Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2010, 03:28 PM   #73
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezjeepguy View Post
do I need to order this for my 2010 w/ power package.

Toyota OEM Cruise Control Stalk Wire (Required to connect the stalk to the spiral cable, within the steering wheel): 84633-42030

I got the stalk & cover w/ hole in UPS today but no wiring came with the stalk as it does from the dealer.
Yes. The stalk and the wire are separate parts from the dealer.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 11:39 PM   #74
ibanezjeepguy
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Posts: 53
forgot to ask, anyone know what size the bolts/screws are that hold the OEM CC Stalk to the car, I think I read it was M5 somewhere ?
ibanezjeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 12:06 AM   #75
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezjeepguy View Post
forgot to ask, anyone know what size the bolts/screws are that hold the OEM CC Stalk to the car, I think I read it was M5 somewhere ?
M5 x 0.8
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 12:32 AM   #76
ibanezjeepguy
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Posts: 53
thats great, I had some of these screws laying around from replacing x-clamps on xbox 360. installed the switch and sw back cover tonight, very quick install, if it weren't so dark it probably would've taken half the time!
just a note to future installers, I could not bare fist grip a torx screwdriver to get the airbag screws out. they were in there tight! I had to get my t30 socket on a 1/4" wrench to loosen them. taking off the steering wheel was a breeze, 19mm socket on the nut, held the sw with my legs while yanking the socket wrench did it. did not need a puller like other installers have noted the steering wheel pulled off the shaft effortlessly. removed the ground wire and replaced w/ the wire from the kit I ordered.
done deal. thanks for all the great write-ups
ibanezjeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:16 AM   #77
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
Ok I have my OEM stalk mounted but do not have the necessary cables hooked up to actually make it work yet.

Is there anyone out there who has done this on an 06-08 that can help me out?

I have the ECM repair terminal and spiral connector repair terminals (thanks scott!). The only part I've figured out is where to connect the spiral connector terminals on the connector D3. I don't know where these connect to on the other end, nor where I use the ECM repair terminal.

I've been using Vince87's DIY guide guide for this part, but unfortunately I really don't know what I'm doing when I get past the plug & play connectors!
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:34 AM   #78
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
Ok I have my OEM stalk mounted but do not have the necessary cables hooked up to actually make it work yet.

Is there anyone out there who has done this on an 06-08 that can help me out?

I have the ECM repair terminal and spiral connector repair terminals (thanks scott!). The only part I've figured out is where to connect the spiral connector terminals on the connector D3. I don't know where these connect to on the other end, nor where I use the ECM repair terminal.

I've been using Vince87's DIY guide guide for this part, but unfortunately I really don't know what I'm doing when I get past the plug & play connectors!


This should help with installing the ECM Pin:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...hlight=ecm+pin
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 11:04 AM   #79
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
That's one more piece of the puzzle... Unfortunately I still don't know where the terminals from D3 connect go to, nor where the ECM connector connects from..

I will definitely be compiling this into a guide when this is done.
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:27 PM   #80
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy View Post
That's one more piece of the puzzle... Unfortunately I still don't know where the terminals from D3 connect go to, nor where the ECM connector connects from..

I will definitely be compiling this into a guide when this is done.


OK - The ECM pin goes into position A21-pin 40, per the link above. The wire from there connects to pin 1 of D3 (where the blue wire is in the picture below). The second D3 pin goes where the brown wire is in pin 2 of D3. That wire simply gets tied to a chassis ground point (and bolt going into steel under the dash).




On the other side of D3 is the spiral cable (or clockspring as some call it). That is the wiring that goes into the steering wheel. The plug and play connector from the stalk connects the stalk to the two pins above in D3.

The final piece of the puzzle is the horn wire. The existing horn wire has to be moved into the new spiral cable connector in the same position that it was in in its existing connector.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:28 PM   #81
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
By the way, D3 is the white connector at the bottom left.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 04:57 PM   #82
teddy
 
Drives: 2008 5-door hatchback
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 137
Send a message via MSN to teddy
I think I've got the steering wheel part done right, happy to be corrected.
Sorry about the quality of these pics, I got out to the car and found out the battery in my camera was dead.

D3 was the only part I was able to find, the rest I will find later when I've got my step dad with me. Much easier to do this with a second set of hands when I'm not feeling terribly confident.... and he is an electrical technician of sorts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1228101535b.jpg (233.7 KB, 529 views)
File Type: jpg 1228101535a.jpg (194.3 KB, 528 views)
__________________
teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:11 PM   #83
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Steering wheel connections look good.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 09:07 PM   #84
CB900F2
 
Drives: 08 Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 262
Scott..

I have the 2008 CND Sedan, and as we all know, the instrument cluster that came with the CND 2008 sedan doesnt have the Cruse indicator.

From your EPC, is there any information to which indicates a part# and possible year series of a cluster that has the cruise indicator and the same in all other features to the the one that came with the car?..

I am trying too see what options I may have in trying to get a CND cluster with the indicator

Thanks Scott!
CB900F2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:28 PM   #85
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by CB900F2 View Post
Scott..

I have the 2008 CND Sedan, and as we all know, the instrument cluster that came with the CND 2008 sedan doesnt have the Cruse indicator.

From your EPC, is there any information to which indicates a part# and possible year series of a cluster that has the cruise indicator and the same in all other features to the the one that came with the car?..

I am trying too see what options I may have in trying to get a CND cluster with the indicator

Thanks Scott!
The EPC doesn't give the details on which cluster includes the indicator, but if you can find the VIN for a Yaris with one I can do a reverse lookup to figure out the part number(s).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 04:47 PM   #86
frankmontreal
 
Drives: 2006 canadian 3 door hatchback
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal
Posts: 6
hi! same as teddy 06 canadian yaris, called the junk yard they got the stick with cable for 30$, so from what i understand the rest of the stuff from you scott?
frankmontreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 05:07 PM   #87
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmontreal View Post
hi! same as teddy 06 canadian yaris, called the junk yard they got the stick with cable for 30$, so from what i understand the rest of the stuff from you scott?
Nice price on the stalk with wire.

I do have the pins that you'll need to complete the stalk wiring. Here's the link to my thread, which has pictures of the pins, but you need the three pins (ECM connector pin and two pins for connector D3) to wire up your stalk:

http://www.yarisworld.com/forums/sho...ht=cruise+pins
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:52 AM   #88
bairjo
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 522
Stalk 84632-34011 on ebay today for 19.95. 10 available. Do your search by typing yaris cruise control. If you type the part number it will not show up.
bairjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 10:39 AM   #89
ibanezjeepguy
 
Drives: 2010 Meteorite Liftback
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Posts: 53
haha, 15 to 30 days shipping..... I guess its worth the wait ?
I just scored a nice factory stereo off ebay recently, good find as well
ibanezjeepguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 11:56 AM   #90
bairjo
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 522
It's worth the wait for me as I am in the process of breaking in my new yaris. I'm trying to vary the speed during my 30 mile commute each way. Not a bad little break in drive each day. I have read that setting your speed with cruise and forgetting about during break in is the worst thing to do. So I can wait....
bairjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
Cruise Control chessclubloser DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 03-27-2010 11:59 AM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
Using Cruise control Driver General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 14 11-09-2006 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.