Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2014, 11:23 PM   #19
428CobraJet
 
Drives: '09 Yaris 3dr, 13 F150rcsb 5.0
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: downtown Houston
Posts: 259
Imho...a rear sway bar decreases a car's directional stability (making it more nimble). This one seems to increase the stability. Turn in seems unaffected (well...it leans less...i guess you could say its better).
__________________
You are what you drive.

Last edited by 428CobraJet; 08-22-2014 at 11:33 PM.
428CobraJet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 11:34 PM   #20
428CobraJet
 
Drives: '09 Yaris 3dr, 13 F150rcsb 5.0
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: downtown Houston
Posts: 259
http://stores.revolutionparts.com/to...lineparts.com/
They were the cheapest i found in April. Liked it so well i bought one for my brother's 09 3dr as well.

http://www.toyotaonlineparts.com/oe-toyota/ptr1152071

Do a search on this forum. There is much info on how big an improvement there is. Great thing about this forum! And looks like the new SE is coming with it (if i read correctly).
__________________
You are what you drive.

Last edited by 428CobraJet; 08-22-2014 at 11:45 PM.
428CobraJet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 09:36 AM   #21
aspro
 
Drives: 2011 Yaris RS 5 door 5 spd
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 449
I've driven my yaris flat out (182 km/h) many times for quite some time and she ran smooth and sturdy every time I've done it. I also usually have the car on the highway between 130-140 km/h and it seems as if the yaris prefers to run at that speed. I also beat her up at the track ringing the motor out at the top of the power band for hours and it just keeps going. The car actually runs a lot smoother after a day at the track.

For reference, I do really maintain the motor. Always checking oil levels and Always synthetic with OEM Toyota filter and always change it at 5000km's. A bit overkill but I'd rather spend a little money now than a lot of money later on.
aspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 12:16 PM   #22
bronsin
 
bronsin's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Base Hatch 2 Dr Auto
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyYaris View Post
Hello I have a 2009 yaris 1.5 5speed manual.. I travel a lot between Phoenix and San Diego and I usually drive about 85-90 mph.. I notice the engine is roudy at this speed.. is it ok for the yaris to travel at these speeds or does it stress the engine?

Thanks in Advance!

Not a problem. I rode my Honda ST1100 motorcycle for 109,000 miles at those speeds and higher on cross country trips and the rpms were like 5000. The motorcycle has over 200,000 miles on it now under the current owner.

Engine block has never been touched.

At those temperatures and speeds I would NOT be running 0w-20 oil in it stick with the 5w-30. Or 10w-30. Your oil pressure will thank you!
__________________
Synthetic Oil: Its All In Your Head
bronsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 01:43 PM   #23
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyYaris View Post
Considering that it's a 5 hour drive of constant high rpm... No good..
I've driven the 80 MPH limit section of Interstate 10 that stretches from the El Paso County/Hidalgo County line (about 30 miles East of downtown El Paso) to a bit West of Boerne (along the western edge of the San Antonio Metro) going east and the opposite going west quite a few times (at the limit....or the flow of traffic .Over 5 hours either way IIRC) in my 2007 Yaris....and the engine still seems normal at 294,003 miles.
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:17 PM   #24
Kar98
 
Drives: 2011 Scion tC
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: DFW
Posts: 651
Man... I must be getting old. At 92 mph is where I chicken out because then the car becomes too unstable and bounce for my taste. Other cars of similar size, I had no problem going 100, 110. (VW Scirocco and Rabbit GTI)
Kar98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 11:33 PM   #25
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kar98 View Post
Man... I must be getting old. At 92 mph is where I chicken out because then the car becomes too unstable and bounce for my taste. Other cars of similar size, I had no problem going 100, 110. (VW Scirocco and Rabbit GTI)
I haven't hit 92 in my 2007. My 2014 feels so taut, if it was legal, I'd take it to the maximum speed it could manage. I've taken a Scirocco to the equivalent of 100 and a Rabbit GTI to close to the equivalent of 110 MPH, and another car to the equivalent of 140+ MPH. Not saying which country hosted my driving at those speeds . I share your sentiment above re not driving at 'top speed', but I think it is because I look at life differently, not re a lack of nerve, etc.

P.S. - differently meaning different than I used to (not in relation to anyone else)

Last edited by nookandcrannycar; 08-24-2014 at 09:02 PM. Reason: added P.S.
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 02:15 PM   #26
KorJax
 
Drives: None
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 25
I think it should be fine.

Assuming cars are like video cards, you can run them at near max load (in video card terms: load = temperature) because they are designed to not fall apart until beyond that point. But you just might not get the most efficient results (bad MPG's) if you do it and you might limit the lifespan if your other factors aren't up to par - i.e. if you have problems with cooling, oil, etc it would be extra bad if done at those speeds.
KorJax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 02:43 PM   #27
Kal-El
 
Kal-El's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 Yaris S Sedan 5-Speed
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,197
Not a problem. This motor is bullet proof.

When it comes to high speeds in the Yaris, the more important thing is to have a wheel and tire upgrade from the puny stock setup. The narrow stock rubber can be a bit unsettling. Wider, lower profile tires make a huge handling difference.
Kal-El is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 09:04 PM   #28
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal-El View Post
This motor is bullet proof.
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 09:06 PM   #29
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing
 
fnkngrv's Avatar
 
Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In The Hotbox
Posts: 4,770
well, not totally bulletproof...lol
__________________
Team Tiamat Racing on Facebook


Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing


Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 09:14 PM   #30
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by fnkngrv View Post
well, not totally bulletproof...lol
Not when it comes to racing or other like pursuits, but you know what he meant .
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 04:30 PM   #31
SpeedyYaris
 
SpeedyYaris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 3door 5-speed Manual
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Diego Ca
Posts: 20
This weekend i did make the trip and no problems Lol i just worry to much is all i guess... I did get it to 115 tho It felt like it could go faster but I let off.. Now makes me wonder what its top speed really is... The funny thing is it felt stable at 115... Or i was just too tense to think about it and was just trying to focus on the road !

I Noticed one problem though... I hit an area with high crosswinds and lets just say i was miserable for about an hour of the drive lol
SpeedyYaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 05:59 PM   #32
aspro
 
Drives: 2011 Yaris RS 5 door 5 spd
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 449
Mine topped out at 182 km/h
__________________

TRD sway bar, h&r coilovers, tanabe strut tower bar, konig feather, bfg sport comp 2, MI intake manifold, aem cai, dc header, trd catback, MI crank pulley, trd short shift kit, phillips hid kit, morimoto led fogs, parrot navi indash, alpine 6.5 speakers, alpine amp, alpine reverse camera, led interior lights, thule roof racks, netz badges...
aspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:15 PM   #33
nookandcrannycar
 
Drives: 2('14+'07)MT 3d ,wHandCrWndws!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: S.MontgomeryCnty,TX(HoustonMSA) '07=BayouBlue=300,125miles=OrigOwnr '14=ClassicSilvr=29,059miles
Posts: 4,854
https://autos.yahoo.com/news/speedie...231406153.html
nookandcrannycar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:18 PM   #34
billyadm1706
 
Drives: Toyota Yaris Hatch '11 5-door
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 12
are you sure it's your engine sound? it could be your tire's sound..
as long as your engine does not produce rattling sound, you're good to go
billyadm1706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:52 PM   #35
fnkngrv
Mr. 155 and climbing
 
fnkngrv's Avatar
 
Drives: Seriously Modded 07 Sedan
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In The Hotbox
Posts: 4,770
ecu limits the car to 118. at that point you will hit a fuel cutoff which leans the afr out to 18. This is not something that should be played around with as it will cause premature wear on the engine. as for top speed I know that I haven't maxed out the c50 trans yet and I hit 154.5mph officially in a mile and a half. I have hit mid 160s on the dyno. Still making adjustments and would really live to see what the c50 maxes out at before a rebuild. the car at least with my suspension setup feels fine at 150-155.
__________________
Team Tiamat Racing on Facebook


Youtube Channel: Team Tiamat Racing


Class record holder in Land Speed @ 154.5mph for 1.5 mile and 145.5mph in the mile in the F (2.016 to 3.014 L), G (1.524 to 2.015 L), and H (1.016 to 1.523 L) classes.
fnkngrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 05:46 PM   #36
brg88tx
 
Drives: 07 Yaris Sedan, Auto
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 326
I've had mine on cruise at 82 mph for 5 hours straight several times with no problem.
brg88tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high speed, highway, toyota yaris

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage regulator and Amperage question... cr.chango DIY / Maintenance / Service 13 11-24-2009 01:59 PM
ctrl-alt-delete question & free anti-virus question Shroomster Off-topic / Other Cars / Everything else Discussions 19 09-08-2009 03:57 AM
Retrofit Question ChinoCharles Cosmetic Modifications (Exterior/Interior) 19 05-13-2009 06:20 PM
Amplifier Watt Question....noob question hasher22 In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 4 09-27-2007 03:59 PM
catalytic converter question SamDaYarisMan Performance Modifications 14 09-08-2006 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.