Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2013, 01:07 PM   #1
gmasood
 
Drives: Toyota Passo 2007
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 2
Weird issue with Immobilizer

Hi
I purchased a second hand Toyota Passo 2007 with the Smart Transponder Key having keyless entry and igniton. Basically the ignition has a plastic Key like thing protuding out and you are supposed to turn on the engine with the KeyFob in the pocket. Kind of like the push Start but with the Twist function.
The problem is that My Smart Key works fine for Keyless entry i.e I can open and close the doors with the Key in my pocket using the small black button on the door handle but once inside the car the immobolizer light continues to blink.
The only way to start the car is to take out the small mechanical key form the Transponder fob, put it in ignition and then touch my Transponder Fob with the Ignition and twist then the Car starts.
These are symptoms of the depleted battery in the Fob but that is not the case as I have replaced the battery twice. The lock/unlock buttons on the Fob also work fine. I am at my wits end as to what might be the problem.
I know its a yaris forum and apologies for posting but any help would be great.

Many Thanks.
gmasood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:11 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
With the system that you have the portion of the fob that does the lock and unlock is different than the part that does the verification for the immobilizer. The transponder for the immobilizer is a small passive transponder and it may be bad or the ECM may need to be resynced with it (which would require the Toyota service tool).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:24 PM   #3
gmasood
 
Drives: Toyota Passo 2007
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
With the system that you have the portion of the fob that does the lock and unlock is different than the part that does the verification for the immobilizer. The transponder for the immobilizer is a small passive transponder and it may be bad or the ECM may need to be resynced with it (which would require the Toyota service tool).
So you are suggesting that may be the Fobs portion of the immobilizer is bad or it needs a resynch. Can i do it myself or would i have to go to Toyota for that?
Is it possible that the Immobolizer Antenna inside the car between the driver and passenger seat as per service manual is to blame or in your opinion it is the Fob.

Anything you can suggest that I might try myself. Many thanks for the quick reply.
gmasood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 01:27 PM   #4
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmasood View Post
So you are suggesting that may be the Fobs portion of the immobilizer is bad or it needs a resynch. Can i do it myself or would i have to go to Toyota for that?
Is it possible that the Immobolizer Antenna inside the car between the driver and passenger seat as per service manual is to blame or in your opinion it is the Fob.

Anything you can suggest that I might try myself. Many thanks for the quick reply.
With the light still flashing on the car portion, I would suspect the fob portion as being the issue. You would have to go to a shop that has the official Toyota service tool to verify which piece is bad or to have the ECM and the fob resynced (or a new one synced if the existing one is bad).
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 05:08 PM   #5
dj92
Embracing Curves
 
dj92's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Yaris 1.0 Hatchback
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: mid-western Germany
Posts: 255
Won't it work with a China clone ("MVCI") and Techstream?
(Both easy to obtain with some google magic...)
dj92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj92 View Post
Won't it work with a China clone ("MVCI") and Techstream?
(Both easy to obtain with some google magic...)
Yes - Techstream is the Toyota service tool required.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Conditioner Noise & Leak? Dawn Eshelman DIY / Maintenance / Service 116 07-21-2015 01:22 PM
WEIRD ISSUE WITH YARIS ! many problems at 1 time ! annn DIY / Maintenance / Service 7 06-27-2013 06:02 AM
yaris voltage issue yaris2010RS DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 12-29-2012 05:20 PM
Weird starting issue 2007 auto yaris Nask26 DIY / Maintenance / Service 11 07-28-2010 12:29 AM
Weird issue during braking xtremesniper Canada 21 06-04-2009 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.