Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 07:28 AM   #1
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Help with replacing 2 button key remote

Hi all,
I'm new to all this so please excuse my lack of knowledge here
I have a 2 button remote key that needs replacing as the buttons are starting to fall off. I have bought a 2 button replacement remote key off ebay for $10.

Has anyone replaced one of these before?
Is it as simple of getting the key cut, moving the transponder over?
I'm not sure about how to remove the immobiliser from the key and dont want to damage it in the process.
It looks like it is in the side of the key with some kind of glue over it.
Does anyone have any ideas that would help?
Also is that all that needs to be done so that it will work?
thanks in advance!
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 08:22 AM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
In the DIY section of this forum there are a couple of threads that explain how to "teach" the system the new remote. For the key itself, having that cut can be done by any locksmith or your dealer, but the transponder is embedded into the plastic, so you will have to have the dealer program the system for the new transponder, as there is not a DIY method of doing that (it requires the Toyota TechStream service tool).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 12:03 PM   #3
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Angry

Thanks very much for your help.
I guess there'sa no way of doing it but taking it past a dealership so they can program it.
Looks like ill stick to my other 2 button and grey key with no remote.
Thanks
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnoodle View Post
Thanks very much for your help.
I guess there'sa no way of doing it but taking it past a dealership so they can program it.
Looks like ill stick to my other 2 button and grey key with no remote.
Thanks
If the portion of the remote that is the main housing with the key is intact, you might want to just swap the portion with the electronics. You can pop the case open with a blade. Then, you will only have to do the DIY process for making the remote keyless entry system learn the new remote, and you will maintain the same key with its transponder.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Oh hold up I might be misinterpreting what the transponder is.
I though it'sthe chip with the bbattery is attached together with.
The transponder is the imbedded bit on the side that has glue over it?
Would it be wise to try and remove the transponder over to the new blank key in have bought off ebay?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:45 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnoodle View Post
Oh hold up I might be misinterpreting what the transponder is.
I though it'sthe chip with the bbattery is attached together with.
The transponder is the imbedded bit on the side that has glue over it?
Would it be wise to try and remove the transponder over to the new blank key in have bought off ebay?
I don't think you could remove the transponder without damaging it. From your description of the problem with the old one, I figured that you could take the remote section and it's cover and stick them on to the old one.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:16 PM   #7
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Cool. So if I can remove the remote section and get the new key blade cut. All ill need is the transponder right? I'm guessing this will be quite expensive from Toyota. Then once I get that, I need to get it programed to go with my immobiliser (opening/closing doors etc)
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:17 PM   #8
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Anyone ever successfully remove the transponder? It would beworth a try wwouldn't it?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 11:00 PM   #9
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
First verify where the transponder is located. Pull the electronics out of your remote and then see if the engine will start with the empty key. Also, are you positive that your 2006 has the transponder key?
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:32 AM   #10
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Im assuming it would... ill take a picture and post it up tomorrow for you to see... I will also give that a try... by removing the electronics your referring to the remote right? where the battery is connect to it?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:17 AM   #11
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnoodle View Post
Im assuming it would... ill take a picture and post it up tomorrow for you to see... I will also give that a try... by removing the electronics your referring to the remote right? where the battery is connect to it?
Correct - The remote is basically a chunk with the battery that easily separates from the rest.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:14 AM   #12
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Heres the photo... sorry for the late reply
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.JPG (317.4 KB, 116 views)
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:17 AM   #13
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
where the screwdriver is pointing is where im guessing the transponder is right?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:19 AM   #14
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
The slot by your screwdriver tip is where I believe the transponder lives. I have a non-transponder one and that slot empty. I think I also see the little round indent near the head of the metal key, which designates that a key is the transponder type.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 03:01 AM   #15
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
Great. I got my replacement key today and was thinking of attempting to remove the transponder. If successful it means I won't need to program it once I swap it over right? It should work once I have cut the key?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:08 AM   #16
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
I couldnt help myself and took apart the old key to get to the transponder.
I have replaced and inserted into new key.
I will get the new key cut today.
Thats all im assuming I need to do right? Because I have transferred everything over there shouldnt be any need for programming.
If you can let me know your thoughts Scott?
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:12 AM   #17
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnoodle View Post
I couldnt help myself and took apart the old key to get to the transponder.
I have replaced and inserted into new key.
I will get the new key cut today.
Thats all im assuming I need to do right? Because I have transferred everything over there shouldnt be any need for programming.
If you can let me know your thoughts Scott?
That is correct - If you can move the transponder over, then the only programming required is the DIY programming of the remote. If you move that over as well, then you won't need to do anything.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:14 AM   #18
hotnoodle
 
Drives: 2006 Yaris hatchback
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 19
This is the photo of the transponder in the new key housing.
Hopefully i didnt damage it!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130226_221132.jpg (276.8 KB, 92 views)
hotnoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transponder key programming teddy DIY / Maintenance / Service 6 04-28-2015 06:32 PM
Lost key (transponder and remote lock/unlock) shyeoh DIY / Maintenance / Service 4 07-11-2013 05:04 AM
Yaris 2012 Sedan Key with remote faisalloe General Yaris / Vitz Discussion 5 09-27-2012 10:29 PM
Yaris 2007 remote entry doesn't open (it only closes) nicorac In Car Entertainment + Electronics (audio / video / alarm) 7 09-08-2011 11:02 AM
Need remote key fraenx DIY / Maintenance / Service 1 06-26-2009 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.