Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 01:51 PM   #73
PROX4x4
1.5 or 2.5 both=0-60 in 8
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Yaris
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 89
Send a message via Skype™ to PROX4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
No. Jumping 3 to 4 turns the fog lights on.

The LED needs to be connected to the illumination circuit. If you connect it to the fog light switching circuit, the LED will remain on all the time (even when the ignition is off). If you look at the attached document, which I recently put together for the MI fog light kit, it shows where to connect the LED to the connector for the lighting for the AT shift lever (the feed is present on both AT and MT cars). The green wire is + and the white is -. By using this feed for the LED, it will only light when the headlight switch is on and will dim with the other interior lights when you adjust the dimmer rheostat.
Thanks! now that makes sense, I don't know why those manuals from after market foglights call for splitting pin#3 and switching the two pieces while the other end is open?.
Can i get the illumination power from under the dash? as I am planing on installing the switch where you have installed yours.
__________________
PROX4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:18 PM   #74
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by PROX4x4 View Post
Thanks! now that makes sense, I don't know why those manuals from after market foglights call for splitting pin#3 and switching the two pieces while the other end is open?.
Can i get the illumination power from under the dash? as I am planing on installing the switch where you have installed yours.
For the LED power, under the dash you can use the dimmer rheostat connector. The light green wire is - and the brown wire is +.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:10 AM   #75
TRD_Yaris
Yarii Hunter
 
TRD_Yaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback and S13's
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 435
Thanks for all the great info and help, CTScott!!! I've been reading through this thread trying to decide which route I want to go, and you've saved me a bunch of questions and time.
__________________
Thanks for all the help over the years, YarisWorld!!!
TRD_Yaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 01:34 PM   #76
bambam28
 
Drives: Yaris Hatchback 2012 SE
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 79
can someone tell me the part number for the OEM fog light switch? thanks!
bambam28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:54 PM   #77
angelo6334
 
Drives: toyota yaris
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
Posts: 2
Hi Im looking for the foglights to install on yaris. 2008 sedan 4 doors. Anyone knows where I can buy buy that kit thanks in advance
angelo6334 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 08:17 PM   #78
auxmike
 
auxmike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 HB, A/T, Power W/L/M
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: LI, New Yawk
Posts: 2,070
Check with Garm from Micro Image. He sells all kinds of Yaris extras.
__________________

Never take eyes off opponent - Bruce Lee
auxmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 08:07 PM   #79
angelo6334
 
Drives: toyota yaris
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: maryland
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply. I will check!!!
angelo6334 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:09 AM   #80
fred_r34
 
Drives: toyota yaris '08 liftback
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: hawthorne ca
Posts: 3
Hi to everyone. I purchased a Spyder OEM style foglights... I'm planning to do an install and i want to know where to connect the 12v switch wire... any suggestions on where can i tap from inside the cabin... I'm just going to connect the main power to the battery, fuse it using a separate atp fuseholder. My kit came with a relay and a separate on/off switch.

Any comments, suggestions and pics that can serve as a guide would be very much appreciated.
fred_r34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:30 AM   #81
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
IMG_5486.JPG

IMG_5487.JPG

IMG_5493.JPG

IMG_5494.JPG

Hi Guyz....Sry for digging up an old post but I need some help here....

Need some insight on installing the Esuse Fog Lamp...

Ive put the blue and green wire to the yellow and white wire....it does trigger the relay when my parking light is also on.

then the green and black to the green wire (at the AT shifter) and to the ground...

im having trouble at the A24 connector since pin 1 & 2 have already been used... i've tried the other pins and nothing seems to work...

what am I doing wrong? since my lights arent working
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #82
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeen View Post
Hi Guyz....Sry for digging up an old post but I need some help here....

Need some insight on installing the Esuse Fog Lamp...

Ive put the blue and green wire to the yellow and white wire....it does trigger the relay when my parking light is also on.

then the green and black to the green wire (at the AT shifter) and to the ground...

im having trouble at the A24 connector since pin 1 & 2 have already been used... i've tried the other pins and nothing seems to work...

what am I doing wrong? since my lights arent working

Is your Yaris a Japanese market or European market one? If you can PM me the VIN, I can check more of the details on how fogs would get installed on your car.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:38 AM   #83
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
mine is from the thailand factory....asian market.....it's a vios.....thanx for the quick reply
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:08 AM   #84
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
pm'ed u already....thnx CTscott
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:22 AM   #85
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
OK - Got your VIN. Your car is considered a "General" area car.

From what I see there should be another connector next to the one with the green wires that is a two row connector with 12 pins. That connector would be the one where pin 1 and 2 are the fog light pins. It may be a case where the cars which come with fog lights have that connector in the harness and those that don't do not.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:25 AM   #86
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
IMG_5488.JPG

here's a car with fog lights in my area...the trd sportivo version....see the difference..?

so IYO, do u think my DIY can be salvaged?
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:29 AM   #87
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
IMG_5491.JPG

heres a full picture of the fuse block for the version with fog lights
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:42 AM   #88
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
I think you will need to run the feed for the lights through the firewall.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:00 AM   #89
adeen
 
Drives: 08 Toyota Vios
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: kuala lumpur
Posts: 11
behind the relay in the cabin theres one yellow wire, two purple wires separately and two red wires in one socket...if i locate the red wire and connect the red wire from the fog light, would that suffice? i just want the fog light indicator to light up as it should
adeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:28 AM   #90
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeen View Post
behind the relay in the cabin theres one yellow wire, two purple wires separately and two red wires in one socket...if i locate the red wire and connect the red wire from the fog light, would that suffice? i just want the fog light indicator to light up as it should

Using that red wire would be fine.

I actually recommend following the DIY in the link below, which I created for Micro Image instead, as the one in this thread leaves the switching and illumination circuits bridged, which results in the light on the switch being illuminated, even when the car is off.

http://microimageonline.com/forums/s...n-Instructions
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fog light install 07yaris_fe Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 10 07-20-2010 01:18 PM
Looking for the Toyota Fog Light install RocknRollRon DIY / Maintenance / Service 33 06-13-2010 06:46 PM
DIY:Day time running light Disabled with stock fog light remain function summergxz DIY / Maintenance / Service 12 09-26-2007 10:42 AM
Before I start calling around: fog light install prices St_G Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 4 03-17-2007 09:45 AM
Finally installed oem ebay fog light for hatchback Adriaan General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 6 12-27-2006 05:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.