Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 01:58 PM   #55
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnum23 View Post
Update:

I did the wiring, but the cruise control icon is not showing up in the cluster, but I did what you told before, to measure the volt, and now is getting the 12 volt, and when I press the On/Off bottom on the stalk the volt drop to 0.1
Now that you are seeing the correct voltage, have you tried it on the road to see if it works (even though the cluster doesn't light)? If that works, then check the part number on the back of your cluster.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 02:58 PM   #56
magnum23
 
Drives: Blue,Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aguadilla,Puerto Rico
Posts: 42
Ok, I did a road test and is working, but for some reason is not showing it on the cluster, and it have the light for it, the cluster part number is 83800-52S10
157540-8052

Thanks in advance.
magnum23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:56 PM   #57
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnum23 View Post
Ok, I did a road test and is working, but for some reason is not showing it on the cluster, and it have the light for it, the cluster part number is 83800-52S10
157540-8052

Thanks in advance.
OK - 83800-52S10 is listed as being "Puerto Rico Spec". That must mean that for whatever reason the CC indicators are not active. Since your ECM fully supports CC, it sends the messages over CAN bus to the cluster, but your cluster just ignores them. You could pick up a US spec cluster off Ebay and then you'd have the working indicator.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 04:54 PM   #58
magnum23
 
Drives: Blue,Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aguadilla,Puerto Rico
Posts: 42
Ok, I think I will leave it without the CC indicator because changing the cluster implies problems with the warranty, unless I program the current mileage on the new cluster, I dont know why the ECM support CC and something as simple as the cluster, and having the light indicator don't. If somebody find a way to activate that option I will be glad to try it.

CtScott I'm real thankful to you for all your help, and everybody in this excellent Forum.
I will be around trying some different projects and mods from here.
magnum23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:19 PM   #59
magnum23
 
Drives: Blue,Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aguadilla,Puerto Rico
Posts: 42
I dont now it thats just it, but I opened up the cluster and it doesnt have any Led soldered in the cruise and set indicators and also in the Abs indicator, If I solder an Led on the board, should it Do the work? If yes where I can pick up a small led or light to test it?

Thanks in advance.

Update:
I found a post where a member mod the led of the cluster, I will be ordering the leds from ther to see if its works.

Last edited by magnum23; 10-15-2010 at 05:34 PM.
magnum23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 10:23 PM   #60
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
That's actually my cruise control indicator module:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=67
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 01:38 PM   #61
magnum23
 
Drives: Blue,Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aguadilla,Puerto Rico
Posts: 42
I have another question? I did the wiring (blue wire) directly from the computer to the stalk, even when the stock wire goes from the stalk, somewhere else, does that have something to do with the CC signal don't reaching the cluster? I'm just assuming that maybe is an extra wire in the cluster to get the signal that mine doesn't have.
magnum23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:55 PM   #62
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnum23 View Post
I have another question? I did the wiring (blue wire) directly from the computer to the stalk, even when the stock wire goes from the stalk, somewhere else, does that have something to do with the CC signal don't reaching the cluster? I'm just assuming that maybe is an extra wire in the cluster to get the signal that mine doesn't have.
The CC signal is sent via CAN bus message, so there's nothing wiring related to activate it. We've seen this kind of thing quite a bit, where clusters have a capability, but in a particular area of the world it's not active. Unfortunately, there's no practical way to activate the non-active features.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:40 PM   #63
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Question

Hey CTScott, can you take a look at this for me? Since Toyota Canada is "recommending" the Rostra CC units be removed for a full refund, I think I'd like to take the opportunity to install the OEM CC unit.

Here is a list of the parts I've compiled which I should need. It's for a Canadian 2008 AT.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...thkey=CN6w_OoF

Before I go ahead and order I'd like to make sure I'm ordering the right stuff!

Cheers
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:48 PM   #64
Shinare
Bronze bombshell yaris
 
Shinare's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Yaris HB 3door
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
... Toyota Canada is "recommending" the Rostra CC units be removed for a full refund...
Yikes, thats the kind of CC I have in my yaris from the dealership. Any reason its not good to have?
Shinare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:55 PM   #65
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
Hey CTScott, can you take a look at this for me? Since Toyota Canada is "recommending" the Rostra CC units be removed for a full refund, I think I'd like to take the opportunity to install the OEM CC unit.

Here is a list of the parts I've compiled which I should need. It's for a Canadian 2008 AT.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...thkey=CN6w_OoF

Before I go ahead and order I'd like to make sure I'm ordering the right stuff!

Cheers
That's it. By the way, within about a week I will have the ECM and Connector D3 pins for sale for less that half of that.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:27 PM   #66
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
That's it. By the way, within about a week I will have the ECM and Connector D3 pins for sale for less that half of that.
Awesome!! I'll have to contact you for them soon. I'm going to get the dealership to remove the Rostra unit at my next scheduled maintenance appt, in a month or two. I'll order what I need after that.
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:06 PM   #67
magnum23
 
Drives: Blue,Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aguadilla,Puerto Rico
Posts: 42
That's good to know, Scott as soon as you have the ECM repair terminals Im interested in one.
Thanks in advance.
magnum23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:48 PM   #68
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Sorry to be spamming up this thread, but has anybody done a DIY guide for the OEM stalk on a 07-08 Yaris?
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:17 PM   #69
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
Sorry to be spamming up this thread, but has anybody done a DIY guide for the OEM stalk on a 07-08 Yaris?
There's not a complete one for 07-08 with the OEM stalk, but it's basically a combination of the 07-08 with the switch method and the 09 with the OEM stalk.

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...ght=cruise+faq
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 11:32 AM   #70
tunnelpat
 
Drives: 07 yaris sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Highland falls ny
Posts: 2
I installed mine today..it was easy..bought the stalk from ebay for 19.99, the wireing harness and two screws from Toyota for 40.00. Whole thing cost me 70 bucks. :)
tunnelpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:19 AM   #71
MullDoon
I've made a post!
 
Drives: 2010 sedan
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1
installed cruise in my 2010 yaris works great.total cost $14 had to buy 100ft of wire thats all radio shack had.total time of install 1hr with going to store very simple. glad i did some looking around before paying $399 for rostra install. I have 1000 mi on car couldn't do my commute without cruise. thanks
MullDoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 03:26 PM   #72
ibanezjeepguy
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Posts: 53
do I need to order this for my 2010 w/ power package.

Toyota OEM Cruise Control Stalk Wire (Required to connect the stalk to the spiral cable, within the steering wheel): 84633-42030

I got the stalk & cover w/ hole in UPS today but no wiring came with the stalk as it does from the dealer.
ibanezjeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.