enabled. Now does it mean that option is always available or does it have to be enabled at the dealer we will know when we get the stalks. The diagram says the ECM already has the programming necessary for cruise control the stalk seems to be missing for a complete circuit.

As for the steering column trim , there is an outline for the placement of the stalk
Should this work for the 5-speed and auto trans. alike? Or would the 5-speed require something else?
MGargano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:32 PM   #64
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGargano View Post
Should this work for the 5-speed and auto trans. alike? Or would the 5-speed require something else?
the 5 speed uses the clutch switch and brake switch while the auto uses the gear position sensor and brake switch.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:40 PM   #65
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,667
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
the 5 speed uses the clutch switch and brake switch while the auto uses the gear position sensor and brake switch.
ooh, that may be a problem, haha, I crimped off my clutch switch for the remote starter, maybe I can make a bypass switch instead of leaving it crimped off
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:42 PM   #66
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNet0 View Post
ooh, that may be a problem, haha, I crimped off my clutch switch for the remote starter, maybe I can make a bypass switch instead of leaving it crimped off
cant help you there i have no clue how your remote starter is connected sorry
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:46 PM   #67
MGargano
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
the 5 speed uses the clutch switch and brake switch while the auto uses the gear position sensor and brake switch.
Does this mean, if all goes according to plan, that I'll need something other than the eBay stalk to make this work? This is assuming, of course, that the eBay stalk does what we all hope it will.
MGargano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:51 PM   #68
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGargano View Post
Does this mean, if all goes according to plan, that I'll need something other than the eBay stalk to make this work? This is assuming, of course, that the eBay stalk does what we all hope it will.
if you drive a 5spd, you have the switch already its the same switch that prohibits you from turning on the car without pressing the clutch. the brake switch is the one that turns on your brake lights. so we should have all we need.
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:53 PM   #69
MGargano
 
Drives: 2009 Yaris Hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 792
ok thanks. Fingers crossed that this goes as planned!
MGargano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:54 PM   #70
AlexNet0
 
AlexNet0's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 Yaris 3dr
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rockland, ME
Posts: 1,667
Send a message via AIM to AlexNet0 Send a message via MSN to AlexNet0 Send a message via Yahoo to AlexNet0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PK198105 View Post
cant help you there i have no clue how your remote starter is connected sorry
I was just thinking out loud. I basically removed the clutch switch and the starter is permanantly enabled, not just when the clutch pedal is pressed. When i do this, if it works, I will have to install another switch.
__________________
----------
----------
AlexNet0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 09:03 PM   #71
PK198105
Super Moderator
 
PK198105's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Blazing Blue
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNet0 View Post
I was just thinking out loud. I basically removed the clutch switch and the starter is permanantly enabled, not just when the clutch pedal is pressed. When i do this, if it works, I will have to install another switch.
i guess you would have to do a double enable on the cruise control, one to enable the switch and one to turn on the cruise control
PK198105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 01:41 PM   #72
enobmort42
First time DIYer
 
enobmort42's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 LB Polar White
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 440
Send a message via AIM to enobmort42
...because i hate waiting for shipping, i stopped into the dealer to see the cost on this. $125 for the stalk, and if needed, either $44 or $16 for the jumper. then again, this isn't a tacoma; do we need it?

and the moral of the story: wait for the shipping!
__________________
LED tails - debadged - 17" wheels - LED door handles - Painted Headlights - 30/35% tint - Blue LED Interior - DIY Cruise Control - Python 460HP Alarm - DIY Power Locks - K&N CAI - Lowering Springs
enobmort42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - 2009 Cruise Control for $10, without pulling the steering wheel and airbag CTScott DIY / Maintenance / Service 303 04-03-2017 07:34 PM
DIY Cruise Control on 07-08 Yaris (step by step) Vince87 DIY / Maintenance / Service 424 05-10-2015 04:37 PM
Cruise Control - Again! CB900F2 DIY / Maintenance / Service 47 06-17-2010 06:29 PM
Cruise control vs MPG YarisOwnersDad Fuel Economy Forum 15 05-29-2009 03:55 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.