Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Second Generation Toyota Yaris Main Rooms > General Yaris / Vitz Discussion
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2006, 11:29 AM   #1
Thirty-Nine
Small cars are a big deal
 
Thirty-Nine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,086
Send a message via AIM to Thirty-Nine
US Yaris: Adding a tach?

The fact that the US-spec Yaris isn't available with a tach makes me want to pound my head into my desk and say, "What the heck were you thinking?"

However, knowing this won't solve anything, are there options for installing a tach? What about swapping the gauge cluster from the sedan?

Does anyone have any ideas?

(Hopefully the 2008s will come with a tach, at least as an option)
Thirty-Nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 11:37 AM   #2
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Actually, the Power Package Lifback Yarii I've seen in the Toyota system indicate they're coming with a Tach. Whether they actually will or not remains to be seen since there's a lot of contradictions on what the Toyota website says is supposed be in each package and what's on the shipping lists.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
DJ_SpaRky
Resident Scion Guy
 
DJ_SpaRky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Mazda3 S Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Groveland, FL (Near Orlando)
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
Actually, the Power Package Lifback Yarii I've seen in the Toyota system indicate they're coming with a Tach. Whether they actually will or not remains to be seen since there's a lot of contradictions on what the Toyota website says is supposed be in each package and what's on the shipping lists.
ORLY? I might have to splurge.
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
DJ_SpaRky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 02:51 PM   #4
jdgriswald
5-Door Envy
 
jdgriswald's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Scion xD
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
Actually, the Power Package Lifback Yarii I've seen in the Toyota system indicate they're coming with a Tach. Whether they actually will or not remains to be seen since there's a lot of contradictions on what the Toyota website says is supposed be in each package and what's on the shipping lists.
There will be no tach available according to Toyota customer service. The build your Toyota site is real general, and to this point still pretty screwed up.
jdgriswald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:06 PM   #5
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
I was referring to the site you can go to and actually look at the vehicles that Toyota currently has in the system shipping to the US...

http://www.buyatoyota.com/

The tach is indicated on there for the PP Liftbacks. It may well be a mistake, we'll have to see. When I called my dealer they said that the equipment listing on there should be accurate since it's coming directly from the horse's mouth, but I remain skeptical.

EDIT: For what it's worth, the interior photos of the PP Liftback don't show a tach, so, again... I think it's probably a mistake, but it remains to be seen.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:21 PM   #6
why?
Only Happy When it Rains
 
why?'s Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: harnett county NC
Posts: 4,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
Actually, the Power Package Lifback Yarii I've seen in the Toyota system indicate they're coming with a Tach. Whether they actually will or not remains to be seen since there's a lot of contradictions on what the Toyota website says is supposed be in each package and what's on the shipping lists.
Where can you check what they are getting in?

My salesperson is being a pain in the ass, and I'd love to see this info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
I was referring to the site you can go to and actually look at the vehicles that Toyota currently has in the system shipping to the US...

http://www.buyatoyota.com/

The tach is indicated on there for the PP Liftbacks. It may well be a mistake, we'll have to see. When I called my dealer they said that the equipment listing on there should be accurate since it's coming directly from the horse's mouth, but I remain skeptical.

EDIT: For what it's worth, the interior photos of the PP Liftback don't show a tach, so, again... I think it's probably a mistake, but it remains to be seen.
LOL, I missed this, how do you do it?

I go to that address and just get the silly price quote.
why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:36 PM   #7
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Well, unfortunately it looks like the systems are different across the US. If I put in "27540" for my ZipCode I can look at unclaimed stock for the SouthEast United States. You may not be able to search in your area.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:38 PM   #8
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
To clarify, this isn't all the stock your dealer is getting in. For instance, if you look at 27540 and Fred Anderson in Raleigh, you're not going to see my Yaris since I've already put a down payment on it. As I understand it, this will only tell you cars that are still available.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:38 PM   #9
why?
Only Happy When it Rains
 
why?'s Avatar
 
Drives: Yaris LB
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: harnett county NC
Posts: 4,129
Ah yes, SE Toyota is actually wholly owned by a seperate company.

lol, when I check it only sedans show up.
why? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:41 PM   #10
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Back on topic... Does anyone know of a company that makes a tachometer that's more of a "strip" than a dial? I'm thinking like this brake light system, but a tach...



I don't want a big ole honkin' aftermarket dial, but I do want to know my shift point when I've got the stereo up too loud. ;)
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:49 PM   #11
birdy
I stay G'd Up
 
birdy's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 wrx wagon
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: denton,tx
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to birdy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
Back on topic... Does anyone know of a company that makes a tachometer that's more of a "strip" than a dial? I'm thinking like this brake light system, but a tach...



I don't want a big ole honkin' aftermarket dial, but I do want to know my shift point when I've got the stereo up too loud. ;)
autometer makes a nice 3 inch tach, thats not honkin
birdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:54 PM   #12
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
I simply don't want a gauge, that's the problem. Even just a single LED I could pop through a hole drilled in the compartment above the steering wheel and set at 5K or whatever would be fine. May have to just make something myself.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 03:59 PM   #13
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Probably start out with something like this and adapt it...

http://www.ford-capri.fsnet.co.uk/wh...ev_counter.htm
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 04:56 PM   #14
Thirty-Nine
Small cars are a big deal
 
Thirty-Nine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,086
Send a message via AIM to Thirty-Nine
Not to go too tangental, but does anyone know why a tach isn't available? It it supposed to be a cost-savings, no-frills kinda thing? It just doesn't make any sense to me why the sedans can get them, but the liftback can't. Granted, Toyota isn't the first company to such nonsense — Honda's 1996-2000 Civic hatchbacks never had a tach option, either.
Thirty-Nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 05:36 PM   #15
DJ_SpaRky
Resident Scion Guy
 
DJ_SpaRky's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Mazda3 S Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Groveland, FL (Near Orlando)
Posts: 285
When I got to BuyAToyota.com I cannot choose a Liftback, it only has Sedans, CE & S, WTF?
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
DJ_SpaRky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 05:49 PM   #16
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Yeah, it's weird for the SE. You have to actually click on on the CE Sedans to see whether they're Sedans or Liftbacks by looking at the photo. Lame.
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 06:11 PM   #17
jdgriswald
5-Door Envy
 
jdgriswald's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Scion xD
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idjiit
The tach is indicated on there for the PP Liftbacks. It may well be a mistake, we'll have to see. When I called my dealer they said that the equipment listing on there should be accurate since it's coming directly from the horse's mouth, but I remain skeptical.
Have you checked the info posted in the tech section? Specifically: Attachment 194

Consider who's assuring you anything is accurate. Dealers are more likely to be known as the other end of the horse.

As far as another option, you could try the French version:
Attachment 196

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thirty-Nine
Not to go too tangental, but does anyone know why a tach isn't available? It it supposed to be a cost-savings, no-frills kinda thing? It just doesn't make any sense to me why the sedans can get them, but the liftback can't. Granted, Toyota isn't the first company to such nonsense — Honda's 1996-2000 Civic hatchbacks never had a tach option, either.
It's probably the same reason we don't get the 5-door. They don't want to compete with the xA. Push it as a no-frills econo car and avoid being hip. Don't want to overlap marketing strategies.

Last edited by jdgriswald; 09-06-2006 at 05:59 PM.
jdgriswald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 06:17 PM   #18
Idjiit
5 Stars, Bitches
 
Drives: Prius, Silver Yaris Liftback
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 451
Again, I think you're probably right but until the cars start arriving I'll still have my fingers crossed. ;)
Idjiit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: TOYOTA REVEALS ALL-NEW YARIS SEDAN AT 2006 LOS ANGELES AUTO SHOW VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-05-2010 08:53 PM
2007 Yaris Pricing Info ! YarisBueller New YARIS Purchase Forum 104 06-24-2009 04:54 PM
Toyota unveils 2007 Yaris T-Sport Concept VitzBoy General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 63 01-21-2007 04:12 PM
is the yaris for me? sauruman New YARIS Purchase Forum 14 02-27-2006 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.