Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site
 

 


 
Go Back   Toyota Yaris Forums - Ultimate Yaris Enthusiast Site > Technical Forums > DIY / Maintenance / Service
  The Tire Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2015, 02:14 PM   #1
insane_shroom
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 5
P0717 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit No Signal

Got this check engine light code at Autozone a few days ago, i searched in the threads and on Google for the location of the sensor, so i can match it and buy it online, but i cant find it. Anyone here knows where it is, or the actual part number so i can order it?
Please and Thanks for all the help.
insane_shroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 02:31 PM   #2
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
The turbine sensor is 89413-32010 (sensor, transmission revolution). In the picture below it is the black device circled on the center of the the top of the tranny. It feeds the rotation speed of the AT's input turbine to the ECM (for transmission control).

The other one (in the upper left) is the speed sensor, which feeds the vehicle speed to the ECM and speedometer.

Yaris AT Speed and Turbine sensors.jpg
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 03:11 PM   #3
insane_shroom
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 5
Thanks CTScott I'm a bit amazed at how fast you replied to this post hah. A little back story on my problem, my Yaris has been skipping first gear into second and taking off from a stop really slow, yesterday when I was on the highway the speedometer was flickering and would all of a sudden stop receiving the signal from my acceleration. I got it tested a few days ago and got that code. I've been doing research but I had to come on here to get someone's input. So I just ordered the piece and hopefully it is the part I needed. Again thanks for everything and the quick reply. I'll put an update when I replace the part
insane_shroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 06:49 PM   #4
canadian deacon
 
Drives: 2014 yaris 5dr
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 23
I had a problem like that with a dodge caravan. I put the van up on jackstands, started it and put it in drive. I read the voltage off the sensor with a voltmeter. Checked for the voltage at the ecm and had it there. Turned out to be a bad ground rather than the sensor.
canadian deacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 06:51 PM   #5
canadian deacon
 
Drives: 2014 yaris 5dr
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 23
Beautiful shot of the transmission and sensors CTScott. Very helpful for locating the sensors.
canadian deacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 11:06 PM   #6
CTScott
ULTIMATE
 
CTScott's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 5dr LB, 2x 08 3dr LB
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA, CT
Posts: 13,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadian deacon View Post
I had a problem like that with a dodge caravan. I put the van up on jackstands, started it and put it in drive. I read the voltage off the sensor with a voltmeter. Checked for the voltage at the ecm and had it there. Turned out to be a bad ground rather than the sensor.
On the Yaris the Turbine sensor is a hall effect sensor with both ends being connected directly to the ECM, so this particular issue would not be a ground issue on the Yaris, but it could be corrosion of the connector terminals that plug into the sensor.
CTScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:24 PM   #7
canadian deacon
 
Drives: 2014 yaris 5dr
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: canada
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTScott View Post
On the Yaris the Turbine sensor is a hall effect sensor with both ends being connected directly to the ECM, so this particular issue would not be a ground issue on the Yaris, but it could be corrosion of the connector terminals that plug into the sensor.
I misspoke in my explanation. The caravan speed sensor has a similar design as the yaris. I meant to say that I followed the signal back to the transmission control module so I knew the sensor and wiring were okay to that point.

I found a bad ground lead off of the transmission control module. The lead had been back probed and the hole had never been sealed. The wire corroded through in two or three places along its length. Hard to find but cheap to repair.
canadian deacon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 06:03 PM   #8
insane_shroom
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 5
An update on my Yaris.
I changed the part on Tuesday. i completely forgot to take pictures until after i finished. but if you remove the battery you can see the part right down there. Anyways, i finished the replacement and drove on the highway about 10 miles roughly, when i got off the highway the car was doing the same skipping as it was before but felt a little "cleaner". I drove in some back roads. it seemed that it was skipping out of first gear only. I reached a local Walmart parking lot and opened the hood to inspect and tightened the part a bit more. i restarted my car and it was doing better. i drove around on the parking lot a few times and the shaking and skipping or gears was gone. I've been in the city and the highway since then and everything seems perfect so far. I've driven about 100 miles and no signs of transmission problems.

Thanks for the help everyone. If anything comes up ill come on here update my issue.
insane_shroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 01:09 PM   #9
insane_shroom
 
Drives: 2007 Yaris
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 5
An update. It wasn't the speed sensor that was bad. I installed the grouding kit a few months ago and it was working fine until recently when I posted here.
On Wednesday I was at a light and my Yaris stalled and wouldn't come back on so I had it towed to the nearest dealership and they ended up disconnecting the grounding kit. Now the Yaris run like new. I don't know why it took so long for it to come up with this problem. I'm just happy it's fixed.
insane_shroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS and "!" lights are ON again! onizuka Canada 444 10-04-2017 12:31 PM
P0715 - Input/Turbine Speed Sensor furinji.saiga DIY / Maintenance / Service 7 02-02-2015 07:07 AM
Yaris sales hit new low... Kal-El Third Gen Yaris General Discussion 129 12-18-2014 02:25 PM
NEED ENGINE CHECK LIGHT CODE LIST Attitude Forced Induction Forum 12 04-11-2011 06:38 PM
Speed signal wire drecian DIY / Maintenance / Service 12 06-14-2010 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.




YarisWorld
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.